Vital Boxing | Froch Wins Thriller
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Froch Wins Thriller

At the O2 Arena, London, Carl Froch got the revenge he sought by beating the Dane, Mikkel Kessler, in a thrilling super-middleweight world title fight.

Froch, who had previously lost to Kessler, in Denmark, took a unanimous points decision with the judges scoring the contest 118-110, 116-112 and 115-113. Perhaps, on reflection, the third of those scores was nearer the mark with the fight swaying one way and then the other.

Surmising the fight, Froch go off to a wonderful start, tearing into Kessler in the opening rounds and you wondered whether Kessler would survive into the middle rounds. But not only did he survive but his own class came to the fore with Froch starting to come off second best.

The latter rounds saw both fighters show their class and Froch appeared to be in trouble with one sustained attack from Kessler hurting the Nottingham fighter. Thankfully, the thirty-five year old rallied and it was his arm that was held aloft as the judge’s scorecards were read out.

Speaking after the wonderful fight, Froch praised Kessler whilst also giving the critique on his own performance, remarking,

'It feels really good.'

'The only thing that feels bad is that I have had to beat such a real gentleman, a real warrior and real nice man. “

'He did hurt me a couple of times; I think everybody saw that.'

'But I hurt him a little bit more and I thought I deserved the win. I thought it was unanimously my fight.”

I was close to getting the stoppage towards the end but, when I went in for the finish, what did he do? He fought back with a couple of big, hard shots. Big respect to him.'


As for Froch’s next fight, all the talk points towards a rematch with Andre Ward, a fighter who Froch would also like to gain revenge against, prompting Froch to remark afterwards,

'I said before this fight that the winner should really be concentrating on moving on and my only other loss was against pound-for-pound number two in the world Andre Ward.”

'What a fantastic fighter he is and a great, great champion, but he is there to be beaten. But not over in America - let's get him over here. I went over to America and now let's get him over to England.'


The big problem is that Ward is reluctant to fight anywhere other than America, but could big-money tempt him to cross the pond?


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday May 26 2013

Time: 9:37AM

Your Comments

It wasa tremendous fight, one I enjoyed immensely, despite the ridiculous time it was staged!
Fulham Badger
Bring on Andre Ward although that will be whole lot tougher!
Red Boy
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Wembley Stadium – Running Order (Saturday April 29 2017)

Vitali’s Backing Wladimir (Thursday April 27 2017)

Wladimir the Memory Stick Man (Thursday April 27 2017)

Lewis Tips Joshua to Win (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Is Tyson Fury on the way back? (Tuesday April 25 2017)

Hughie Fury v Joseph Parker Off (Monday April 24 2017)

Murray v Rosado – Liverpool Tonight (Saturday April 22 2017)

Joshua Ready for All-Comers (Saturday April 22 2017)

Conlan to Fight in Chicago (Thursday April 20 2017)

Fourth Time Lucky for Saint George? (Thursday April 20 2017)

Joshua and Fury in Social Network Blast (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Fury v Parker – Set for UK Move? (Sunday April 16 2017)

Okolie Makes It 2 KO’S out of 2 (Sunday April 16 2017)

The Views of the Boxers (Sunday April 16 2017)

Indongo Confident of Beating Burns (Friday April 14 2017)

Touting Rules the Roost (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Campbell Added to Wembley Show (Monday April 10 2017)

A Bad Week for Frampton (Sunday April 9 2017)

Selby Ordered to Fight Barros (Sunday April 9 2017)

What Next for Flanagan? (Sunday April 9 2017)

It’s Huck v Breidis Tonight (Saturday April 1 2017)

Adams Set for Professional Debut (Saturday April 1 2017)

Kessler Set for Ring Return. (Saturday April 1 2017)

Saunders Gives Golovkin a Deadline (Tuesday March 28 2017)

McGoldrick Wins Professional Debut (Monday March 27 2017)

Crolla Soundly Beaten by Linares (Monday March 27 2017)

Okolie’s Super-Quick Debut KO (Monday March 27 2017)

Katie Taylor Makes It 4 out of 4 (Monday March 27 2017)

Brook v Spence Press Conference (Thursday March 23 2017)

Golovkin Wants Saunders Next (Monday March 20 2017)

Lee Wins on Ring Comeback. (Sunday March 19 2017)

Golovkin v Jacobs – Weigh-In (Saturday March 18 2017)

Conlan Wins on Professional Debut (Saturday March 18 2017)

Crolla Primed for His Big Night (Friday March 17 2017)

Bellew Requires Hand Surgery (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Burns Takes the Dangerous Option (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Barnes Wins on Points (Saturday March 11 2017)

Conlan Wins by Split Decision (Saturday March 11 2017)

Cleverly v Jack in the Pipeline? (Friday March 10 2017)

A 16 Boxer Shoot-Out (Friday March 10 2017)

Haye Willing to Pay Fine (Thursday March 9 2017)

Parker v Fury Date Confirmed (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Haye Set to Fight On (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Is Bellew Set to Call it a Day? (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Taylor Back in the Ring on March 25th (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Pacquiao v Khan ISN’T Happening (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Haye on Losing to Bellew (Sunday March 5 2017)

Bellew on Defeating Haye (Sunday March 5 2017)

Bellew Stops Haye in Round 11 (Sunday March 5 2017)

Selby Set to Become a Free Agent (Saturday March 4 2017)

Russian Heavyweight Povetkin Banned (Saturday March 4 2017)

O2 Arena, London – Line-Up (Friday March 3 2017)

Haye v Bellew – Weigh-In (Friday March 3 2017)

Messing With Our Heads (Thursday March 2 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 664
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 123
5. Fulham Badger 103
6. Kid Glove 73
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 17
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Joshua v Klitschko - Who Wins?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Joshua! 86%
Klitschko! 14%
Too Close to Call! 0%