Vital Boxing | DeGale Wants Froch Fight
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

DeGale Wants Froch Fight

James DeGale appears to be a fighter that intends to remain busy.

A mere couple of weeks after making his debut across the pond, DeGale is back in action this Saturday.

DeGale will be defending his WBC Silver super-middleweight title at Bluewater on Saturday against the Bosnian fighter, Stjepan Bozic.

DeGale, eager to land himself a shot at a world title, as he aspires to climb to the top of his profession, sees the contest as a possible stepping stone for a Battle of Britain fight against Carl Froch.

In the build up to the fight this Saturday, DeGale has tried to entice Froch into facing him by remarking,

“I will fight Froch anywhere, anytime, but I honestly believe that he doesn’t fancy climbing in the ring with me.”

“I fancy it with any world champion, but I don’t think Carl Froch will fancy it with me. He says he will end my career, but I think it is the other way around.”

“People put him on a pedestal, where he is a monster no-one can beat, but he has been beaten.”


With fellow Brits George Groves and Nathan Cleverly also goading Froch, it’ll be interesting to see who the Nottingham fighter engages with next time out.

However, if I were to be brutally honest I reckon that DeGale might fit somewhere in the middle of the three if Froch is keen on a ‘Battle of Britain’ contest.

Of the three contenders, I’d surmise that Froch might be tempted to opt to take on Cleverly, with the Nottingham fighter looking to claim a big scalp ahead of a clash with Andre Ward.

The least likely to get the nod would be George Groves with Froch probably cautious about taking on a fighter who is ambitious and keen to make a serious statement.

As for DeGale, let’s just say I reckon he fits in between the aforementioned two. Froch may be tempted to take on the classier of the three boxers but looking back at how Groves managed to end the Olympian’s unbeaten record.

So my take on it, if a ‘Battle of Britain’ fight were to take place, would be:-

• Froch v Cleverly

Froch v DeGale

Froch v Groves

How about you, what are you views on Froch engaging in a ‘Battle of Britain’ fight?

Who do you think would emerge victorious in the three proposed fights listed above?


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Thursday June 6 2013

Time: 4:51PM

Your Comments

I still reckon Froch will pick an easy opponent to save himself for Andre Ward but if he were to go British, I reckon it's Groves, despite your strong argument he'd opt for.
Red Boy
I disagree, I reckon Froch might up the ante for a Ward fight by taking Cleverly to task, it'd be a classic
Al Billy
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Flanagan Bidding to make History (Saturday January 20 2018)

Saunders to Defend Title against Murray (Saturday January 20 2018)

Taylor Set for Soto Bout in Glasgow (Friday January 19 2018)

Price to Face Povetkin in Cardiff (Thursday January 18 2018)

Wilder v Ortiz Set for 3 March (Saturday January 13 2018)

Smith v Brahmer Set for Germany (Saturday January 13 2018)

Taylor to Defend Her Title in Dublin (Saturday January 13 2018)

Bad Boy Wilder Found Guilty (Saturday January 13 2018)

Khan Set for UK Ring Return (Saturday January 13 2018)

Quigg World Title Fight A Done Deal (Tuesday January 9 2018)

Date for Frampton v Donaire Fixed (Saturday January 6 2018)

Quigg Set for World Title Fight (Wednesday January 3 2018)

Joshua v Parker Moves a BIG Step Nearer (Friday December 29 2017)

Whyte v Browne March 24? (Friday December 22 2017)

Frampton v Donaire Confirmed (Friday December 22 2017)

Saunders Retains WBO Middleweight Title (Sunday December 17 2017)

Benn Wins on Points against Peynaud (Thursday December 14 2017)

Tyson Fury Talking about AJ Fight (Wednesday December 13 2017)

Brook Back in Action in March 2018 (Monday December 11 2017)

DeGale Loses World Title to Truax (Sunday December 10 2017)

Haye v Bellew II – 5 May 2018 Confirmed (Wednesday December 6 2017)

DeGale Tips Groves to Beat Eubank Jnr (Sunday December 3 2017)

Price Gets Back to Winning Ways (Sunday December 3 2017)

Ortiz Escapes WBC Ban (Sunday December 3 2017)

Cotto's Career End in Defeat (Sunday December 3 2017)

Hearn Rejects 65-35 Purse Split Offer (Thursday November 23 2017)

Haye v Bellew Re-Match – Postponed (Tuesday November 21 2017)

Conlan World Title Bid Ends in Defeat (Sunday November 19 2017)

Frampton Beats Garcia on Points (Sunday November 19 2017)

Frampton’s Illustrious Ringside Company (Thursday November 16 2017)

DeGale and Selby Opponents Named (Wednesday November 15 2017)

Benn Makes Successful Debut on US Soil (Tuesday November 14 2017)

Taylor KO's Vazquez in 9 Rounds (Sunday November 12 2017)

Smith Beats Williams on Points (Sunday November 12 2017)

Smith v Williams - The Re-Match (Friday November 10 2017)

2018 Will See Joshua v Wilder (Friday November 10 2017)

Wilder Would Travel to the UK to Face AJ (Thursday November 9 2017)

McDonnell v Solis Fight Report (Sunday November 5 2017)

Wilder Calls Out Anthony Joshua (Sunday November 5 2017)

Wilder v Stiverne Weigh-In (Saturday November 4 2017)

Disappointment for Dillian Whyte? (Friday November 3 2017)

Tyson Fury v Shannon Briggs? (Friday November 3 2017)

Chisora looking for World Title Fight (Wednesday November 1 2017)

World Champ Taylor Set for Dec 15 Fight (Wednesday November 1 2017)

Whyte beats Helenius on Points (Sunday October 29 2017)

Joshua Stops Takem in Round 10 (Sunday October 29 2017)

Taylor v Sanchez Big Fight Preview (Saturday October 28 2017)

Whyte Looking to March on Towards Wilder (Saturday October 28 2017)

Yafai Looking for a Victory and the US (Saturday October 28 2017)

Joshua v Takem Weigh-In News (Friday October 27 2017)

DeGale Makes Return to Ring in the UK (Friday October 27 2017)

Wilder Yearns for Joshua Match-Up (Friday October 27 2017)

Selby Ready for Warrington Challenge (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Flanagan Next for Linares? (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Whyte Faces Tough Test v Helenius (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Joshua’s First Choice Was Whyte (Monday October 23 2017)

Catterall Claims British Title (Monday October 23 2017)

Joyce Looking to Fight Sexton Next (Sunday October 22 2017)

Kelly Impresses on Burnett Under-Card (Sunday October 22 2017)

Hearn on AJ v Wilder (Sunday October 22 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. Vital Merlin 39
9. hogeyman 31
10. eliza jhon 19

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Did the referee Stop the Joshua v Takem Fight too early?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 38%
No! 62%
Not Sure! 0%