Vital Boxing | Walsh Looks for Selby Fight
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Walsh Looks for Selby Fight

Things are starting to hot up in the featherweight division in England.

On the undercard of the Hughie Fury bill, at Norwich, Ryan Walsh saw off the threat of the Nicaraguan Jose Antonio Elizabeth and the Norfolk fighter now has his eyes set on challenging Lee Selby for his British featherweight title.

But, although Walsh has been made the mandatory challenger, he’s acutely aware that circumstances may prevent such a tear-up happening with Selby set to fight the undefeated Romanian boxer, Viorel Simion in July.

If Selby can beat Simion, there is the real chance that the title may be vacated, especially with Selby on a run of 11 consecutive wins and harbouring world-title ambitions.

In fact Walsh has nothing but praise for Selby, remarking to the media when discussing the possibility of a clash,

“I can’t wait. I really rate Lee Selby.”

“I think pound-for-pound he is one of the best in Britain right now. Domestically he’s perfect, you can’t knock his performances.”


But on the prospect of Selby’s ambitions preventing the fight, Walsh added,

“On paper it’s 50/50 between him and me. He’s picked a great European opponent but hopefully he comes back to fight me.”

I hope so to, I feel the pair are evenly matched as their ages and current records would indicate but I just have this nagging suspicion that if Selby gets past Simion then he’ll be looking for far greater things than a British title defence, however much he values that particular belt.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday June 18 2013

Time: 4:52PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Copper Box Arena - July 8th Update (Thursday June 22 2017)

Is This Golovkin’s Last Fight? (Thursday June 22 2017)

Tyson Fury Let’s Rip Again (Thursday June 22 2017)

Brook Wants Another Fight in 2017 (Thursday June 22 2017)

Ward Beats Kovalev in Re-Match (Sunday June 18 2017)

Smith Loses Third World Title Bid (Sunday June 18 2017)

Wilder Arrested in Alabama (Friday June 16 2017)

The Circus Will Take Place (Thursday June 15 2017)

Haye Fined (Thursday June 15 2017)

Frampton Comeback Fight Confirmed (Wednesday June 14 2017)

Burnett Verdict to be changed (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Burnett v Haskins – Quote Fest (Sunday June 11 2017)

A Truly Shocking Verdict (Sunday June 11 2017)

Make Your Mind Up Wladimir (Saturday June 10 2017)

Bellew Set for Conte Bout Next? (Saturday June 10 2017)

Whyte Headed for the US (Saturday June 10 2017)

DeGale Disrespects Groves (Thursday June 8 2017)

Good News for AJ (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Frampton Set for July Comeback (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Tyson's Views on AJ (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Buatsi Turns Professional (Monday June 5 2017)

Crolla Talks Manchester Arena (Sunday June 4 2017)

Should Haye Call It a Day? (Sunday June 4 2017)

Haye Splits from McGuigan (Saturday June 3 2017)

Conor Benn Set for Ring Return (Saturday June 3 2017)

Eubank Jnr v Abraham Draws Nearer (Saturday June 3 2017)

Words of Wisdom from Klitschko (Saturday June 3 2017)

Eubank Jnr Set for Abraham Fight (Thursday June 1 2017)

Bramall Lane Running Order Tonight (Saturday May 27 2017)

Conlan Wins by TKO (Saturday May 27 2017)

Ingle Talks Brook (Thursday May 25 2017)

Fury Left Feeling Frustrated (Thursday May 25 2017)

Porter’s Sour Grapes (Thursday May 25 2017)

Brook Not on the Slide (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Brook Fancies Spence Job (Tuesday May 23 2017)

Whyte Pulls Out of Wach Fight (Wednesday May 17 2017)

Adams Wins in Round Two (Sunday May 14 2017)

Gavin Wins on Points (Sunday May 14 2017)

Wladimir Keeping Everyone Waiting (Saturday May 13 2017)

Tyson Fury Left in Limbo (Saturday May 13 2017)

Gavin in Last Chance Saloon (Monday May 8 2017)

Has Eddie Hearn Set the Trend? (Monday May 8 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 130
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Should David Haye Call It a Day?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 38%
No! 62%
Not Sure! 0%