Vital Boxing | Price Fallout
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Price Fallout

In the build up to the re-match between David Price and Tony Thompson, it was mentioned several times that Price would be walking the fine-line.

It was mentioned that a second defeat to the forty-one year-old American wouldn’t just be a huge blow to his hopes of making an impression on the heavyweight scene at a high level but that it could be a career threatening one.

Now, in the aftermath of the fifth round stoppage, something akin to a row has broken out in the price camp.

Lennox Lewis, who cut an imposing figure at ringside, appears to have been cast as the villain by Frank Maloney with Lewis revealing that remarks made on the social networking site, apportioning the blame to the former world champion.

Lewis, stunned into replying has replied to the accusation by remarking,

“Maloney’s blaming ME for this loss? Incredible! I asked for 8 weeks training. He gave me 3”

And comparing the build-up Price was given compared to what Lewis used to go through, Lewis is further quoted as having said,

“I locked myself away in the woods for three months for fights to get away and focus.”

Clearly there is now an element of friction between Lewis and Maloney which considering they enjoyed such a successful era together is a shame.

However, Lewis is keen to continue working with the 30 year-old Price although with the relationship strained between Lewis and Maloney it’s hard to see if that can be the case, although Lewis did give an insight into how Price could retrieve the situation and drag himself out of where he is now, further adding

“We know what we need to fix so we’ll go back to the drawing board and fix it.”

“David is still British champion and that’ snot easy to do. He’s a big man in the game.”

“Price took a lot of hard punches and never left his feet,. I think he was just gassed and couldn’t take him out when he had the chance.”

“David is a great guy and he can rebound from this but there are sacrifices that have to be made to take your game to the next level.”


Indeed there is and these now have to be made if Price is to redeem himself.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday July 8 2013

Time: 4:59PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Burns v Crolla - October 7th (Saturday August 12 2017)

Smith v Williams Venue Announced (Sunday August 6 2017)

Joshua Being Pushed Into a Corner (Friday August 4 2017)

Klitschko’s Retirement Video (Thursday August 3 2017)

Who Will Be Next for Joshua? (Thursday August 3 2017)

Will You Go PPV for the Big-Fight (Wednesday August 2 2017)

Garcia Outclasses Broner (Sunday July 30 2017)

Taylor Makes it 6 from 6 (Sunday July 30 2017)

Joshua Talks Mike Tyson (Saturday July 29 2017)

Frampton v Gutierrez Called Off (Saturday July 29 2017)

Tyson Fury Retires? (Thursday July 27 2017)

Ricky Burns v Josh Taylor? (Tuesday July 25 2017)

Linares Ordered to Face Campbell (Sunday July 23 2017)

Smith v Williams Re-Match Announced (Saturday July 22 2017)

Will Tyson Fury Fight Again? (Friday July 21 2017)

Flanagan v Verdejo Postponed (Friday July 21 2017)

Martin J Ward Makes History (Sunday July 16 2017)

Davies Jnr Loses to Syrowtka (Sunday July 16 2017)

Selby Beats Barros on Points (Sunday July 16 2017)

Haye Back in the Ring in December (Thursday July 13 2017)

Eubank Snr Courts Controversy (Thursday July 13 2017)

Pacquiao Set to Fight On (Thursday July 13 2017)

Brit Seeds Choose their Opponents (Monday July 10 2017)

More Taylor v Burns Talk (Monday July 10 2017)

Who Is Next for Ricky Burns? (Monday July 10 2017)

Taylor Wants Burns Fight Next (Monday July 10 2017)

Dubois Marches On (Sunday July 9 2017)

Skeete Retains British Title (Sunday July 9 2017)

Taylor Stops Davies in 7 Rounds (Sunday July 9 2017)

Pacquiao Requests WBO Review Fight (Wednesday July 5 2017)

Haye Retire? How Did You Vote? (Sunday July 2 2017)

Conlan Makes it 3 out of 3 (Sunday July 2 2017)

Buglioni Retains British Title (Sunday July 2 2017)

Summertime Brawl Running Order (Saturday July 1 2017)

Iron Mike Turns 51 (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins - Reactions (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins III Is On (Thursday June 29 2017)

Ward Hints at Bellew Fight (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Has Whyte Got Wilder Riled? (Sunday June 25 2017)

Josh Kelly – A New Star is Born (Sunday June 25 2017)

Copper Box Arena - July 8th Update (Thursday June 22 2017)

Is This Golovkin’s Last Fight? (Thursday June 22 2017)

Tyson Fury Let’s Rip Again (Thursday June 22 2017)

Brook Wants Another Fight in 2017 (Thursday June 22 2017)

Ward Beats Kovalev in Re-Match (Sunday June 18 2017)

Smith Loses Third World Title Bid (Sunday June 18 2017)

Wilder Arrested in Alabama (Friday June 16 2017)

The Circus Will Take Place (Thursday June 15 2017)

Haye Fined (Thursday June 15 2017)

Frampton Comeback Fight Confirmed (Wednesday June 14 2017)

Burnett Verdict to be changed (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Is Eubank Jnr the Best Super-Middleweight Out There?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 42%
No! 47%
Undecided! 11%