Vital Boxing | Campbell Grabs First Round Win on Debut
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Campbell Grabs First Round Win on Debut

Up in Hull last night, the Craven Arena to be more precise, the people of Hull witnessed their 2012 Olympic gold medallist, Luke Campbell, make his professional debut.

Campbell, now 25, was facing Andy Harris who, pre-fight, had been perceived as an ideal first professional opponent for Campbell and who was expected to provide a tough test.

However, that didn’t turn out to be the case with the impressive Campbell, cheered on by a partisan crowd, notching up an emphatic victory.

Campbell had his opponent on the canvas twice in the opening minute before the referee stopped the fight after just 88 seconds.

Naturally, Campbell was delighted at having won his first fight so spectacularly and afterwards told the media,

'I just kept calm.'

'I took the Olympic experience into this.'

'Having my first professional fight, outdoors, in my home town at a packed-out stadium and winning by stoppage in the first round, what more could you ask for?'

'All these people are here for us. They're here to support us so I wanted to use them to our advantage. “

'It was my first fight so it's going into a different environment. No head-guards, I was doing six rounds which I trained hard for.”

'Each fight I'll learn a little bit for the next one.'


Indeed it was a great first fight and a great experience for the youngster but the road ahead is a long one and next time out Campbell will need to get some more rounds under his belt against a really durable opponent.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday July 14 2013

Time: 12:37PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Bramall Lane Running Order Tonight (Saturday May 27 2017)

Conlan Wins by TKO (Saturday May 27 2017)

Ingle Talks Brook (Thursday May 25 2017)

Fury Left Feeling Frustrated (Thursday May 25 2017)

Porter’s Sour Grapes (Thursday May 25 2017)

Brook Not on the Slide (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Brook Fancies Spence Job (Tuesday May 23 2017)

Whyte Pulls Out of Wach Fight (Wednesday May 17 2017)

Adams Wins in Round Two (Sunday May 14 2017)

Gavin Wins on Points (Sunday May 14 2017)

Wladimir Keeping Everyone Waiting (Saturday May 13 2017)

Tyson Fury Left in Limbo (Saturday May 13 2017)

Gavin in Last Chance Saloon (Monday May 8 2017)

Has Eddie Hearn Set the Trend? (Monday May 8 2017)

Tyson Fury Talks AJ (Sunday May 7 2017)

Alvarez Beats Chavez on Points (Sunday May 7 2017)

Parker Wants Joshua Fight (Friday May 5 2017)

Tyson Fury Won’t Come Back (Friday May 5 2017)

The US Can Wait (Friday May 5 2017)

AJ Wants UK Fights (Friday May 5 2017)

Joshua IBF Belt Relinquish Talk (Thursday May 4 2017)

Wilder Interested in Bellew Fight (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Khan Wants that Wembley Experience (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Khan Eyes November Ring Return (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Coming Soon to Vital Boxing (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Stepping on the Gas (Monday May 1 2017)

Hearn Talks Joshua (Monday May 1 2017)

Bellew Won’t Fight Joshua (Monday May 1 2017)

Cordina Wins in Round One (Monday May 1 2017)

Klitschko Wants Joshua Re-Match (Sunday April 30 2017)

You Voted for a Joshua Win (Sunday April 30 2017)

Joshua Wants Fury Fight (Sunday April 30 2017)

Wembley Stadium – Running Order (Saturday April 29 2017)

Vitali’s Backing Wladimir (Thursday April 27 2017)

Wladimir the Memory Stick Man (Thursday April 27 2017)

Lewis Tips Joshua to Win (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Is Tyson Fury on the way back? (Tuesday April 25 2017)

Hughie Fury v Joseph Parker Off (Monday April 24 2017)

Murray v Rosado – Liverpool Tonight (Saturday April 22 2017)

Joshua Ready for All-Comers (Saturday April 22 2017)

Conlan to Fight in Chicago (Thursday April 20 2017)

Fourth Time Lucky for Saint George? (Thursday April 20 2017)

Joshua and Fury in Social Network Blast (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Fury v Parker – Set for UK Move? (Sunday April 16 2017)

Okolie Makes It 2 KO’S out of 2 (Sunday April 16 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 706
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 123
5. Fulham Badger 103
6. Kid Glove 79
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Kell Brook v Errol Spence?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Kell Brook to Win! 72%
Errol Spence to Win! 28%
A Draw! 0%