Vital Boxing | Would They Be Interested in DeGale?
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Would They Be Interested in DeGale?

Are we on the verge of a plethora of fights involving British super-middleweights?

The reason I ask is that with the enticing clash between Carl Froch and George Groves coming up on 23rd November, James DeGale is making all the right noises about taking on the winner in another all-British world title showdown.

DeGale, as most of you are already aware, has fought Groves with Groves taking a tight decision over 12 rounds. Since then DeGale has tried to rebuild his career and has had fights against Stjepan Bozic, Sebastien Demers, Fulgencio Zuniga, Hadillah Mohoumadi, Cristian Sanavia and Piotr Wilczewski, fighters that hardly roll off the tongue when you are talking about respectable opponents.

Speaking about taking on the winner, DeGale has told the media,

I look at the Froch vs. Groves fight and I know that in the next six months its likely that Ill fight the winner of that one, so it really is exciting times.

But, as a Boxing fan I have my reservations. Sure an all-British world title fight will put plenty of bums on seats, they always do, but would George Groves want to take on DeGale again knowing hes already beaten him both in the professional and amateur game.

Also, would Carl Froch be interest in another all-British fight, especially if it is not mandatory when the desire is, quite possibly, there to avenge that defeat by Andre Ward?

Thats something Ill leave you to mull over.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday October 8 2013

Time: 5:39PM

Your Comments

I AGREE, DEGALE CAN WANT ALL HE WANTS BUT HE WONT GET AT EITHER OF THESE TWO
Al Billy
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Hughie Fury v Joseph Parker Off (Monday April 24 2017)

Murray v Rosado Liverpool Tonight (Saturday April 22 2017)

Joshua Ready for All-Comers (Saturday April 22 2017)

Conlan to Fight in Chicago (Thursday April 20 2017)

Fourth Time Lucky for Saint George? (Thursday April 20 2017)

Joshua and Fury in Social Network Blast (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Fury v Parker Set for UK Move? (Sunday April 16 2017)

Okolie Makes It 2 KOS out of 2 (Sunday April 16 2017)

The Views of the Boxers (Sunday April 16 2017)

Indongo Confident of Beating Burns (Friday April 14 2017)

Touting Rules the Roost (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Campbell Added to Wembley Show (Monday April 10 2017)

A Bad Week for Frampton (Sunday April 9 2017)

Selby Ordered to Fight Barros (Sunday April 9 2017)

What Next for Flanagan? (Sunday April 9 2017)

Its Huck v Breidis Tonight (Saturday April 1 2017)

Adams Set for Professional Debut (Saturday April 1 2017)

Kessler Set for Ring Return. (Saturday April 1 2017)

Saunders Gives Golovkin a Deadline (Tuesday March 28 2017)

McGoldrick Wins Professional Debut (Monday March 27 2017)

Friday Recap Taylor Stops Joubert (Monday March 27 2017)

Crolla Soundly Beaten by Linares (Monday March 27 2017)

Okolies Super-Quick Debut KO (Monday March 27 2017)

Post-Fight Views from Crollas Camp (Monday March 27 2017)

Katie Taylor Makes It 4 out of 4 (Monday March 27 2017)

Taylor v Joubert Meadowbank, Scotland (Thursday March 23 2017)

Brook v Spence Press Conference (Thursday March 23 2017)

Golovkin Wants Saunders Next (Monday March 20 2017)

Lee Wins on Ring Comeback. (Sunday March 19 2017)

Golovkin v Jacobs Weigh-In (Saturday March 18 2017)

Conlan Wins on Professional Debut (Saturday March 18 2017)

Crolla Primed for His Big Night (Friday March 17 2017)

Bellew Requires Hand Surgery (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Burns Takes the Dangerous Option (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Barnes Wins on Points (Saturday March 11 2017)

Conlan Wins by Split Decision (Saturday March 11 2017)

Cleverly v Jack in the Pipeline? (Friday March 10 2017)

A 16 Boxer Shoot-Out (Friday March 10 2017)

Haye Willing to Pay Fine (Thursday March 9 2017)

Parker v Fury Date Confirmed (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Haye Set to Fight On (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Is Bellew Set to Call it a Day? (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Taylor Back in the Ring on March 25th (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Pacquiao v Khan ISNT Happening (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Haye on Losing to Bellew (Sunday March 5 2017)

Bellew on Defeating Haye (Sunday March 5 2017)

Bellew Stops Haye in Round 11 (Sunday March 5 2017)

Selby Set to Become a Free Agent (Saturday March 4 2017)

Russian Heavyweight Povetkin Banned (Saturday March 4 2017)

O2 Arena, London Line-Up (Friday March 3 2017)

Haye v Bellew Weigh-In (Friday March 3 2017)

Messing With Our Heads (Thursday March 2 2017)

Fury Spotted (Wednesday March 1 2017)

Haye v Bellew Referee (Wednesday March 1 2017)

BBBoC - Haye Ban Threat (Wednesday March 1 2017)

Press Conference Haye Loses the Plot? (Tuesday February 28 2017)

WBC Want Wilder v Stiverne II (Monday February 27 2017)

Bellew Lets Rip at Haye (Monday February 27 2017)

McDonnell v Vargas What They Said (Sunday February 26 2017)

Pacquiao v Khan IS ON (Sunday February 26 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 642
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 123
5. Fulham Badger 103
6. Kid Glove 73
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 17
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Joshua v Klitschko - Who Wins?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Joshua! 80%
Klitschko! 20%
Too Close to Call! 0%