Vital Boxing | Lennox Lewis – Don’t Do It!
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Lennox Lewis – Don’t Do It!

At the age of forty-eight, is Lennox Lewis really thinking of making a comeback?

Well I, for one, seriously hope not!

But this morning, in the tabloid press, there are muttering that would seem to indicate that the former heavyweight champion of the world could be tempted to do so if the money on the table was right.

It appears that Lennox is being asked by a Russian group to make a comeback and has been offered £30 million to do so.

Retorting, Lennox has indicated that it would take £60 million for him to step back into the ring again, remarking in the reference tabloid,

“The offer from a Russian group wasn’t a joke, it was very real.”

“They asked me, ‘Is there a comeback? Will it take £30 million?’

“I said, ‘No…. it would be £60 million’. They are now thinking about it.”

“There is an awful lot of money around in that country for high-profile sports events. I retired as the heavyweight champion of the world – that is my legacy. If they want me to risk it, then the price is £60 million.”


But Lennox that was some time ago, time has moved on and time, as the saying goes, spares no man.

Continuing though, Lennox adds further fuel to the fire by adding,

“How long would it take me to get ready? Six months.”

“I’d use the tried and trusted methods that got me into shape before. I’d go back to the Pocono mountains at Scotrun. That I show you get results.

“You have to take yourself away somewhere remote and work hard.”

“As for an opponent I’ve already beaten Vitali Klitschko so I would rather go after his brother Wladimir.”


I sincerely hope that Lennox is having some kind of jest with the media, although George Foreman regained the heavyweight title at the grand old age of 45, does Lennox want to risk all that acclaim built up during a hugely successful career in the hope that what is left in the tank would be good enough to hold aloft a world title belt at the grand old age of forty-eight?

Its utter madness and Lennox, if he is tempted, should take a long hard look in the mirror, take a good look, smile wryly and simply ask himself why he’d want to try and do something that, when he was in his prime, came as second nature and I hope the answer would be a resounding NO!


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Thursday October 10 2013

Time: 4:35PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Hearn Rejects 65-35 Purse Split Offer (Thursday November 23 2017)

Haye v Bellew Re-Match – Postponed (Tuesday November 21 2017)

Conlan World Title Bid Ends in Defeat (Sunday November 19 2017)

Frampton Beats Garcia on Points (Sunday November 19 2017)

Frampton’s Illustrious Ringside Company (Thursday November 16 2017)

DeGale and Selby Opponents Named (Wednesday November 15 2017)

Benn Makes Successful Debut on US Soil (Tuesday November 14 2017)

Taylor KO's Vazquez in 9 Rounds (Sunday November 12 2017)

Smith Beats Williams on Points (Sunday November 12 2017)

Smith v Williams - The Re-Match (Friday November 10 2017)

2018 Will See Joshua v Wilder (Friday November 10 2017)

Wilder Would Travel to the UK to Face AJ (Thursday November 9 2017)

McDonnell v Solis Fight Report (Sunday November 5 2017)

Wilder Calls Out Anthony Joshua (Sunday November 5 2017)

Wilder v Stiverne Weigh-In (Saturday November 4 2017)

Disappointment for Dillian Whyte? (Friday November 3 2017)

Tyson Fury v Shannon Briggs? (Friday November 3 2017)

Chisora looking for World Title Fight (Wednesday November 1 2017)

World Champ Taylor Set for Dec 15 Fight (Wednesday November 1 2017)

Whyte beats Helenius on Points (Sunday October 29 2017)

Joshua Stops Takem in Round 10 (Sunday October 29 2017)

Taylor v Sanchez Big Fight Preview (Saturday October 28 2017)

Whyte Looking to March on Towards Wilder (Saturday October 28 2017)

Yafai Looking for a Victory and the US (Saturday October 28 2017)

Joshua v Takem Weigh-In News (Friday October 27 2017)

DeGale Makes Return to Ring in the UK (Friday October 27 2017)

Wilder Yearns for Joshua Match-Up (Friday October 27 2017)

Selby Ready for Warrington Challenge (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Flanagan Next for Linares? (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Whyte Faces Tough Test v Helenius (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Joshua’s First Choice Was Whyte (Monday October 23 2017)

Catterall Claims British Title (Monday October 23 2017)

Joyce Looking to Fight Sexton Next (Sunday October 22 2017)

Kelly Impresses on Burnett Under-Card (Sunday October 22 2017)

Hearn on AJ v Wilder (Sunday October 22 2017)

Heavyweight Joyce Wins Pro-Debut (Saturday October 21 2017)

Burnett v Zhakiyanov Saturday in Belfast (Thursday October 19 2017)

Saunders to Defend Title against Lemieux (Thursday October 19 2017)

Joshua in no rush to make US Debut (Wednesday October 18 2017)

New Opponent for Anthony Joshua (Tuesday October 17 2017)

Groves Stops Cox in 4 Rounds (Sunday October 15 2017)

DeGale Talks Groves Re-Match (Thursday October 12 2017)

Joshua Lashes Out at his Detractors (Tuesday October 10 2017)

Get Well Soon Gary (Monday October 9 2017)

Benn KO’s Clarke In 1st Round (Sunday October 8 2017)

Crolla Beats Burns on Points (Sunday October 8 2017)

RIP – Terry Downes (Saturday October 7 2017)

Eubank Jnr v Yildrim (WBSS) Tonight (Saturday October 7 2017)

Sexton Wins British Heavyweight Title (Saturday October 7 2017)

Will History Be Made Tonight? (Friday October 6 2017)

Manchester Arena Card – October 7 (Friday October 6 2017)

Crolla and Burns Ready to do Battle (Friday October 6 2017)

Corcoran to fight Horn for WBO Title (Thursday October 5 2017)

Frampton’s Comeback Opponent Named (Wednesday October 4 2017)

Is That It for Tyson Fury? (Wednesday October 4 2017)

Fielding Stops Brophy in Round One (Sunday October 1 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. Vital Merlin 31
10. eliza jhon 19

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Did the referee Stop the Joshua v Takem Fight too early?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 50%
No! 50%
Not Sure! 0%