Vital Boxing | Lennox Lewis – Don’t Do It!
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Lennox Lewis – Don’t Do It!

At the age of forty-eight, is Lennox Lewis really thinking of making a comeback?

Well I, for one, seriously hope not!

But this morning, in the tabloid press, there are muttering that would seem to indicate that the former heavyweight champion of the world could be tempted to do so if the money on the table was right.

It appears that Lennox is being asked by a Russian group to make a comeback and has been offered £30 million to do so.

Retorting, Lennox has indicated that it would take £60 million for him to step back into the ring again, remarking in the reference tabloid,

“The offer from a Russian group wasn’t a joke, it was very real.”

“They asked me, ‘Is there a comeback? Will it take £30 million?’

“I said, ‘No…. it would be £60 million’. They are now thinking about it.”

“There is an awful lot of money around in that country for high-profile sports events. I retired as the heavyweight champion of the world – that is my legacy. If they want me to risk it, then the price is £60 million.”


But Lennox that was some time ago, time has moved on and time, as the saying goes, spares no man.

Continuing though, Lennox adds further fuel to the fire by adding,

“How long would it take me to get ready? Six months.”

“I’d use the tried and trusted methods that got me into shape before. I’d go back to the Pocono mountains at Scotrun. That I show you get results.

“You have to take yourself away somewhere remote and work hard.”

“As for an opponent I’ve already beaten Vitali Klitschko so I would rather go after his brother Wladimir.”


I sincerely hope that Lennox is having some kind of jest with the media, although George Foreman regained the heavyweight title at the grand old age of 45, does Lennox want to risk all that acclaim built up during a hugely successful career in the hope that what is left in the tank would be good enough to hold aloft a world title belt at the grand old age of forty-eight?

Its utter madness and Lennox, if he is tempted, should take a long hard look in the mirror, take a good look, smile wryly and simply ask himself why he’d want to try and do something that, when he was in his prime, came as second nature and I hope the answer would be a resounding NO!


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Thursday October 10 2013

Time: 4:35PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Groves Place in WBSS Final in Doubt (Sunday February 18 2018)

Groves On Beating Eubank Jnr (Sunday February 18 2018)

Eubank Jnr Reflects on Loss to Groves (Sunday February 18 2018)

Groves Beats Eubank Jnr On Points (Sunday February 18 2018)

Groves v Eubank Jnr – The Under-Card (Saturday February 17 2018)

Joyce Moves Closer to Chisora Fight (Saturday February 17 2018)

You Predict a Win for Eubank Jnr v Groves (Saturday February 17 2018)

Hughie Fury to Fight for British Title (Saturday February 17 2018)

An Evening with a Boxing Legend (Friday February 16 2018)

Froch Tips Eubank Jnr to Beat Groves (Wednesday February 14 2018)

Groves v Eubank Jnr Press Conference (Wednesday February 14 2018)

Burnett Added to AJ v Parker Promotion (Tuesday February 13 2018)

Does Joshua Need to Fight in the US? (Saturday February 10 2018)

Groves Responds to Eubank Snr’s Jibe (Saturday February 10 2018)

Frampton, McGuigan Split Gets Even Messier (Saturday February 10 2018)

Jones Ends Illustrious Career with a Win (Saturday February 10 2018)

Gassiev Reaches WBSS Final (Sunday February 4 2018)

Buatsi Makes it Four Wins Out of Four (Sunday February 4 2018)

Okolie Beats Chamberlain on Points (Sunday February 4 2018)

Golovkin v Alvarez Re-Match Date Set (Tuesday January 30 2018)

Usyk Beats Briedis in WBSS Semi-Final (Sunday January 28 2018)

Selby v Warrington Fight Confirmed (Wednesday January 24 2018)

Flanagan Bidding to make History (Saturday January 20 2018)

Saunders to Defend Title against Murray (Saturday January 20 2018)

Taylor Set for Soto Bout in Glasgow (Friday January 19 2018)

Price to Face Povetkin in Cardiff (Thursday January 18 2018)

Wilder v Ortiz Set for 3 March (Saturday January 13 2018)

Smith v Brahmer Set for Germany (Saturday January 13 2018)

Taylor to Defend Her Title in Dublin (Saturday January 13 2018)

Bad Boy Wilder Found Guilty (Saturday January 13 2018)

Khan Set for UK Ring Return (Saturday January 13 2018)

Quigg World Title Fight A Done Deal (Tuesday January 9 2018)

Date for Frampton v Donaire Fixed (Saturday January 6 2018)

Quigg Set for World Title Fight (Wednesday January 3 2018)

Joshua v Parker Moves a BIG Step Nearer (Friday December 29 2017)

Whyte v Browne March 24? (Friday December 22 2017)

Frampton v Donaire Confirmed (Friday December 22 2017)

Saunders Retains WBO Middleweight Title (Sunday December 17 2017)

Benn Wins on Points against Peynaud (Thursday December 14 2017)

Tyson Fury Talking about AJ Fight (Wednesday December 13 2017)

Brook Back in Action in March 2018 (Monday December 11 2017)

DeGale Loses World Title to Truax (Sunday December 10 2017)

Haye v Bellew II – 5 May 2018 Confirmed (Wednesday December 6 2017)

DeGale Tips Groves to Beat Eubank Jnr (Sunday December 3 2017)

Price Gets Back to Winning Ways (Sunday December 3 2017)

Ortiz Escapes WBC Ban (Sunday December 3 2017)

Cotto's Career End in Defeat (Sunday December 3 2017)

Hearn Rejects 65-35 Purse Split Offer (Thursday November 23 2017)

Haye v Bellew Re-Match – Postponed (Tuesday November 21 2017)

Conlan World Title Bid Ends in Defeat (Sunday November 19 2017)

Frampton Beats Garcia on Points (Sunday November 19 2017)

Frampton’s Illustrious Ringside Company (Thursday November 16 2017)

DeGale and Selby Opponents Named (Wednesday November 15 2017)

Benn Makes Successful Debut on US Soil (Tuesday November 14 2017)

Taylor KO's Vazquez in 9 Rounds (Sunday November 12 2017)

Smith Beats Williams on Points (Sunday November 12 2017)

Smith v Williams - The Re-Match (Friday November 10 2017)

2018 Will See Joshua v Wilder (Friday November 10 2017)

Wilder Would Travel to the UK to Face AJ (Thursday November 9 2017)

McDonnell v Solis Fight Report (Sunday November 5 2017)

Wilder Calls Out Anthony Joshua (Sunday November 5 2017)

Wilder v Stiverne Weigh-In (Saturday November 4 2017)

Disappointment for Dillian Whyte? (Friday November 3 2017)

Tyson Fury v Shannon Briggs? (Friday November 3 2017)

Chisora looking for World Title Fight (Wednesday November 1 2017)

World Champ Taylor Set for Dec 15 Fight (Wednesday November 1 2017)

Whyte beats Helenius on Points (Sunday October 29 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. Vital Merlin 42
9. hogeyman 31
10. eliza jhon 19

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Anthony Joshua v Joseph Parker?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Joshua to Win! 67%
Parker to Win! 33%
A Draw 0%