Vital Boxing | McGuigan Wants World Title Fight in Belfast
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

McGuigan Wants World Title Fight in Belfast

On Saturday evening, the atmosphere inside the Odyssey Arena, in Belfast, was reported as something to behold.

Many reports suggest that Carl Frampton’s opponent, Jeremy Parodi, looked beaten before he’d reached the ring with the crowd of 8,000 making such a din that he was knocked out of his stride.

For many it reminded them of those epic nights when Barry McGuigan fought and in some kind of twist of fate it is McGuigan who is the Clones Cyclone who is calling the tune for Frampton, in the role of both manager and promoter.

Following the six round demolition of the Frenchman, McGuigan is now reticent that with his charge installed as the mandatory challenger for the version of the title currently held by Kiko Martinez, he wants the world title fight to take place in Belfast.

However, there is the small matter of Martinez having to defend against Jeffrey Mathebula first, on December 21st,but that hasn’t stopped McGuigan remarking,

“We’re looking for the winner of the December 21st fight and we want this fight in Belfast.”

If McGuigan can stage the world title fight in Belfast what a night that would be!


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday October 21 2013

Time: 5:18PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Burnett v Zhakiyanov Saturday in Belfast (Thursday October 19 2017)

Saunders to Defend Title against Lemieux (Thursday October 19 2017)

Joshua in no rush to make US Debut (Wednesday October 18 2017)

New Opponent for Anthony Joshua (Tuesday October 17 2017)

Groves Stops Cox in 4 Rounds (Sunday October 15 2017)

DeGale Talks Groves Re-Match (Thursday October 12 2017)

Joshua Lashes Out at his Detractors (Tuesday October 10 2017)

Get Well Soon Gary (Monday October 9 2017)

Benn KO’s Clarke In 1st Round (Sunday October 8 2017)

Crolla Beats Burns on Points (Sunday October 8 2017)

RIP – Terry Downes (Saturday October 7 2017)

Eubank Jnr v Yildrim (WBSS) Tonight (Saturday October 7 2017)

Sexton Wins British Heavyweight Title (Saturday October 7 2017)

Will History Be Made Tonight? (Friday October 6 2017)

Manchester Arena Card – October 7 (Friday October 6 2017)

Crolla and Burns Ready to do Battle (Friday October 6 2017)

Corcoran to fight Horn for WBO Title (Thursday October 5 2017)

Frampton’s Comeback Opponent Named (Wednesday October 4 2017)

Is That It for Tyson Fury? (Wednesday October 4 2017)

Fielding Stops Brophy in Round One (Sunday October 1 2017)

Chisora Grabs 5th Round Win (Sunday October 1 2017)

Butler Earns WBA Bantamweight Shot (Sunday October 1 2017)

Wilder v Ortiz OFF? (Saturday September 30 2017)

And so Haye v Bellew the re-match is ON. (Friday September 29 2017)

Hearn Looking to Match AJ with Wilder (Friday September 29 2017)

The Fighting Froch Family (Friday September 29 2017)

Cummings Leaves Cyclone Promotions (Thursday September 28 2017)

Hughie Fury Just Didn’t Do Enough (Monday September 25 2017)

Parker Wants AJ Unification Fight (Monday September 25 2017)

Conlan Makes it Four out of Four (Sunday September 24 2017)

Frampton Chooses Warren as Promoter (Sunday September 24 2017)

Campbell Loses Split Decision to Linares (Sunday September 24 2017)

Campbell v Linares Fight Preview (Friday September 22 2017)

Chisora Signs Up with Matchroom Boxing (Thursday September 21 2017)

WBSS – DeGale Wants to Fight the Winner (Thursday September 21 2017)

Parker Set to be Based in London (Thursday September 21 2017)

DeGale Looks towards December Comeback (Thursday September 21 2017)

Haye v Bellew II – Bellew Responds (Thursday September 21 2017)

Canelo Won’t Face Golovkin Again Claim (Tuesday September 19 2017)

Saunders Looking for Khan Fight (Tuesday September 19 2017)

Haye v Bellew 2 – On the Cards (Tuesday September 19 2017)

Golovkin Wants Saunders Showdown (Monday September 18 2017)

Fury Still Wants Joshua Showdown (Monday September 18 2017)

Yarde Wants Buglioni Fight (Monday September 18 2017)

Is a New Heavyweight Star Upon Us? (Monday September 18 2017)

Adams Vegas Debut Postponed (Sunday September 17 2017)

Saunders Beats Monroe Jnr on Points (Sunday September 17 2017)

Golovkin v Canelo Weigh-In (Saturday September 16 2017)

Billy Joe Saunders Weigh-In Kerfuffle (Saturday September 16 2017)

Callum Smith ready for WBSS Opening Bout (Tuesday September 12 2017)

Taylor Gets World Title Opportunity (Tuesday September 12 2017)

Yafai v Ishida Confirmed for AJ Under-Card (Thursday September 7 2017)

Frampton Confirms Moore as his trainer (Thursday September 7 2017)

AJ Looking Forward to Welsh Date (Wednesday September 6 2017)

Pulev Lets the Cat Out of The Bag (Tuesday September 5 2017)

Is That It for Manny Pacquiao? (Friday September 1 2017)

Frampton Set for Hearn Reunion? (Friday September 1 2017)

Wilder v Ortiz On The Cards (Monday August 28 2017)

Davis stops Fonseca in Eight Rounds (Monday August 28 2017)

McGregor Rues Early Stoppage (Sunday August 27 2017)

Cleverly Threatens to Make Jack Pay (Thursday August 24 2017)

Whyte Wins on US Debut (Sunday August 20 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 18

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Best Heavyweight in the world now is?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Joseph Parker 1%
Deontay Wilder 6%
Anthony Joshua 93%
Luis Ortiz 0%