Vital Boxing | Frampton Relinquishes Belts
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Frampton Relinquishes Belts

The quest to attain world champion status is the burning desire that drives professional boxers on.

Sometimes sacrifices have to be made to ensure the path to ultimate glory doesn’t become too complicated.

Today the current European and Commonwealth super-bantamweight, Carl Frampton, has relinquished both of those belts to pursue his true ambition, that of becoming a world title holder.

Frampton, who has 17 straight victories in his career, retained his European title, against Jeremy Parodi, last time out in what was classified as an IBF world championship eliminator.

Discussing the decision to relinquish the belts Frampton’s manager, Barry McGuigan, has remarked to the media,

'Carl Frampton has represented both the Commonwealth Boxing Council and the European Boxing Union extremely well in his time as champion, which we are sure both Simon Block of the CBC and Enza Jacaponi of the EBU will attest to.'

All that remains now is to see who is prepared to take on the Frampton and how soon a world title fight can be secured.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday November 12 2013

Time: 5:20PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Conlan World Title Bid Ends in Defeat (Sunday November 19 2017)

Frampton Beats Garcia on Points (Sunday November 19 2017)

Frampton’s Illustrious Ringside Company (Thursday November 16 2017)

DeGale and Selby Opponents Named (Wednesday November 15 2017)

Benn Makes Successful Debut on US Soil (Tuesday November 14 2017)

Taylor KO's Vazquez in 9 Rounds (Sunday November 12 2017)

Smith Beats Williams on Points (Sunday November 12 2017)

Smith v Williams - The Re-Match (Friday November 10 2017)

2018 Will See Joshua v Wilder (Friday November 10 2017)

Wilder Would Travel to the UK to Face AJ (Thursday November 9 2017)

McDonnell v Solis Fight Report (Sunday November 5 2017)

Wilder Calls Out Anthony Joshua (Sunday November 5 2017)

Wilder v Stiverne Weigh-In (Saturday November 4 2017)

Disappointment for Dillian Whyte? (Friday November 3 2017)

Tyson Fury v Shannon Briggs? (Friday November 3 2017)

Chisora looking for World Title Fight (Wednesday November 1 2017)

World Champ Taylor Set for Dec 15 Fight (Wednesday November 1 2017)

Whyte beats Helenius on Points (Sunday October 29 2017)

Joshua Stops Takem in Round 10 (Sunday October 29 2017)

Taylor v Sanchez Big Fight Preview (Saturday October 28 2017)

Whyte Looking to March on Towards Wilder (Saturday October 28 2017)

Yafai Looking for a Victory and the US (Saturday October 28 2017)

Joshua v Takem Weigh-In News (Friday October 27 2017)

DeGale Makes Return to Ring in the UK (Friday October 27 2017)

Wilder Yearns for Joshua Match-Up (Friday October 27 2017)

Selby Ready for Warrington Challenge (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Flanagan Next for Linares? (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Whyte Faces Tough Test v Helenius (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Joshua’s First Choice Was Whyte (Monday October 23 2017)

Catterall Claims British Title (Monday October 23 2017)

Joyce Looking to Fight Sexton Next (Sunday October 22 2017)

Kelly Impresses on Burnett Under-Card (Sunday October 22 2017)

Hearn on AJ v Wilder (Sunday October 22 2017)

Heavyweight Joyce Wins Pro-Debut (Saturday October 21 2017)

Burnett v Zhakiyanov Saturday in Belfast (Thursday October 19 2017)

Saunders to Defend Title against Lemieux (Thursday October 19 2017)

Joshua in no rush to make US Debut (Wednesday October 18 2017)

New Opponent for Anthony Joshua (Tuesday October 17 2017)

Groves Stops Cox in 4 Rounds (Sunday October 15 2017)

DeGale Talks Groves Re-Match (Thursday October 12 2017)

Joshua Lashes Out at his Detractors (Tuesday October 10 2017)

Get Well Soon Gary (Monday October 9 2017)

Benn KO’s Clarke In 1st Round (Sunday October 8 2017)

Crolla Beats Burns on Points (Sunday October 8 2017)

RIP – Terry Downes (Saturday October 7 2017)

Eubank Jnr v Yildrim (WBSS) Tonight (Saturday October 7 2017)

Sexton Wins British Heavyweight Title (Saturday October 7 2017)

Will History Be Made Tonight? (Friday October 6 2017)

Manchester Arena Card – October 7 (Friday October 6 2017)

Crolla and Burns Ready to do Battle (Friday October 6 2017)

Corcoran to fight Horn for WBO Title (Thursday October 5 2017)

Frampton’s Comeback Opponent Named (Wednesday October 4 2017)

Is That It for Tyson Fury? (Wednesday October 4 2017)

Fielding Stops Brophy in Round One (Sunday October 1 2017)

Chisora Grabs 5th Round Win (Sunday October 1 2017)

Butler Earns WBA Bantamweight Shot (Sunday October 1 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. Vital Merlin 31
10. eliza jhon 19

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Did the referee Stop the Joshua v Takem Fight too early?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 50%
No! 50%
Not Sure! 0%