Vital Boxing | Is It The End for Barker?
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Is It The End for Barker?

It’s a question that many Boxing fans are asking.

Having lost his IBF middleweight crown to Felix Sturm, in Stuttgart, on Saturday night, questions are being asked as to whether the reported dislocated hip Barker suffered could see him forced into retirement.

Barker’s injury problems have been well documented in the past with the fighter having had operations on both hips and surprising everybody by climbing back into the ring to become a world champion, but following the events of last night his long-term trainer, Tony Sims, suspects this could be the end with Sims quoted as having remarked, post-fight,

“I don’t think you will see him in the ring again. He had had problems with his hip before.”

“We are going to take him to the hospital for an X-ray. His hip went in the first round when he threw a punch.”

“And when he went down in the second round, I could see he couldn’t move properly and that’s why I threw in the towel.”


Another to voice an opinion in the immediate aftermath of the fight was Eddie Hearn with the promoter commenting,

“To lose like that, especially after what he has been through, is devastating.”

“I’m not sure of the severity of the injury and I will need to check with Darren if a comeback is something that eve he wants to do.”

“He’s had five or six serious injuries that could have finished his career.”

“Does he want to go through all that again? I don’t know. It looked a year ago that Darren Barker would never fight again but he has won a world title which is more than we can ever have dreamed of.”


Voicing my own opinion, I reckon that Darren will graciously decide to call it a day, but if he does he leaves a wonderful legacy, who will ever forget that August night in Atlantic City when the referee announced….

And the new…………….,

a wonderful lad, a wonderful fighter and a wonderful memory.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday December 8 2013

Time: 10:26AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Brook Not on the Slide (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Brook Fancies Spence Job (Tuesday May 23 2017)

Whyte Pulls Out of Wach Fight (Wednesday May 17 2017)

Adams Wins in Round Two (Sunday May 14 2017)

Gavin Wins on Points (Sunday May 14 2017)

Wladimir Keeping Everyone Waiting (Saturday May 13 2017)

Tyson Fury Left in Limbo (Saturday May 13 2017)

Gavin in Last Chance Saloon (Monday May 8 2017)

Has Eddie Hearn Set the Trend? (Monday May 8 2017)

Tyson Fury Talks AJ (Sunday May 7 2017)

Alvarez Beats Chavez on Points (Sunday May 7 2017)

Parker Wants Joshua Fight (Friday May 5 2017)

Tyson Fury Won’t Come Back (Friday May 5 2017)

The US Can Wait (Friday May 5 2017)

AJ Wants UK Fights (Friday May 5 2017)

Joshua IBF Belt Relinquish Talk (Thursday May 4 2017)

Wilder Interested in Bellew Fight (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Khan Wants that Wembley Experience (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Khan Eyes November Ring Return (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Coming Soon to Vital Boxing (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Stepping on the Gas (Monday May 1 2017)

Hearn Talks Joshua (Monday May 1 2017)

Bellew Won’t Fight Joshua (Monday May 1 2017)

Cordina Wins in Round One (Monday May 1 2017)

Klitschko Wants Joshua Re-Match (Sunday April 30 2017)

You Voted for a Joshua Win (Sunday April 30 2017)

Joshua Wants Fury Fight (Sunday April 30 2017)

Wembley Stadium – Running Order (Saturday April 29 2017)

Vitali’s Backing Wladimir (Thursday April 27 2017)

Wladimir the Memory Stick Man (Thursday April 27 2017)

Lewis Tips Joshua to Win (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Is Tyson Fury on the way back? (Tuesday April 25 2017)

Hughie Fury v Joseph Parker Off (Monday April 24 2017)

Murray v Rosado – Liverpool Tonight (Saturday April 22 2017)

Joshua Ready for All-Comers (Saturday April 22 2017)

Conlan to Fight in Chicago (Thursday April 20 2017)

Fourth Time Lucky for Saint George? (Thursday April 20 2017)

Joshua and Fury in Social Network Blast (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Fury v Parker – Set for UK Move? (Sunday April 16 2017)

Okolie Makes It 2 KO’S out of 2 (Sunday April 16 2017)

The Views of the Boxers (Sunday April 16 2017)

Indongo Confident of Beating Burns (Friday April 14 2017)

Touting Rules the Roost (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Campbell Added to Wembley Show (Monday April 10 2017)

A Bad Week for Frampton (Sunday April 9 2017)

Selby Ordered to Fight Barros (Sunday April 9 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 706
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 123
5. Fulham Badger 103
6. Kid Glove 76
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Josh Warrington v Kiko Martinez?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Warrington to Win! 50%
Martinez to Win! 50%
A Draw! 0%