Vital Boxing | Across the Pond – Broner v Maidana
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Across the Pond – Broner v Maidana

Across the pond, this weekend, Adrien Broner will be defending his WBA welterweight belt against Marcos Maidena.

The fight, in Texas, will see Broner take another step towards his ultimate goal of being the biggest name in boxing. The modest 24 year-old certainly has big plans for his career and has commented ahead of what many perceive as a fight that could be a thriller,

'I am going to take over boxing after Floyd Mayweather.”

'We've just got to get this stepping stone out of the way. Maidana is a good fighter but he's not on my level.'


Broner enters the fight with a record of 27-0 with 22 coming via way of knockout, however Maidana, who has a defeat to Amir Khan on his record, isn’t fazed by his opponents words, replying,

'Everyone knows that Broner has a big mouth.''

'But that doesn't bother me, because his mouth can't fight for him. Whether he has the guts to stand in front of me or if he runs, I'll definitely go for the KO. Either way, I'm leaving the ring with the belt.'


Maidana, slightly the more experienced of the two, has a record that reads 34-3 with 31 coming by way of knockout. But, on a night that could see Broner take another step towards realizing his dreams, the champion has had the modesty to remark about his opponent,

'I'm not going to lie, this is the biggest fight of my career.'



Maidana's going to try to come fight me, he's going to try to break my neck. So I'm ready, I'm focused.”

'It's going to be a hell of a fight. I don't go for knockouts but I really feel I'm going to knock this guy out, I'm going to be his first stoppage.”



I don't even think I've shown all of my abilities yet. Maidana is a different type of fighter and he might bring something else out of Adrien Broner the world hasn't seen yet.'


Personally, I reckon this could be a classic and I also reckon it could go the distance but with Broner being pushed all the way by Maidana, so its Broner on points for me!


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Saturday December 14 2013

Time: 10:58AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Tyson Fury Retires? (Thursday July 27 2017)

Ricky Burns v Josh Taylor? (Tuesday July 25 2017)

Linares Ordered to Face Campbell (Sunday July 23 2017)

Smith v Williams Re-Match Announced (Saturday July 22 2017)

Will Tyson Fury Fight Again? (Friday July 21 2017)

Flanagan v Verdejo Postponed (Friday July 21 2017)

Martin J Ward Makes History (Sunday July 16 2017)

Davies Jnr Loses to Syrowtka (Sunday July 16 2017)

Selby Beats Barros on Points (Sunday July 16 2017)

Haye Back in the Ring in December (Thursday July 13 2017)

Eubank Snr Courts Controversy (Thursday July 13 2017)

Pacquiao Set to Fight On (Thursday July 13 2017)

Brit Seeds Choose their Opponents (Monday July 10 2017)

More Taylor v Burns Talk (Monday July 10 2017)

Who Is Next for Ricky Burns? (Monday July 10 2017)

Taylor Wants Burns Fight Next (Monday July 10 2017)

Dubois Marches On (Sunday July 9 2017)

Skeete Retains British Title (Sunday July 9 2017)

Taylor Stops Davies in 7 Rounds (Sunday July 9 2017)

Pacquiao Requests WBO Review Fight (Wednesday July 5 2017)

Haye Retire? How Did You Vote? (Sunday July 2 2017)

Conlan Makes it 3 out of 3 (Sunday July 2 2017)

Buglioni Retains British Title (Sunday July 2 2017)

Summertime Brawl Running Order (Saturday July 1 2017)

Iron Mike Turns 51 (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins - Reactions (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins III Is On (Thursday June 29 2017)

Ward Hints at Bellew Fight (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Has Whyte Got Wilder Riled? (Sunday June 25 2017)

Josh Kelly – A New Star is Born (Sunday June 25 2017)

Copper Box Arena - July 8th Update (Thursday June 22 2017)

Is This Golovkin’s Last Fight? (Thursday June 22 2017)

Tyson Fury Let’s Rip Again (Thursday June 22 2017)

Brook Wants Another Fight in 2017 (Thursday June 22 2017)

Ward Beats Kovalev in Re-Match (Sunday June 18 2017)

Smith Loses Third World Title Bid (Sunday June 18 2017)

Wilder Arrested in Alabama (Friday June 16 2017)

The Circus Will Take Place (Thursday June 15 2017)

Haye Fined (Thursday June 15 2017)

Frampton Comeback Fight Confirmed (Wednesday June 14 2017)

Burnett Verdict to be changed (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Burnett v Haskins – Quote Fest (Sunday June 11 2017)

A Truly Shocking Verdict (Sunday June 11 2017)

Make Your Mind Up Wladimir (Saturday June 10 2017)

Bellew Set for Conte Bout Next? (Saturday June 10 2017)

Whyte Headed for the US (Saturday June 10 2017)

DeGale Disrespects Groves (Thursday June 8 2017)

Good News for AJ (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Frampton Set for July Comeback (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Tyson's Views on AJ (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Is Eubank Jnr the Best Super-Middleweight Out There?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 55%
No! 36%
Undecided! 9%