Vital Boxing | So Now We値l See!
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

So Now We値l See!

Yesterday (Friday) was a strange day!

Around about lunchtime news came through that despite being offered a seven figure sum to take on Carl Froch, in a re-match, George Groves had opted to decline the offer.

More than a little puzzled, I was hanging on to the newsfeed desperate to know why, after wanting the chance to avenge the controversial defeat at the back-end of 2013, Groves had turned down the offer, but news was not forthcoming.

Later in the afternoon, the waters started to become a little clearer when news broke that the IBF had ordered an immediate re-match between their champion Carl Froch and George Groves.

Suddenly the newsfeed was alive, Groves was talking and some sense relating to the earlier rejection was forthcoming.

Although, as the challenger, Groves will only be entitled to 15% of the purse for the re-match, it would seem that Groves was reluctant to accept the earlier off of a seven figure purse because of the terms offered.

More importantly, upping the ante a little and starting the old mind games scenario, Groves remarked to the media,

的知 happy and proud we致e managed to get justice.

展e池e so pleased the IBF have agreed with our appeal. The fight痴 certainly going to happen from my perspective. Whether Carl Froch will take the fight or not remains to be seen.

滴e痴 dined out for so many years on the fact he値l fight anyone and he痴 not scared to take on any challenge.

典he only reason it won稚 happen is because Carl Froch doesn稚 want it and is willing to sacrifice his world title for it. If he doesn稚 want this fight then I知 fighting for a world title.

It値l certainly be interesting to see if Froch takes up the challenge or pursue that American dream that has been the subject of many a news article recently.

Continuing on the decision to order a re-match, the IBF championships chairman, Lindsay Tucker, clarified matters by remarking,

展e have ordered an immediate re-match. If Froch fails to defend the belt against Groves within the 90-day period starting from January 24, it痴 more than likely he will lose his title.

典he fighters and their teams have a certain amount of time to come to an agreement and if they can稚 it will come down to purse bids.


And with regards to the reason for the ordering of a re-match, Tucker continued,

典he panel felt that in the ninth round, Groves should have been allowed to continue as he did not appear to be seriously hurt.

Exactly, now let痴 get this one on, the whole country is buzzing for it, but are you Carl Froch?


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Saturday January 25 2014

Time: 11:56AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Lewis Tips Joshua to Win (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Is Tyson Fury on the way back? (Tuesday April 25 2017)

Hughie Fury v Joseph Parker Off (Monday April 24 2017)

Murray v Rosado Liverpool Tonight (Saturday April 22 2017)

Joshua Ready for All-Comers (Saturday April 22 2017)

Conlan to Fight in Chicago (Thursday April 20 2017)

Fourth Time Lucky for Saint George? (Thursday April 20 2017)

Joshua and Fury in Social Network Blast (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Fury v Parker Set for UK Move? (Sunday April 16 2017)

Okolie Makes It 2 KO担 out of 2 (Sunday April 16 2017)

The Views of the Boxers (Sunday April 16 2017)

Indongo Confident of Beating Burns (Friday April 14 2017)

Touting Rules the Roost (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Campbell Added to Wembley Show (Monday April 10 2017)

A Bad Week for Frampton (Sunday April 9 2017)

Selby Ordered to Fight Barros (Sunday April 9 2017)

What Next for Flanagan? (Sunday April 9 2017)

It痴 Huck v Breidis Tonight (Saturday April 1 2017)

Adams Set for Professional Debut (Saturday April 1 2017)

Kessler Set for Ring Return. (Saturday April 1 2017)

Saunders Gives Golovkin a Deadline (Tuesday March 28 2017)

McGoldrick Wins Professional Debut (Monday March 27 2017)

Friday Recap Taylor Stops Joubert (Monday March 27 2017)

Crolla Soundly Beaten by Linares (Monday March 27 2017)

Okolie痴 Super-Quick Debut KO (Monday March 27 2017)

Katie Taylor Makes It 4 out of 4 (Monday March 27 2017)

Taylor v Joubert Meadowbank, Scotland (Thursday March 23 2017)

Brook v Spence Press Conference (Thursday March 23 2017)

Golovkin Wants Saunders Next (Monday March 20 2017)

Lee Wins on Ring Comeback. (Sunday March 19 2017)

Golovkin v Jacobs Weigh-In (Saturday March 18 2017)

Conlan Wins on Professional Debut (Saturday March 18 2017)

Crolla Primed for His Big Night (Friday March 17 2017)

Bellew Requires Hand Surgery (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Burns Takes the Dangerous Option (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Barnes Wins on Points (Saturday March 11 2017)

Conlan Wins by Split Decision (Saturday March 11 2017)

Cleverly v Jack in the Pipeline? (Friday March 10 2017)

A 16 Boxer Shoot-Out (Friday March 10 2017)

Haye Willing to Pay Fine (Thursday March 9 2017)

Parker v Fury Date Confirmed (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Haye Set to Fight On (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Is Bellew Set to Call it a Day? (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Taylor Back in the Ring on March 25th (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Pacquiao v Khan ISN探 Happening (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Haye on Losing to Bellew (Sunday March 5 2017)

Bellew on Defeating Haye (Sunday March 5 2017)

Bellew Stops Haye in Round 11 (Sunday March 5 2017)

Selby Set to Become a Free Agent (Saturday March 4 2017)

Russian Heavyweight Povetkin Banned (Saturday March 4 2017)

O2 Arena, London Line-Up (Friday March 3 2017)

Haye v Bellew Weigh-In (Friday March 3 2017)

Messing With Our Heads (Thursday March 2 2017)

Fury Spotted (Wednesday March 1 2017)

Haye v Bellew Referee (Wednesday March 1 2017)

BBBoC - Haye Ban Threat (Wednesday March 1 2017)

Press Conference Haye Loses the Plot? (Tuesday February 28 2017)

WBC Want Wilder v Stiverne II (Monday February 27 2017)

Bellew Lets Rip at Haye (Monday February 27 2017)

McDonnell v Vargas What They Said (Sunday February 26 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 642
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 123
5. Fulham Badger 103
6. Kid Glove 73
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 17
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Joshua v Klitschko - Who Wins?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Joshua! 80%
Klitschko! 20%
Too Close to Call! 0%