Vital Boxing | Hatton Fear!
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Hatton Fear!

In the early hours of Sunday morning (UK time), Amir Khan will make his debut at welterweight.

Having been deprived of a clash with the undisputed best pound-for-pound fighter in the world, Floyd Mayweather Junior, Khan will be stepping into the ring, in Las Vegas, to face Luis Collazo.

In moving up a weight division, Khan is emulating Ricky Hatton and, by chance, Hatton in stepping up to welterweight faced the very man Khan will be trying to dismantle in Vegas, Luis Collazo.

When Hatton made the move up in weight back in 2006, it was for the WBA title.

Ahead of Khan’s welterweight debut, Hatton has provided a few words of caution for the Bolton fighter, remarking,

“It was a horrendous shock to my system when I first got caught by Collazo.

“The step up a division is really noticeable.”

“And the moment Khan stands there and begins to think he can start trading is the moment he will come second in the fight.”

“Khan is a much better fighter than Collazo. But we have seen before he dominates early rounds but then starts to think it’s easy and gets dragged into things.”


Yes, that has been a Khan trait in his recent fights, some of which have been virtual wars but, under his trainer Virgil Hunter, the insinuation is that Khan has been kind of remodelled into a fighter who can now pick his moments to launch attacks.

ut, as they’ve often said, a plan can go out of the window the first time that somebody is caught clean on the chin.

Here at Vital Boxing we’re hoping that Khan showcases his superior skills before, possibly, stopping his man late on and, like Ricky Hatton says, avoids trading toe-to-toe with Collazo.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday April 29 2014

Time: 4:38PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Copper Box Arena - July 8th Update (Thursday June 22 2017)

Is This Golovkin’s Last Fight? (Thursday June 22 2017)

Tyson Fury Let’s Rip Again (Thursday June 22 2017)

Brook Wants Another Fight in 2017 (Thursday June 22 2017)

Ward Beats Kovalev in Re-Match (Sunday June 18 2017)

Smith Loses Third World Title Bid (Sunday June 18 2017)

Wilder Arrested in Alabama (Friday June 16 2017)

The Circus Will Take Place (Thursday June 15 2017)

Haye Fined (Thursday June 15 2017)

Frampton Comeback Fight Confirmed (Wednesday June 14 2017)

Burnett Verdict to be changed (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Burnett v Haskins – Quote Fest (Sunday June 11 2017)

A Truly Shocking Verdict (Sunday June 11 2017)

Make Your Mind Up Wladimir (Saturday June 10 2017)

Bellew Set for Conte Bout Next? (Saturday June 10 2017)

Whyte Headed for the US (Saturday June 10 2017)

DeGale Disrespects Groves (Thursday June 8 2017)

Good News for AJ (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Frampton Set for July Comeback (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Tyson's Views on AJ (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Buatsi Turns Professional (Monday June 5 2017)

Crolla Talks Manchester Arena (Sunday June 4 2017)

Should Haye Call It a Day? (Sunday June 4 2017)

Haye Splits from McGuigan (Saturday June 3 2017)

Conor Benn Set for Ring Return (Saturday June 3 2017)

Eubank Jnr v Abraham Draws Nearer (Saturday June 3 2017)

Words of Wisdom from Klitschko (Saturday June 3 2017)

Eubank Jnr Set for Abraham Fight (Thursday June 1 2017)

Bramall Lane Running Order Tonight (Saturday May 27 2017)

Conlan Wins by TKO (Saturday May 27 2017)

Ingle Talks Brook (Thursday May 25 2017)

Fury Left Feeling Frustrated (Thursday May 25 2017)

Porter’s Sour Grapes (Thursday May 25 2017)

Brook Not on the Slide (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Brook Fancies Spence Job (Tuesday May 23 2017)

Whyte Pulls Out of Wach Fight (Wednesday May 17 2017)

Adams Wins in Round Two (Sunday May 14 2017)

Gavin Wins on Points (Sunday May 14 2017)

Wladimir Keeping Everyone Waiting (Saturday May 13 2017)

Tyson Fury Left in Limbo (Saturday May 13 2017)

Gavin in Last Chance Saloon (Monday May 8 2017)

Has Eddie Hearn Set the Trend? (Monday May 8 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 130
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Should David Haye Call It a Day?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 38%
No! 62%
Not Sure! 0%