Vital Boxing | Will Froch Box On?
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Will Froch Box On?

Although Carl Froch finally saw off the challenge of George Groves at Wembley Stadium, it appears that a defeat could well have seen the four time world champion throw in the towel and call it a day.

In fact even in victory it might still have been Froch’s last fight with the WBA and IBF champion remarking to the media,

“If I bowed out now I could say that was my finest hour, my finest right hand.'

'I'm 37 next month but I feel strong.'

'I could have three or four more fights - but if I decide after I've been on holiday I've had enough, don't be surprised.'

'The one thing I haven't done is to fight in Las Vegas. That would get me up to remain in this sport. I wouldn't say it is Vegas or bust, it is close to that.”

'Eddie Hearn does magical things. There are a couple of options but all I want to do at the minute is relax with my family and have a nice summer. I'm not making any decisions now.'


Will Froch box on?

It’s a hard decision to call. The Wembley Stadium bout, in front of 80,000 people is as probably as good as it gets.

There are some decent fights out there for the Nottingham fighter but is the desire there to live like a monk for three months when your exploits have set you up, financially, for life?

A date in Las Vegas is enticing but Froch knows he would have to fight a dangerous, live opponent for the fight to sell and for the fight to get anywhere near matching the euphoria of Saturday night at Wembley.

It’s a hard call for Froch to make but if he does decide to box on it has to be with 100% commitment and if he does decide to call it a day, then there must be no going back.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday June 2 2014

Time: 7:32AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Copper Box Arena - July 8th Update (Thursday June 22 2017)

Is This Golovkin’s Last Fight? (Thursday June 22 2017)

Tyson Fury Let’s Rip Again (Thursday June 22 2017)

Brook Wants Another Fight in 2017 (Thursday June 22 2017)

Ward Beats Kovalev in Re-Match (Sunday June 18 2017)

Smith Loses Third World Title Bid (Sunday June 18 2017)

Wilder Arrested in Alabama (Friday June 16 2017)

The Circus Will Take Place (Thursday June 15 2017)

Haye Fined (Thursday June 15 2017)

Frampton Comeback Fight Confirmed (Wednesday June 14 2017)

Burnett Verdict to be changed (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Burnett v Haskins – Quote Fest (Sunday June 11 2017)

A Truly Shocking Verdict (Sunday June 11 2017)

Make Your Mind Up Wladimir (Saturday June 10 2017)

Bellew Set for Conte Bout Next? (Saturday June 10 2017)

Whyte Headed for the US (Saturday June 10 2017)

DeGale Disrespects Groves (Thursday June 8 2017)

Good News for AJ (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Frampton Set for July Comeback (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Tyson's Views on AJ (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Buatsi Turns Professional (Monday June 5 2017)

Crolla Talks Manchester Arena (Sunday June 4 2017)

Should Haye Call It a Day? (Sunday June 4 2017)

Haye Splits from McGuigan (Saturday June 3 2017)

Conor Benn Set for Ring Return (Saturday June 3 2017)

Eubank Jnr v Abraham Draws Nearer (Saturday June 3 2017)

Words of Wisdom from Klitschko (Saturday June 3 2017)

Eubank Jnr Set for Abraham Fight (Thursday June 1 2017)

Bramall Lane Running Order Tonight (Saturday May 27 2017)

Conlan Wins by TKO (Saturday May 27 2017)

Ingle Talks Brook (Thursday May 25 2017)

Fury Left Feeling Frustrated (Thursday May 25 2017)

Porter’s Sour Grapes (Thursday May 25 2017)

Brook Not on the Slide (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Brook Fancies Spence Job (Tuesday May 23 2017)

Whyte Pulls Out of Wach Fight (Wednesday May 17 2017)

Adams Wins in Round Two (Sunday May 14 2017)

Gavin Wins on Points (Sunday May 14 2017)

Wladimir Keeping Everyone Waiting (Saturday May 13 2017)

Tyson Fury Left in Limbo (Saturday May 13 2017)

Gavin in Last Chance Saloon (Monday May 8 2017)

Has Eddie Hearn Set the Trend? (Monday May 8 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 130
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Should David Haye Call It a Day?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 38%
No! 62%
Not Sure! 0%