Vital Boxing | Porter's Looking Past Brook Title Clash!
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Porter's Looking Past Brook Title Clash!

Shawn Porter and Kell Brook don’t come face to face, in the ring, until 16th August, but both are looking ahead to what might be next for them.

Now whilst we accept that confidence is the name of the game in this, sometimes, brutal sport of ours, there is a case for saying somebody could be too confident.

Brook, finally getting to fight for a version of the welterweight world title, will be fighting in a strange land for the first time in his career but the Sheffield fighter, with a record of 32-0 with 22 by knockout, already has his sights set on a fight with either Manny Pacquiao or Amir Khan next.

As for Porter ahead of his clash with Brook, a fight he could very well lose, is talking about a mega-fight with Floyd Mayweather Junior with Porter quoted as having remarked,

“I don’t consider my fights auditions, they’re performances. Yes, Floyd Mayweather is on the clock, we’re all hoping we’re next in line…I’m undefeated against undefeated boxers. I look forward to carrying my belt out of the ring August 16.”

I’d hazard a guess there are a lot of fighters hoping they are next in line, including Amir Khan. Returning to Kell Brook though, he had this to say about meeting Porter,

“August 16 it’s me and Shawn Porter in the ring, I’m more than ready…I think the fans around the world are going to see what I can really do and see the best of me.”

Back here in the UK, I’ll be cheering for Kell, after all it’s great to see the American’s silenced on there own soil, perhaps we’re going to see a repeat of something akin to Lloyd Honeyghan’s finest hour!


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday July 29 2014

Time: 6:48PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Ward Hints at Bellew Fight (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Has Whyte Got Wilder Riled? (Sunday June 25 2017)

Josh Kelly – A New Star is Born (Sunday June 25 2017)

Copper Box Arena - July 8th Update (Thursday June 22 2017)

Is This Golovkin’s Last Fight? (Thursday June 22 2017)

Tyson Fury Let’s Rip Again (Thursday June 22 2017)

Brook Wants Another Fight in 2017 (Thursday June 22 2017)

Ward Beats Kovalev in Re-Match (Sunday June 18 2017)

Smith Loses Third World Title Bid (Sunday June 18 2017)

Wilder Arrested in Alabama (Friday June 16 2017)

The Circus Will Take Place (Thursday June 15 2017)

Haye Fined (Thursday June 15 2017)

Frampton Comeback Fight Confirmed (Wednesday June 14 2017)

Burnett Verdict to be changed (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Burnett v Haskins – Quote Fest (Sunday June 11 2017)

A Truly Shocking Verdict (Sunday June 11 2017)

Make Your Mind Up Wladimir (Saturday June 10 2017)

Bellew Set for Conte Bout Next? (Saturday June 10 2017)

Whyte Headed for the US (Saturday June 10 2017)

DeGale Disrespects Groves (Thursday June 8 2017)

Good News for AJ (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Frampton Set for July Comeback (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Tyson's Views on AJ (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Buatsi Turns Professional (Monday June 5 2017)

Crolla Talks Manchester Arena (Sunday June 4 2017)

Should Haye Call It a Day? (Sunday June 4 2017)

Haye Splits from McGuigan (Saturday June 3 2017)

Conor Benn Set for Ring Return (Saturday June 3 2017)

Eubank Jnr v Abraham Draws Nearer (Saturday June 3 2017)

Words of Wisdom from Klitschko (Saturday June 3 2017)

Eubank Jnr Set for Abraham Fight (Thursday June 1 2017)

Bramall Lane Running Order Tonight (Saturday May 27 2017)

Conlan Wins by TKO (Saturday May 27 2017)

Ingle Talks Brook (Thursday May 25 2017)

Fury Left Feeling Frustrated (Thursday May 25 2017)

Porter’s Sour Grapes (Thursday May 25 2017)

Brook Not on the Slide (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Brook Fancies Spence Job (Tuesday May 23 2017)

Whyte Pulls Out of Wach Fight (Wednesday May 17 2017)

Adams Wins in Round Two (Sunday May 14 2017)

Gavin Wins on Points (Sunday May 14 2017)

Wladimir Keeping Everyone Waiting (Saturday May 13 2017)

Tyson Fury Left in Limbo (Saturday May 13 2017)

Gavin in Last Chance Saloon (Monday May 8 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 130
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Should David Haye Call It a Day?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 50%
No! 50%
Not Sure! 0%