Vital Boxing | Chavez Jr in Vegas or That’s It!
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Chavez Jr in Vegas or That’s It!

Although Carl Froch is expected to fulfil his obligations and defend his world titles against James DeGale, it would appear DeGale is far from his thoughts.

Froch still has his sights set on a Las Vegas fight as a way of ending what has been a highly successful career.

Now 37 years of age, Froch knows time isn’t on his side and today he has hinted that if he can’t fulfil his Vegas destiny he’d rather retire than finish his career with a domestic win over DeGale.

Talking about his feelings, Froch has lamented,

'If I can't fight in Vegas, I need a serious think about whether I want to finish by fighting DeGale, and beating him.'

'I don't know if I can get motivated to fight him. He's not good enough. If Vegas can't happen I'll seriously consider retiring.'

'I want to finish my career in Las Vegas, because it's not something I've done as a professional. I've done all the fighting that I can do. I've achieved all I wanted to achieve. Now it's just about ticking a final box.”

'To fight there like many of my heroes have before me would be phenomenal. All I want is the glamour side of it, I'm not too fussed about fame.'


However, Froch has pointed out that his potential opponent, Chavez Jr, is a little unpredictable and may not agree to a fight, prompting the Nottingham fighter to remark,

'Sometimes he goes AWOL. He is a bit of a bad boy in Mexico. There's been question marks about his reliability.'

'There are a couple of other fights out there for me in America so if there are options there I'd rather take that than fight DeGale.'


I wonder what DeGale’s thoughts are on this subject matter!


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Thursday August 7 2014

Time: 5:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Ward Hints at Bellew Fight (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Has Whyte Got Wilder Riled? (Sunday June 25 2017)

Josh Kelly – A New Star is Born (Sunday June 25 2017)

Copper Box Arena - July 8th Update (Thursday June 22 2017)

Is This Golovkin’s Last Fight? (Thursday June 22 2017)

Tyson Fury Let’s Rip Again (Thursday June 22 2017)

Brook Wants Another Fight in 2017 (Thursday June 22 2017)

Ward Beats Kovalev in Re-Match (Sunday June 18 2017)

Smith Loses Third World Title Bid (Sunday June 18 2017)

Wilder Arrested in Alabama (Friday June 16 2017)

The Circus Will Take Place (Thursday June 15 2017)

Haye Fined (Thursday June 15 2017)

Frampton Comeback Fight Confirmed (Wednesday June 14 2017)

Burnett Verdict to be changed (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Burnett v Haskins – Quote Fest (Sunday June 11 2017)

A Truly Shocking Verdict (Sunday June 11 2017)

Make Your Mind Up Wladimir (Saturday June 10 2017)

Bellew Set for Conte Bout Next? (Saturday June 10 2017)

Whyte Headed for the US (Saturday June 10 2017)

DeGale Disrespects Groves (Thursday June 8 2017)

Good News for AJ (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Frampton Set for July Comeback (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Tyson's Views on AJ (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Buatsi Turns Professional (Monday June 5 2017)

Crolla Talks Manchester Arena (Sunday June 4 2017)

Should Haye Call It a Day? (Sunday June 4 2017)

Haye Splits from McGuigan (Saturday June 3 2017)

Conor Benn Set for Ring Return (Saturday June 3 2017)

Eubank Jnr v Abraham Draws Nearer (Saturday June 3 2017)

Words of Wisdom from Klitschko (Saturday June 3 2017)

Eubank Jnr Set for Abraham Fight (Thursday June 1 2017)

Bramall Lane Running Order Tonight (Saturday May 27 2017)

Conlan Wins by TKO (Saturday May 27 2017)

Ingle Talks Brook (Thursday May 25 2017)

Fury Left Feeling Frustrated (Thursday May 25 2017)

Porter’s Sour Grapes (Thursday May 25 2017)

Brook Not on the Slide (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Brook Fancies Spence Job (Tuesday May 23 2017)

Whyte Pulls Out of Wach Fight (Wednesday May 17 2017)

Adams Wins in Round Two (Sunday May 14 2017)

Gavin Wins on Points (Sunday May 14 2017)

Wladimir Keeping Everyone Waiting (Saturday May 13 2017)

Tyson Fury Left in Limbo (Saturday May 13 2017)

Gavin in Last Chance Saloon (Monday May 8 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 130
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Should David Haye Call It a Day?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 50%
No! 50%
Not Sure! 0%