Vital Boxing | The McGuigan Family Done Real Good
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

The McGuigan Family Done Real Good

On Saturday evening, as the dust settled on a magnificent nights’ work by Carl Frampton, in winning the IBF world title belt, the McGuigan family certainly had reason to feel well chuffed.

Barry, a former world champion himself, would have known exactly how his charge, Carl Frampton, would have felt, but for his son Shane it would have been a new experience.

Shane, who has trained Frampton, finds himself in a position whereby he trains a world champion who is actually a few years older than him.

Following the sublime win over Kiko Martinez, Shane had a few words to say about how he thought Carl had boxed, remarking to the media,

“It is the best performance I have seen live. He was absolutely magnificent I couldn’t pick a fault when he came back to the corner.”

“For Kiko Martinez that is the best performance we could have done. Produce that and 10 times out of 10 you beat Kiko Martinez. Santa Cruz would be exactly like Kiko, he would probably have to go looking for Scott Quigg because once Scott half feels his power he will go on the back foot. When that happens you change your game plan.”

“Last time out he proved he could out box Kiko Martinez and in the latter rounds he proved he could out-fight him too.”

“He is the strongest super bantamweight out there he is the best at distance. I think he is the hardest as well. That is one part of his game that has raised, fighting on the inside and finding gaps. He showed tonight he is comfortable in there.”


Continuing, Shane explained how he spoke to Frampton after he’d floored Martinez in the fifth round, adding,

“A lion’s always dangerous when they’re hurt. Nigel Benn always got knocked down and he’d be at his most dangerous. So I said, ‘work off your jab, control it all from the centre of the ring.”

“The first fight Carl covered a lot of ground and a lot of miles but this time he stamped his authority and every time he took a step back he threw something with venom and it worked.”


It was, just as Shane says, one of those perfect nights!


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday September 9 2014

Time: 4:37PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Whyte Wins on US Debut (Sunday August 20 2017)

Frampton Looking for NEW Opponent (Friday August 18 2017)

Burns v Crolla - October 7th (Saturday August 12 2017)

Smith v Williams Venue Announced (Sunday August 6 2017)

Joshua Being Pushed Into a Corner (Friday August 4 2017)

Klitschko’s Retirement Video (Thursday August 3 2017)

Who Will Be Next for Joshua? (Thursday August 3 2017)

Will You Go PPV for the Big-Fight (Wednesday August 2 2017)

Garcia Outclasses Broner (Sunday July 30 2017)

Taylor Makes it 6 from 6 (Sunday July 30 2017)

Joshua Talks Mike Tyson (Saturday July 29 2017)

Frampton v Gutierrez Called Off (Saturday July 29 2017)

Tyson Fury Retires? (Thursday July 27 2017)

Ricky Burns v Josh Taylor? (Tuesday July 25 2017)

Linares Ordered to Face Campbell (Sunday July 23 2017)

Smith v Williams Re-Match Announced (Saturday July 22 2017)

Will Tyson Fury Fight Again? (Friday July 21 2017)

Flanagan v Verdejo Postponed (Friday July 21 2017)

Martin J Ward Makes History (Sunday July 16 2017)

Davies Jnr Loses to Syrowtka (Sunday July 16 2017)

Selby Beats Barros on Points (Sunday July 16 2017)

Haye Back in the Ring in December (Thursday July 13 2017)

Eubank Snr Courts Controversy (Thursday July 13 2017)

Pacquiao Set to Fight On (Thursday July 13 2017)

Brit Seeds Choose their Opponents (Monday July 10 2017)

More Taylor v Burns Talk (Monday July 10 2017)

Who Is Next for Ricky Burns? (Monday July 10 2017)

Taylor Wants Burns Fight Next (Monday July 10 2017)

Dubois Marches On (Sunday July 9 2017)

Skeete Retains British Title (Sunday July 9 2017)

Taylor Stops Davies in 7 Rounds (Sunday July 9 2017)

Pacquiao Requests WBO Review Fight (Wednesday July 5 2017)

Haye Retire? How Did You Vote? (Sunday July 2 2017)

Conlan Makes it 3 out of 3 (Sunday July 2 2017)

Buglioni Retains British Title (Sunday July 2 2017)

Summertime Brawl Running Order (Saturday July 1 2017)

Iron Mike Turns 51 (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins - Reactions (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins III Is On (Thursday June 29 2017)

Ward Hints at Bellew Fight (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Has Whyte Got Wilder Riled? (Sunday June 25 2017)

Josh Kelly – A New Star is Born (Sunday June 25 2017)

Copper Box Arena - July 8th Update (Thursday June 22 2017)

Is This Golovkin’s Last Fight? (Thursday June 22 2017)

Tyson Fury Let’s Rip Again (Thursday June 22 2017)

Brook Wants Another Fight in 2017 (Thursday June 22 2017)

Ward Beats Kovalev in Re-Match (Sunday June 18 2017)

Smith Loses Third World Title Bid (Sunday June 18 2017)

Wilder Arrested in Alabama (Friday June 16 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Is Eubank Jnr the Best Super-Middleweight Out There?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 38%
No! 47%
Undecided! 15%