Vital Boxing | Smith Suffers the Greatest of Injustices!
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Smith Suffers the Greatest of Injustices!

In Kiel, Germany last night, Paul Smith put in the most gallant of efforts to wrestle the WBO super-middleweight title from the holder, Arthur Abraham.

Watching the two pugilists battle it out for twelve pulsating rounds, I was of the view that the fight was close, very close.

In fact waiting for the judge’s scores to be read out, it wouldn’t have surprised me if the fight had been declared a draw, a split decision or one boxer taking it by the odd point or two.

Unfortunately, it appears that the three judges had been watching a different fight to the one you and I had been watching with the scores being announced as:-

• 117-111 (in favour of Abraham)
• 117-111 (in favour of Abraham)
• 119-109 (in favour of Abraham)

In short it was a total travesty!

Smith, marched into the champion’s backyard and gave him the hardest night he’s likely to have for many a year. The Liverpool fighter, cheered on by a thousand of his fans, switched his attacks from head to body as he attempted to knock the sting out of Abraham.

Abraham had his moments but, to be brutally honest, he never had Smith in any kind of trouble as the Liverpool boxer boxed beautifully behind his jab and keeping just the right distance away from his foe.

The look of disbelief, in Smith’s eyes, when the score-cards were read out, said it all and after the fight Smith had this to say about what was clearly very poor-scoring,

'That's twice I have been on the end of a wrong decision and it has shattered my world.'

'I knew I had the beating of him but I did a lot right and was outworking him in every round. “

'I believed I had done enough and won the fight but the judges didn't. I feel robbed.'


The biggest injustice isn’t the fact that Smith lost but the fact that when the record books are studied in the years to come, those scores will show it as a one-sided fight and we all know it was far more than that.

But Smith can take consolation from the fact that he has proven beyond doubt that he belongs in this level of boxing, world class.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday September 28 2014

Time: 10:57AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Ward Hints at Bellew Fight (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Has Whyte Got Wilder Riled? (Sunday June 25 2017)

Josh Kelly – A New Star is Born (Sunday June 25 2017)

Copper Box Arena - July 8th Update (Thursday June 22 2017)

Is This Golovkin’s Last Fight? (Thursday June 22 2017)

Tyson Fury Let’s Rip Again (Thursday June 22 2017)

Brook Wants Another Fight in 2017 (Thursday June 22 2017)

Ward Beats Kovalev in Re-Match (Sunday June 18 2017)

Smith Loses Third World Title Bid (Sunday June 18 2017)

Wilder Arrested in Alabama (Friday June 16 2017)

The Circus Will Take Place (Thursday June 15 2017)

Haye Fined (Thursday June 15 2017)

Frampton Comeback Fight Confirmed (Wednesday June 14 2017)

Burnett Verdict to be changed (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Burnett v Haskins – Quote Fest (Sunday June 11 2017)

A Truly Shocking Verdict (Sunday June 11 2017)

Make Your Mind Up Wladimir (Saturday June 10 2017)

Bellew Set for Conte Bout Next? (Saturday June 10 2017)

Whyte Headed for the US (Saturday June 10 2017)

DeGale Disrespects Groves (Thursday June 8 2017)

Good News for AJ (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Frampton Set for July Comeback (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Tyson's Views on AJ (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Buatsi Turns Professional (Monday June 5 2017)

Crolla Talks Manchester Arena (Sunday June 4 2017)

Should Haye Call It a Day? (Sunday June 4 2017)

Haye Splits from McGuigan (Saturday June 3 2017)

Conor Benn Set for Ring Return (Saturday June 3 2017)

Eubank Jnr v Abraham Draws Nearer (Saturday June 3 2017)

Words of Wisdom from Klitschko (Saturday June 3 2017)

Eubank Jnr Set for Abraham Fight (Thursday June 1 2017)

Bramall Lane Running Order Tonight (Saturday May 27 2017)

Conlan Wins by TKO (Saturday May 27 2017)

Ingle Talks Brook (Thursday May 25 2017)

Fury Left Feeling Frustrated (Thursday May 25 2017)

Porter’s Sour Grapes (Thursday May 25 2017)

Brook Not on the Slide (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Brook Fancies Spence Job (Tuesday May 23 2017)

Whyte Pulls Out of Wach Fight (Wednesday May 17 2017)

Adams Wins in Round Two (Sunday May 14 2017)

Gavin Wins on Points (Sunday May 14 2017)

Wladimir Keeping Everyone Waiting (Saturday May 13 2017)

Tyson Fury Left in Limbo (Saturday May 13 2017)

Gavin in Last Chance Saloon (Monday May 8 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 130
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Should David Haye Call It a Day?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 50%
No! 50%
Not Sure! 0%