Vital Boxing | Butler World Title Fight Off (For Now)
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Butler World Title Fight Off (For Now)

Having given up the world title belt he won against Stuart Hall to pursue a second world title belt but at his more natural weight, Paul Butler has suffered disappointment.

Butler was supposed to be taking on the IBF super-flyweight champion Zolani Tete on October 25th at the Liverpool Echo Arena, unfortunately the South African has damaged his hand and has had to withdraw.

However, we’re assured the fight will go ahead at a later date with Frank Warren pointing out Tete is contracted to fight Butler.

Although Tete isn’t available it has been confirmed that Butler will still headline the event against an, as yet, unnamed opponent.

Speaking about the withdrawal of the champion, Butler has remarked,

“From the high of winning the world title against Stuart Hall in June, it was devastating news to receive that Tete had broken his hand.”

'My team are all gutted after the work everyone has put in for this fight.”

'On a positive note, the fight against Tete is contracted to happen and I look forward to getting the new date and I know that I will just have to wait a little longer to get my hands on a second world title.”

'I’ll still be on the Echo Arena show, so the training hasn’t gone to waste, and I can put on a top performance before facing Tete.”


As for the injured champion, he has remarked to the media,

'It is with deep regret that I must pull out of this much anticipated fight with Paul. I have selected to take the advice from my medical team because I am terrible pain from the broken bone. Therefore I will not be able to fight on the scheduled date. For this I sincerely apologise and thank you for your understanding.'

And lastly, from the promoter Frank Warren,

“It’s very disappointing for all involved, especially for Paul, who has put everything into this world title challenge against Tete.”

'Unfortunately hand injuries are part of this business, but it doesn’t make it any easier when it happens.”

'We’ll announce a new date for his fight with Tete shorty, but in the meantime he will still fight on the show so at least he will keep active and get some more rounds in before facing Tete.”


Like Frank Warren say, it’s a hazard of the game but nevertheless we understand just how disappointed both fighters must be.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Thursday October 2 2014

Time: 7:34PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Hearn Rejects 65-35 Purse Split Offer (Thursday November 23 2017)

Haye v Bellew Re-Match – Postponed (Tuesday November 21 2017)

Conlan World Title Bid Ends in Defeat (Sunday November 19 2017)

Frampton Beats Garcia on Points (Sunday November 19 2017)

Frampton’s Illustrious Ringside Company (Thursday November 16 2017)

DeGale and Selby Opponents Named (Wednesday November 15 2017)

Benn Makes Successful Debut on US Soil (Tuesday November 14 2017)

Taylor KO's Vazquez in 9 Rounds (Sunday November 12 2017)

Smith Beats Williams on Points (Sunday November 12 2017)

Smith v Williams - The Re-Match (Friday November 10 2017)

2018 Will See Joshua v Wilder (Friday November 10 2017)

Wilder Would Travel to the UK to Face AJ (Thursday November 9 2017)

McDonnell v Solis Fight Report (Sunday November 5 2017)

Wilder Calls Out Anthony Joshua (Sunday November 5 2017)

Wilder v Stiverne Weigh-In (Saturday November 4 2017)

Disappointment for Dillian Whyte? (Friday November 3 2017)

Tyson Fury v Shannon Briggs? (Friday November 3 2017)

Chisora looking for World Title Fight (Wednesday November 1 2017)

World Champ Taylor Set for Dec 15 Fight (Wednesday November 1 2017)

Whyte beats Helenius on Points (Sunday October 29 2017)

Joshua Stops Takem in Round 10 (Sunday October 29 2017)

Taylor v Sanchez Big Fight Preview (Saturday October 28 2017)

Whyte Looking to March on Towards Wilder (Saturday October 28 2017)

Yafai Looking for a Victory and the US (Saturday October 28 2017)

Joshua v Takem Weigh-In News (Friday October 27 2017)

DeGale Makes Return to Ring in the UK (Friday October 27 2017)

Wilder Yearns for Joshua Match-Up (Friday October 27 2017)

Selby Ready for Warrington Challenge (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Flanagan Next for Linares? (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Whyte Faces Tough Test v Helenius (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Joshua’s First Choice Was Whyte (Monday October 23 2017)

Catterall Claims British Title (Monday October 23 2017)

Joyce Looking to Fight Sexton Next (Sunday October 22 2017)

Kelly Impresses on Burnett Under-Card (Sunday October 22 2017)

Hearn on AJ v Wilder (Sunday October 22 2017)

Heavyweight Joyce Wins Pro-Debut (Saturday October 21 2017)

Burnett v Zhakiyanov Saturday in Belfast (Thursday October 19 2017)

Saunders to Defend Title against Lemieux (Thursday October 19 2017)

Joshua in no rush to make US Debut (Wednesday October 18 2017)

New Opponent for Anthony Joshua (Tuesday October 17 2017)

Groves Stops Cox in 4 Rounds (Sunday October 15 2017)

DeGale Talks Groves Re-Match (Thursday October 12 2017)

Joshua Lashes Out at his Detractors (Tuesday October 10 2017)

Get Well Soon Gary (Monday October 9 2017)

Benn KO’s Clarke In 1st Round (Sunday October 8 2017)

Crolla Beats Burns on Points (Sunday October 8 2017)

RIP – Terry Downes (Saturday October 7 2017)

Eubank Jnr v Yildrim (WBSS) Tonight (Saturday October 7 2017)

Sexton Wins British Heavyweight Title (Saturday October 7 2017)

Will History Be Made Tonight? (Friday October 6 2017)

Manchester Arena Card – October 7 (Friday October 6 2017)

Crolla and Burns Ready to do Battle (Friday October 6 2017)

Corcoran to fight Horn for WBO Title (Thursday October 5 2017)

Frampton’s Comeback Opponent Named (Wednesday October 4 2017)

Is That It for Tyson Fury? (Wednesday October 4 2017)

Fielding Stops Brophy in Round One (Sunday October 1 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. Vital Merlin 31
10. eliza jhon 19

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Did the referee Stop the Joshua v Takem Fight too early?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 40%
No! 60%
Not Sure! 0%