Vital Boxing | A 4th World Title Chance for Macklin
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

A 4th World Title Chance for Macklin

Next month Matthew Macklin gets the chance to line up another world title shot.

Although Macklin has lost three out of his last six fights, it appears that a victory at the 3Arena, in Dublin, Ireland, will present Macklin with another crack at a world middleweight title.

If that’s so then Macklin will be taking on a fourth world title fight having lost the first three against Felix Sturm, Sergio Martinez and Gennady Golovkin.

Some would say it is a fourth shot that Macklin has, considering his recent record, done little to earn.

However, Macklin sees it as something of a last chance saloon when he strides out at the 3Arena on 15th November remarking,

“Golovkin is the best middleweight in the world, but I am confident I could beat any of the other fighters in the division.”

“I am so excited for the occasion of boxing in Ireland and also the fight, I underperformed in my last two fights but this one gets the juices going and it’s a big fight, he’s the champion and ranked above me so it’s a huge fight and I can’t wait.”

“Sebastian Zbik beat him [Heiland] in a very competitive fight in Germany, he’s a better fighter now and it’s a tough, tough fight, the fight I need at this stage and if I cannot beat him, then that’s it really, but I know I will beat him and it will set me up for a big 2015 where a World title shot will definitely come about.”

But will, if he gets his fourth world title chance, Macklin finally get what he desires, that elusive world title belt or has his chance been and gone?

Your thoughts would be greatly appreciated.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Wednesday October 15 2014

Time: 5:33PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Burns v Crolla - October 7th (Saturday August 12 2017)

Smith v Williams Venue Announced (Sunday August 6 2017)

Joshua Being Pushed Into a Corner (Friday August 4 2017)

Klitschko’s Retirement Video (Thursday August 3 2017)

Who Will Be Next for Joshua? (Thursday August 3 2017)

Will You Go PPV for the Big-Fight (Wednesday August 2 2017)

Garcia Outclasses Broner (Sunday July 30 2017)

Taylor Makes it 6 from 6 (Sunday July 30 2017)

Joshua Talks Mike Tyson (Saturday July 29 2017)

Frampton v Gutierrez Called Off (Saturday July 29 2017)

Tyson Fury Retires? (Thursday July 27 2017)

Ricky Burns v Josh Taylor? (Tuesday July 25 2017)

Linares Ordered to Face Campbell (Sunday July 23 2017)

Smith v Williams Re-Match Announced (Saturday July 22 2017)

Will Tyson Fury Fight Again? (Friday July 21 2017)

Flanagan v Verdejo Postponed (Friday July 21 2017)

Martin J Ward Makes History (Sunday July 16 2017)

Davies Jnr Loses to Syrowtka (Sunday July 16 2017)

Selby Beats Barros on Points (Sunday July 16 2017)

Haye Back in the Ring in December (Thursday July 13 2017)

Eubank Snr Courts Controversy (Thursday July 13 2017)

Pacquiao Set to Fight On (Thursday July 13 2017)

Brit Seeds Choose their Opponents (Monday July 10 2017)

More Taylor v Burns Talk (Monday July 10 2017)

Who Is Next for Ricky Burns? (Monday July 10 2017)

Taylor Wants Burns Fight Next (Monday July 10 2017)

Dubois Marches On (Sunday July 9 2017)

Skeete Retains British Title (Sunday July 9 2017)

Taylor Stops Davies in 7 Rounds (Sunday July 9 2017)

Pacquiao Requests WBO Review Fight (Wednesday July 5 2017)

Haye Retire? How Did You Vote? (Sunday July 2 2017)

Conlan Makes it 3 out of 3 (Sunday July 2 2017)

Buglioni Retains British Title (Sunday July 2 2017)

Summertime Brawl Running Order (Saturday July 1 2017)

Iron Mike Turns 51 (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins - Reactions (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins III Is On (Thursday June 29 2017)

Ward Hints at Bellew Fight (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Has Whyte Got Wilder Riled? (Sunday June 25 2017)

Josh Kelly – A New Star is Born (Sunday June 25 2017)

Copper Box Arena - July 8th Update (Thursday June 22 2017)

Is This Golovkin’s Last Fight? (Thursday June 22 2017)

Tyson Fury Let’s Rip Again (Thursday June 22 2017)

Brook Wants Another Fight in 2017 (Thursday June 22 2017)

Ward Beats Kovalev in Re-Match (Sunday June 18 2017)

Smith Loses Third World Title Bid (Sunday June 18 2017)

Wilder Arrested in Alabama (Friday June 16 2017)

The Circus Will Take Place (Thursday June 15 2017)

Haye Fined (Thursday June 15 2017)

Frampton Comeback Fight Confirmed (Wednesday June 14 2017)

Burnett Verdict to be changed (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Is Eubank Jnr the Best Super-Middleweight Out There?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 42%
No! 47%
Undecided! 11%