Vital Boxing | Witherspoon Issues Joshua Warning
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Witherspoon Issues Joshua Warning

Back in the late eighties I can recall venturing to Wembley Stadium to see Frank Bruno face Tim Witherspoon for the heavyweight title of the world.

The famous old stadium was full of vociferous Brits keen to see Bruno wrestle the title from the champion, but it wasn’t to be and Terrible Tim Witherspoon held on to his belt with a late stoppage of the gallant challenger.

Witherspoon, in defeating Frank, became public enemy #1 but now, at 56 years of age, he’s promoting his autobiography and also trying to give a few tips to help the latest British heavyweight hope, Anthony Joshua, achieve his dream of going all the way to the top.

Speaking about Joshua, Witherspoon ha shad this to say,

“From what I have seen of Anthony it is all attack and so far it’s working because no one can get close to him in the ring.”

“But as soon as that happens, he could be in for a big surprise and get tagged.”

“He needs to work on the defensive side of his game so he knows how to cope with a big puncher, which he will eventually face, gets through.”


In fact Witherspoon seems so keen to see Joshua succeed, adding,

“I’d love the chance to work with Anthony.”

“I bumped into him once on a train journey and he seems one of the nice guys”

“With my pedigree I have a lot to offer.”

“I don’t want to be in his corner, I just want to help him improve so he can get to the top.”

“He has all the attributes a present-day world heavyweight champion need – he’s big, strong, determined and above all powerful.”


Joshua returns to the ring, a week on Saturday, when he faces Michael Sprott, will Sprott become the first fighter to go past three rounds against this emerging young heavyweight hope?


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Thursday November 13 2014

Time: 4:46PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Brook Fancies Spence Job (Tuesday May 23 2017)

Whyte Pulls Out of Wach Fight (Wednesday May 17 2017)

Adams Wins in Round Two (Sunday May 14 2017)

Gavin Wins on Points (Sunday May 14 2017)

Wladimir Keeping Everyone Waiting (Saturday May 13 2017)

Tyson Fury Left in Limbo (Saturday May 13 2017)

Gavin in Last Chance Saloon (Monday May 8 2017)

Has Eddie Hearn Set the Trend? (Monday May 8 2017)

Tyson Fury Talks AJ (Sunday May 7 2017)

Alvarez Beats Chavez on Points (Sunday May 7 2017)

Parker Wants Joshua Fight (Friday May 5 2017)

Tyson Fury Won’t Come Back (Friday May 5 2017)

The US Can Wait (Friday May 5 2017)

AJ Wants UK Fights (Friday May 5 2017)

Joshua IBF Belt Relinquish Talk (Thursday May 4 2017)

Wilder Interested in Bellew Fight (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Khan Wants that Wembley Experience (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Khan Eyes November Ring Return (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Coming Soon to Vital Boxing (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Stepping on the Gas (Monday May 1 2017)

Hearn Talks Joshua (Monday May 1 2017)

Bellew Won’t Fight Joshua (Monday May 1 2017)

Cordina Wins in Round One (Monday May 1 2017)

Klitschko Wants Joshua Re-Match (Sunday April 30 2017)

You Voted for a Joshua Win (Sunday April 30 2017)

Joshua Wants Fury Fight (Sunday April 30 2017)

Wembley Stadium – Running Order (Saturday April 29 2017)

Vitali’s Backing Wladimir (Thursday April 27 2017)

Wladimir the Memory Stick Man (Thursday April 27 2017)

Lewis Tips Joshua to Win (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Is Tyson Fury on the way back? (Tuesday April 25 2017)

Hughie Fury v Joseph Parker Off (Monday April 24 2017)

Murray v Rosado – Liverpool Tonight (Saturday April 22 2017)

Joshua Ready for All-Comers (Saturday April 22 2017)

Conlan to Fight in Chicago (Thursday April 20 2017)

Fourth Time Lucky for Saint George? (Thursday April 20 2017)

Joshua and Fury in Social Network Blast (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Fury v Parker – Set for UK Move? (Sunday April 16 2017)

Okolie Makes It 2 KO’S out of 2 (Sunday April 16 2017)

The Views of the Boxers (Sunday April 16 2017)

Indongo Confident of Beating Burns (Friday April 14 2017)

Touting Rules the Roost (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Campbell Added to Wembley Show (Monday April 10 2017)

A Bad Week for Frampton (Sunday April 9 2017)

Selby Ordered to Fight Barros (Sunday April 9 2017)

What Next for Flanagan? (Sunday April 9 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 706
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 123
5. Fulham Badger 103
6. Kid Glove 76
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Josh Warrington v Kiko Martinez?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Warrington to Win! 50%
Martinez to Win! 50%
A Draw! 0%