Vital Boxing | Cleverly Talks Ahead of Bellew Clash
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Cleverly Talks Ahead of Bellew Clash

Ahead of the forthcoming domestic tear-up between Tony Bellew and Nathan Cleverly, it looks very much as if the Welshman has got that fire back in his belly.

Cleverly, who moved up to cruiserweight after losing his WBO light-heavyweight title to Sergey Kovalev, flirted with the idea of retirement following that loss. However, with Bellew looming large on the horizon Cleverly can see a dream being realized with the Welshman admitting,

'I've got a dream of becoming a two-weight champion. Win this fight and that dream is alive.'

At 27 years of age, Cleverly has time on his side but the Welsh fighter is perfectly aware that a loss, against Bellew, could be a savage career blow prompting Cleverly to admit,

'Both careers are on the line.”

'We've put ourselves on a pedestal. We've talked the talk. Who can deliver now?”

'Maybe for the loser it's time to walk away, but losing is not an option for me.'


Purists are hoping that it’ll be a classic fight but with all the insults and talk of hatred floating about there is the possibility that it could turn nasty.

Cleverly has listened to all the talk coming from Bellew about hating him but has remained calm and poised simply choosing to reply,

'I strongly dislike him. I wouldn't say I hate the guy - I don't want to waste that emotion on him.”

'The way he talks is very disrespectful. He's got a big mouth. He's a bully boy. “

'He's a big guy, he's got a big mouth and he tries to intimidate people.”

'My ambition is to go to his backyard and bully the bully boy.'


And as for the hatred possibly spoiling the fight, Cleverly is having nothing of it, further adding,

'I think at this level we won't waste too much energy on the hate and the grudge match.”

'I'm prepared for an all-round fight. Whether it's a slugfest early on, I'm ready for it. If it's boxing match, I'm ready for it. If it's a 12-round fight, I'm ready for that.”

'I'm ready for all outcomes but I can't see this going 12 rounds.”


And neither can I, but as for who is going to emerge the victor, it’s too close to call for me, but how about you?


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday November 18 2014

Time: 5:45PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Lewis Tips Joshua to Win (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Is Tyson Fury on the way back? (Tuesday April 25 2017)

Hughie Fury v Joseph Parker Off (Monday April 24 2017)

Murray v Rosado – Liverpool Tonight (Saturday April 22 2017)

Joshua Ready for All-Comers (Saturday April 22 2017)

Conlan to Fight in Chicago (Thursday April 20 2017)

Fourth Time Lucky for Saint George? (Thursday April 20 2017)

Joshua and Fury in Social Network Blast (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Fury v Parker – Set for UK Move? (Sunday April 16 2017)

Okolie Makes It 2 KO’S out of 2 (Sunday April 16 2017)

The Views of the Boxers (Sunday April 16 2017)

Indongo Confident of Beating Burns (Friday April 14 2017)

Touting Rules the Roost (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Campbell Added to Wembley Show (Monday April 10 2017)

A Bad Week for Frampton (Sunday April 9 2017)

Selby Ordered to Fight Barros (Sunday April 9 2017)

What Next for Flanagan? (Sunday April 9 2017)

It’s Huck v Breidis Tonight (Saturday April 1 2017)

Adams Set for Professional Debut (Saturday April 1 2017)

Kessler Set for Ring Return. (Saturday April 1 2017)

Saunders Gives Golovkin a Deadline (Tuesday March 28 2017)

McGoldrick Wins Professional Debut (Monday March 27 2017)

Crolla Soundly Beaten by Linares (Monday March 27 2017)

Okolie’s Super-Quick Debut KO (Monday March 27 2017)

Katie Taylor Makes It 4 out of 4 (Monday March 27 2017)

Brook v Spence Press Conference (Thursday March 23 2017)

Golovkin Wants Saunders Next (Monday March 20 2017)

Lee Wins on Ring Comeback. (Sunday March 19 2017)

Golovkin v Jacobs – Weigh-In (Saturday March 18 2017)

Conlan Wins on Professional Debut (Saturday March 18 2017)

Crolla Primed for His Big Night (Friday March 17 2017)

Bellew Requires Hand Surgery (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Burns Takes the Dangerous Option (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Barnes Wins on Points (Saturday March 11 2017)

Conlan Wins by Split Decision (Saturday March 11 2017)

Cleverly v Jack in the Pipeline? (Friday March 10 2017)

A 16 Boxer Shoot-Out (Friday March 10 2017)

Haye Willing to Pay Fine (Thursday March 9 2017)

Parker v Fury Date Confirmed (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Haye Set to Fight On (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Is Bellew Set to Call it a Day? (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Taylor Back in the Ring on March 25th (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Pacquiao v Khan ISN’T Happening (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Haye on Losing to Bellew (Sunday March 5 2017)

Bellew on Defeating Haye (Sunday March 5 2017)

Bellew Stops Haye in Round 11 (Sunday March 5 2017)

Selby Set to Become a Free Agent (Saturday March 4 2017)

Russian Heavyweight Povetkin Banned (Saturday March 4 2017)

O2 Arena, London – Line-Up (Friday March 3 2017)

Haye v Bellew – Weigh-In (Friday March 3 2017)

Messing With Our Heads (Thursday March 2 2017)

Fury Spotted (Wednesday March 1 2017)

Haye v Bellew – Referee (Wednesday March 1 2017)

BBBoC - Haye Ban Threat (Wednesday March 1 2017)

WBC Want Wilder v Stiverne II (Monday February 27 2017)

Bellew Lets Rip at Haye (Monday February 27 2017)

McDonnell v Vargas – What They Said (Sunday February 26 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 642
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 123
5. Fulham Badger 103
6. Kid Glove 73
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 17
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Joshua v Klitschko - Who Wins?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Joshua! 80%
Klitschko! 20%
Too Close to Call! 0%