Vital Boxing | Saunders Gets Split Decision Over Eubank
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Saunders Gets Split Decision Over Eubank

The main supporting fight at the ExCel Area, in London, last night saw Billy Joe Saunders defend his British, European and Commonwealth titles against his big rival Chris Eubank Junior.

The fight was a cracker with Saunders taking the verdict on a split decision, with the scores being given out as:-

• 115-114 (in favour of Saunders)
• 115-113 (in favour of Saunders)
• 116-113 (in favour of Eubank)

Saunders got off to the better start, taking the early rounds as the challenger, at first, seemed a little over-awed by the occasion. However, Eubank slowly warmed to the task and began to claw his way back into the fight.

With the action ebbing and flowing, Eubank knew he probably had to stop his man in the latter rounds and almost did with Saunders being wobbled by several hefty blows.

After the action had ended, both fighters spoke to the media, with Saunders remarking,

'He had a good work-rate but it was a bit too slow in the early rounds. I'm ready for a world title. And when I get the world title, I'll give him the first shot.'

A magnanimous gesture considering they were at each other’s throats in the build-up.

As for Eubank, he showed that he can operate at this level, commenting,

'It was a close fight. He did what I thought he would do. He boxed to plan in the early rounds but then I thought I overtook him. But I'll be back.'

The result leaves Saunders with a record of 21-0 with the middleweight expected to take on the winner of the forthcoming bout between Andy Lee and Russia's Matt Korobov on 13 December for the WBO title.

Meanwhile, Eubank Junior still has time on his side and with his record now standing at 18-1 will be looking at a comeback route to get back in at a level he now knows he can box at.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday November 30 2014

Time: 1:24PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Smith v Williams Re-Match Announced (Saturday July 22 2017)

Will Tyson Fury Fight Again? (Friday July 21 2017)

Flanagan v Verdejo Postponed (Friday July 21 2017)

Martin J Ward Makes History (Sunday July 16 2017)

Davies Jnr Loses to Syrowtka (Sunday July 16 2017)

Selby Beats Barros on Points (Sunday July 16 2017)

Haye Back in the Ring in December (Thursday July 13 2017)

Eubank Snr Courts Controversy (Thursday July 13 2017)

Pacquiao Set to Fight On (Thursday July 13 2017)

Brit Seeds Choose their Opponents (Monday July 10 2017)

More Taylor v Burns Talk (Monday July 10 2017)

Who Is Next for Ricky Burns? (Monday July 10 2017)

Taylor Wants Burns Fight Next (Monday July 10 2017)

Dubois Marches On (Sunday July 9 2017)

Skeete Retains British Title (Sunday July 9 2017)

Taylor Stops Davies in 7 Rounds (Sunday July 9 2017)

Pacquiao Requests WBO Review Fight (Wednesday July 5 2017)

Haye Retire? How Did You Vote? (Sunday July 2 2017)

Conlan Makes it 3 out of 3 (Sunday July 2 2017)

Buglioni Retains British Title (Sunday July 2 2017)

Summertime Brawl Running Order (Saturday July 1 2017)

Iron Mike Turns 51 (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins - Reactions (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins III Is On (Thursday June 29 2017)

Ward Hints at Bellew Fight (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Has Whyte Got Wilder Riled? (Sunday June 25 2017)

Josh Kelly – A New Star is Born (Sunday June 25 2017)

Copper Box Arena - July 8th Update (Thursday June 22 2017)

Is This Golovkin’s Last Fight? (Thursday June 22 2017)

Tyson Fury Let’s Rip Again (Thursday June 22 2017)

Brook Wants Another Fight in 2017 (Thursday June 22 2017)

Ward Beats Kovalev in Re-Match (Sunday June 18 2017)

Smith Loses Third World Title Bid (Sunday June 18 2017)

Wilder Arrested in Alabama (Friday June 16 2017)

The Circus Will Take Place (Thursday June 15 2017)

Haye Fined (Thursday June 15 2017)

Frampton Comeback Fight Confirmed (Wednesday June 14 2017)

Burnett Verdict to be changed (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Burnett v Haskins – Quote Fest (Sunday June 11 2017)

A Truly Shocking Verdict (Sunday June 11 2017)

Make Your Mind Up Wladimir (Saturday June 10 2017)

Bellew Set for Conte Bout Next? (Saturday June 10 2017)

Whyte Headed for the US (Saturday June 10 2017)

DeGale Disrespects Groves (Thursday June 8 2017)

Good News for AJ (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Frampton Set for July Comeback (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Tyson's Views on AJ (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Buatsi Turns Professional (Monday June 5 2017)

Crolla Talks Manchester Arena (Sunday June 4 2017)

Should Haye Call It a Day? (Sunday June 4 2017)

Haye Splits from McGuigan (Saturday June 3 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Is Eubank Jnr the Best Super-Middleweight Out There?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 72%
No! 28%
Undecided! 0%