Vital Boxing | How Mandatory is Mandatory?
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

How Mandatory is Mandatory?

It is I知 sure you値l agree an intriguing question.

On Saturday night at the ExCel Arena, in London, Tyson Fury brushed aside the challenge of Dereck Chisora to earn a world title shot at Wladimir Klitschko.

Frank Warren confirmed, after the fight, he値l be pursuing the Ukrainian champion with a view to getting the fight on.

However, news is breaking that Klitschko is looking at his next fight being against the unbeaten American, Bryant Jennings.

Jennings has registered 19 wins with 10 coming by way of knockout, a record that is far inferior to the current golden heavyweight hope across the pond, Deontay Wilder.

Its suggested that the fight could take place on 25th April at either Madison Square Garden or the Barclay Center in New York.

The fight would also be the second of a three fight deal with HBO, a deal which leads me on to my original question.

If Fury is to get his world title shot against Wladimir, would it be a fight that appeals to HBO?

It is a challenging question, I doubt whether HBO would be preferred to sanction the bout in London but with Fury痴 Irish background, could it appeal to the Irish American community, although that would mean tempting Wladimir away from his German fortress for a second successive time.

It痴 all going to get complicated, you mark my words!


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Wednesday December 3 2014

Time: 6:36PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Brook Not on the Slide (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Brook Fancies Spence Job (Tuesday May 23 2017)

Whyte Pulls Out of Wach Fight (Wednesday May 17 2017)

Adams Wins in Round Two (Sunday May 14 2017)

Gavin Wins on Points (Sunday May 14 2017)

Wladimir Keeping Everyone Waiting (Saturday May 13 2017)

Tyson Fury Left in Limbo (Saturday May 13 2017)

Gavin in Last Chance Saloon (Monday May 8 2017)

Has Eddie Hearn Set the Trend? (Monday May 8 2017)

Tyson Fury Talks AJ (Sunday May 7 2017)

Alvarez Beats Chavez on Points (Sunday May 7 2017)

Parker Wants Joshua Fight (Friday May 5 2017)

Tyson Fury Won稚 Come Back (Friday May 5 2017)

Happy Birthday Duke McKenzie (Friday May 5 2017)

The US Can Wait (Friday May 5 2017)

AJ Wants UK Fights (Friday May 5 2017)

Joshua IBF Belt Relinquish Talk (Thursday May 4 2017)

Wilder Interested in Bellew Fight (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Khan Wants that Wembley Experience (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Khan Eyes November Ring Return (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Coming Soon to Vital Boxing (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Stepping on the Gas (Monday May 1 2017)

Hearn Talks Joshua (Monday May 1 2017)

Bellew Won稚 Fight Joshua (Monday May 1 2017)

Cordina Wins in Round One (Monday May 1 2017)

Klitschko Wants Joshua Re-Match (Sunday April 30 2017)

You Voted for a Joshua Win (Sunday April 30 2017)

Joshua Wants Fury Fight (Sunday April 30 2017)

Joshua KO痴 Klitschko in Round 11 (Sunday April 30 2017)

Wembley Stadium Running Order (Saturday April 29 2017)

Vitali痴 Backing Wladimir (Thursday April 27 2017)

Wladimir the Memory Stick Man (Thursday April 27 2017)

Lewis Tips Joshua to Win (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Is Tyson Fury on the way back? (Tuesday April 25 2017)

Hughie Fury v Joseph Parker Off (Monday April 24 2017)

Murray v Rosado Liverpool Tonight (Saturday April 22 2017)

Joshua Ready for All-Comers (Saturday April 22 2017)

Conlan to Fight in Chicago (Thursday April 20 2017)

Fourth Time Lucky for Saint George? (Thursday April 20 2017)

Joshua and Fury in Social Network Blast (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Fury v Parker Set for UK Move? (Sunday April 16 2017)

Okolie Makes It 2 KO担 out of 2 (Sunday April 16 2017)

The Views of the Boxers (Sunday April 16 2017)

Indongo Confident of Beating Burns (Friday April 14 2017)

Touting Rules the Roost (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Campbell Added to Wembley Show (Monday April 10 2017)

A Bad Week for Frampton (Sunday April 9 2017)

Selby Ordered to Fight Barros (Sunday April 9 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 706
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 123
5. Fulham Badger 103
6. Kid Glove 76
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Josh Warrington v Kiko Martinez?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Warrington to Win! 50%
Martinez to Win! 50%
A Draw! 0%