Vital Boxing | Hearn’s Beating the Brook Drum!
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Hearn’s Beating the Brook Drum!

As Amir Khan’s fight with Devon Alexander draws nearer, Eddie Hearn has already started to sow the seeds with regards to an IBF welterweight fight with his charge Kell Brook.

Hearn, like many of us, is of the opinion that Amir is wasting his time hanging his hopes on a 2015 showdown with Floyd Mayweather Junior and that the Bolton fighter should sign up for a domestic tear up with his rival from Sheffield.

Talking to the media, Hearn had this to say about Mayweather, Khan and Brook, remarking to the media,

“I just don’t see Floyd Mayweather Junior fighting Amir Khan when it’s a tough fight for Mayweather stylistically.”

“I just can’t see it and if that’s the case, Amir Khan is left with a fight with Kell Brook.”

“The only problem is agreeing the purse split. Kell Brook is a world champion, Amir Khan is the bigger name, so I think 50-50 is right. But Amir Khan doesn’t agree it’s a 50-50 split.”

“It would make him more money than fighting Mayweather. Floyd Mayweather doesn’t like paying opponents more than $2 million, so what’s Khan going to get - $3 million, $4 million tops? He can make much more fighting Kell Brook.”

“Both guys could earn in excess of £3 million each and I’ve already offered Khan $5 million for the fight. He said no and said who was I to offer him a purse?”

“If they want to make an offer go ahead. I don’t care if it’s promoted by Matchroom, Oscar De La Hoya or Sid Snott.”

“I just want to see Kell Brook knockout Amir Khan and make a lot of money.”

“It’s a natural Wembley fight and it’s just his ego getting in the way.”


Yes Wembley does seem to be the natural venue but I also feel that Brook needs Khan more than Khan needs Brook.

Will it happen?

Yes, but quite probably on Khan’s terms, sometime at the back end of next summer once Mayweather announces he’s going to lock horns with Manny Pacquiao.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Thursday December 11 2014

Time: 6:51PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Brook Not on the Slide (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Brook Fancies Spence Job (Tuesday May 23 2017)

Whyte Pulls Out of Wach Fight (Wednesday May 17 2017)

Adams Wins in Round Two (Sunday May 14 2017)

Gavin Wins on Points (Sunday May 14 2017)

Wladimir Keeping Everyone Waiting (Saturday May 13 2017)

Tyson Fury Left in Limbo (Saturday May 13 2017)

Gavin in Last Chance Saloon (Monday May 8 2017)

Has Eddie Hearn Set the Trend? (Monday May 8 2017)

Tyson Fury Talks AJ (Sunday May 7 2017)

Alvarez Beats Chavez on Points (Sunday May 7 2017)

Parker Wants Joshua Fight (Friday May 5 2017)

Tyson Fury Won’t Come Back (Friday May 5 2017)

The US Can Wait (Friday May 5 2017)

AJ Wants UK Fights (Friday May 5 2017)

Joshua IBF Belt Relinquish Talk (Thursday May 4 2017)

Wilder Interested in Bellew Fight (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Khan Wants that Wembley Experience (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Khan Eyes November Ring Return (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Coming Soon to Vital Boxing (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Stepping on the Gas (Monday May 1 2017)

Hearn Talks Joshua (Monday May 1 2017)

Bellew Won’t Fight Joshua (Monday May 1 2017)

Cordina Wins in Round One (Monday May 1 2017)

Klitschko Wants Joshua Re-Match (Sunday April 30 2017)

You Voted for a Joshua Win (Sunday April 30 2017)

Joshua Wants Fury Fight (Sunday April 30 2017)

Wembley Stadium – Running Order (Saturday April 29 2017)

Vitali’s Backing Wladimir (Thursday April 27 2017)

Wladimir the Memory Stick Man (Thursday April 27 2017)

Lewis Tips Joshua to Win (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Is Tyson Fury on the way back? (Tuesday April 25 2017)

Hughie Fury v Joseph Parker Off (Monday April 24 2017)

Murray v Rosado – Liverpool Tonight (Saturday April 22 2017)

Joshua Ready for All-Comers (Saturday April 22 2017)

Conlan to Fight in Chicago (Thursday April 20 2017)

Fourth Time Lucky for Saint George? (Thursday April 20 2017)

Joshua and Fury in Social Network Blast (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Fury v Parker – Set for UK Move? (Sunday April 16 2017)

Okolie Makes It 2 KO’S out of 2 (Sunday April 16 2017)

The Views of the Boxers (Sunday April 16 2017)

Indongo Confident of Beating Burns (Friday April 14 2017)

Touting Rules the Roost (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Campbell Added to Wembley Show (Monday April 10 2017)

A Bad Week for Frampton (Sunday April 9 2017)

Selby Ordered to Fight Barros (Sunday April 9 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 706
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 123
5. Fulham Badger 103
6. Kid Glove 76
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Josh Warrington v Kiko Martinez?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Warrington to Win! 50%
Martinez to Win! 50%
A Draw! 0%