Vital Boxing | Khan Discusses His Next Option
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Khan Discusses His Next Option

But can his team pull this one off?

Following the impressive manner of his display at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas when he totally out-boxed Devon Alexander, Amir Khan is now putting that pedal down hard in order to achieve a mega-fight against either Floyd Mayweather Junior or his former stable-mate Manny Pacquiao.

Talking to the media, after his storming Saturday night success, Amir was in a positive frame of mind, as you’d expect, remarking,

'I feel better at 28 than I did at 26.”

'I'm hitting my peak and getting better as a fighter. I can't wait to show the world what I have.'


But, with rumours that Mayweather now wants a showdown with Pacquiao, on the May 2nd date already selected by Mayweather for his next fight, Amir might have to put his plans on hold or possibly step into the breach when negotiations between the Mayweather and Pacquiao fall apart, as they have done in the past, or as Oscar De La Hoya, of Golden Boy Promotions puts it,

“What’s the plan B for Mayweather then? What’s the fight that Mayweather needs? It’s Amir Khan.”

For Amir it has to be the May date, the next date Mayweather has pencilled in clashes with the Ramadan festival and is a date that, due to his religious beliefs, Khan will not commit to.

But remaining on the subject of Mayweather, Khan further added,

'Stylistically, I think that Mayweather does not want me because I have that style which causes him big problems.”

'But it's up to Mayweather now. The ball is in his court. I'll leave it to my team and him to get that fight done.”

'It's a fight that the British crowd and boxing fans want so why don't we get it done now?'


And on a possible clash with his former stable-mate, he also commented,

'If Mayweather doesn't want it then I think Manny Pacquiao is a great name. We trained together and there is a great storyline there.”

'The Kell Brook fight will always be there. At the moment, I want to catch the right guys - the likes of Mayweather and Pacquiao.

'How long are they going to be in the sport for and at the top of their game?'


An interesting final comment don’t you think!


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday December 15 2014

Time: 5:53PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Brook Back in Action in March 2018 (Monday December 11 2017)

DeGale Loses World Title to Truax (Sunday December 10 2017)

Haye v Bellew II – 5 May 2018 Confirmed (Wednesday December 6 2017)

DeGale Tips Groves to Beat Eubank Jnr (Sunday December 3 2017)

Price Gets Back to Winning Ways (Sunday December 3 2017)

Ortiz Escapes WBC Ban (Sunday December 3 2017)

Cotto's Career End in Defeat (Sunday December 3 2017)

Hearn Rejects 65-35 Purse Split Offer (Thursday November 23 2017)

Haye v Bellew Re-Match – Postponed (Tuesday November 21 2017)

Conlan World Title Bid Ends in Defeat (Sunday November 19 2017)

Frampton Beats Garcia on Points (Sunday November 19 2017)

Frampton’s Illustrious Ringside Company (Thursday November 16 2017)

DeGale and Selby Opponents Named (Wednesday November 15 2017)

Benn Makes Successful Debut on US Soil (Tuesday November 14 2017)

Taylor KO's Vazquez in 9 Rounds (Sunday November 12 2017)

Smith Beats Williams on Points (Sunday November 12 2017)

Smith v Williams - The Re-Match (Friday November 10 2017)

2018 Will See Joshua v Wilder (Friday November 10 2017)

Wilder Would Travel to the UK to Face AJ (Thursday November 9 2017)

McDonnell v Solis Fight Report (Sunday November 5 2017)

Wilder Calls Out Anthony Joshua (Sunday November 5 2017)

Wilder v Stiverne Weigh-In (Saturday November 4 2017)

Disappointment for Dillian Whyte? (Friday November 3 2017)

Tyson Fury v Shannon Briggs? (Friday November 3 2017)

Chisora looking for World Title Fight (Wednesday November 1 2017)

World Champ Taylor Set for Dec 15 Fight (Wednesday November 1 2017)

Whyte beats Helenius on Points (Sunday October 29 2017)

Joshua Stops Takem in Round 10 (Sunday October 29 2017)

Taylor v Sanchez Big Fight Preview (Saturday October 28 2017)

Whyte Looking to March on Towards Wilder (Saturday October 28 2017)

Yafai Looking for a Victory and the US (Saturday October 28 2017)

Joshua v Takem Weigh-In News (Friday October 27 2017)

DeGale Makes Return to Ring in the UK (Friday October 27 2017)

Wilder Yearns for Joshua Match-Up (Friday October 27 2017)

Selby Ready for Warrington Challenge (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Flanagan Next for Linares? (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Whyte Faces Tough Test v Helenius (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Joshua’s First Choice Was Whyte (Monday October 23 2017)

Catterall Claims British Title (Monday October 23 2017)

Joyce Looking to Fight Sexton Next (Sunday October 22 2017)

Kelly Impresses on Burnett Under-Card (Sunday October 22 2017)

Hearn on AJ v Wilder (Sunday October 22 2017)

Heavyweight Joyce Wins Pro-Debut (Saturday October 21 2017)

Burnett v Zhakiyanov Saturday in Belfast (Thursday October 19 2017)

Saunders to Defend Title against Lemieux (Thursday October 19 2017)

Joshua in no rush to make US Debut (Wednesday October 18 2017)

New Opponent for Anthony Joshua (Tuesday October 17 2017)

Groves Stops Cox in 4 Rounds (Sunday October 15 2017)

DeGale Talks Groves Re-Match (Thursday October 12 2017)

Joshua Lashes Out at his Detractors (Tuesday October 10 2017)

Get Well Soon Gary (Monday October 9 2017)

Benn KO’s Clarke In 1st Round (Sunday October 8 2017)

Crolla Beats Burns on Points (Sunday October 8 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. Vital Merlin 39
9. hogeyman 31
10. eliza jhon 19

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Did the referee Stop the Joshua v Takem Fight too early?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 34%
No! 66%
Not Sure! 0%