Vital Boxing | Khan Discusses His Next Option
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Khan Discusses His Next Option

But can his team pull this one off?

Following the impressive manner of his display at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas when he totally out-boxed Devon Alexander, Amir Khan is now putting that pedal down hard in order to achieve a mega-fight against either Floyd Mayweather Junior or his former stable-mate Manny Pacquiao.

Talking to the media, after his storming Saturday night success, Amir was in a positive frame of mind, as you’d expect, remarking,

'I feel better at 28 than I did at 26.”

'I'm hitting my peak and getting better as a fighter. I can't wait to show the world what I have.'


But, with rumours that Mayweather now wants a showdown with Pacquiao, on the May 2nd date already selected by Mayweather for his next fight, Amir might have to put his plans on hold or possibly step into the breach when negotiations between the Mayweather and Pacquiao fall apart, as they have done in the past, or as Oscar De La Hoya, of Golden Boy Promotions puts it,

“What’s the plan B for Mayweather then? What’s the fight that Mayweather needs? It’s Amir Khan.”

For Amir it has to be the May date, the next date Mayweather has pencilled in clashes with the Ramadan festival and is a date that, due to his religious beliefs, Khan will not commit to.

But remaining on the subject of Mayweather, Khan further added,

'Stylistically, I think that Mayweather does not want me because I have that style which causes him big problems.”

'But it's up to Mayweather now. The ball is in his court. I'll leave it to my team and him to get that fight done.”

'It's a fight that the British crowd and boxing fans want so why don't we get it done now?'


And on a possible clash with his former stable-mate, he also commented,

'If Mayweather doesn't want it then I think Manny Pacquiao is a great name. We trained together and there is a great storyline there.”

'The Kell Brook fight will always be there. At the moment, I want to catch the right guys - the likes of Mayweather and Pacquiao.

'How long are they going to be in the sport for and at the top of their game?'


An interesting final comment don’t you think!


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Monday December 15 2014

Time: 5:53PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Whyte Wins on US Debut (Sunday August 20 2017)

Frampton Looking for NEW Opponent (Friday August 18 2017)

Burns v Crolla - October 7th (Saturday August 12 2017)

Smith v Williams Venue Announced (Sunday August 6 2017)

Joshua Being Pushed Into a Corner (Friday August 4 2017)

Klitschko’s Retirement Video (Thursday August 3 2017)

Who Will Be Next for Joshua? (Thursday August 3 2017)

Will You Go PPV for the Big-Fight (Wednesday August 2 2017)

Garcia Outclasses Broner (Sunday July 30 2017)

Taylor Makes it 6 from 6 (Sunday July 30 2017)

Joshua Talks Mike Tyson (Saturday July 29 2017)

Frampton v Gutierrez Called Off (Saturday July 29 2017)

Tyson Fury Retires? (Thursday July 27 2017)

Ricky Burns v Josh Taylor? (Tuesday July 25 2017)

Linares Ordered to Face Campbell (Sunday July 23 2017)

Smith v Williams Re-Match Announced (Saturday July 22 2017)

Will Tyson Fury Fight Again? (Friday July 21 2017)

Flanagan v Verdejo Postponed (Friday July 21 2017)

Martin J Ward Makes History (Sunday July 16 2017)

Davies Jnr Loses to Syrowtka (Sunday July 16 2017)

Selby Beats Barros on Points (Sunday July 16 2017)

Haye Back in the Ring in December (Thursday July 13 2017)

Eubank Snr Courts Controversy (Thursday July 13 2017)

Pacquiao Set to Fight On (Thursday July 13 2017)

Brit Seeds Choose their Opponents (Monday July 10 2017)

More Taylor v Burns Talk (Monday July 10 2017)

Who Is Next for Ricky Burns? (Monday July 10 2017)

Taylor Wants Burns Fight Next (Monday July 10 2017)

Dubois Marches On (Sunday July 9 2017)

Skeete Retains British Title (Sunday July 9 2017)

Taylor Stops Davies in 7 Rounds (Sunday July 9 2017)

Pacquiao Requests WBO Review Fight (Wednesday July 5 2017)

Haye Retire? How Did You Vote? (Sunday July 2 2017)

Conlan Makes it 3 out of 3 (Sunday July 2 2017)

Buglioni Retains British Title (Sunday July 2 2017)

Summertime Brawl Running Order (Saturday July 1 2017)

Iron Mike Turns 51 (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins - Reactions (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins III Is On (Thursday June 29 2017)

Ward Hints at Bellew Fight (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Has Whyte Got Wilder Riled? (Sunday June 25 2017)

Josh Kelly – A New Star is Born (Sunday June 25 2017)

Copper Box Arena - July 8th Update (Thursday June 22 2017)

Is This Golovkin’s Last Fight? (Thursday June 22 2017)

Tyson Fury Let’s Rip Again (Thursday June 22 2017)

Brook Wants Another Fight in 2017 (Thursday June 22 2017)

Ward Beats Kovalev in Re-Match (Sunday June 18 2017)

Smith Loses Third World Title Bid (Sunday June 18 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Mayweather v McGregor?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Mayweather all day long! 100%
McGregor to cause an upset! 0%
A dignified draw! 0%