Vital Boxing | Golovkin = Monte Carlo and bust for Murray
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Golovkin = Monte Carlo and bust for Murray

WBA, IBO and interim WBC middleweight champion Gennady Golovkin is the nearest thing in the fight game to the pre-Buster Douglas Mike Tyson.

The 32 year-old Kazakh, unbeaten in 31 bouts and with the highest knockout record (90.3%) among current fighters - until heavyweight Deontay Wilder won again just last month – simply can’t get anyone in America to answer his calls. Cotto, Alvarez, Froch, Cesar Chavez Jr, all seem otherwise engaged.

Those who do fight him seem to lose most of their ambition on the way into the ring – as was the way with the opponents of the once Iron Mike - such is smiling assassin Golovkin’s fearsome persona and pedigree.

Enter pride of St Helens, Martin Murray. He comes face to face with Golovkin at the Salle des Étoiles in Monte Carlo at 5.45pm today (Saturday). Even though he doesn't have what they call “name recognition” in the USA, those in the know over here have seen and heard enough to mutter that this isn't a fight GGG (as he is known) can take lightly.

Maybe not, but the only direct form line between the two is Italy’s Domenico Spada who Murray beat by a “sloppy” TKO decision in the seventh round of their fight – also on the French Riviera - in October. Spada was previously stopped in the tenth by Marco Antionio Rubio in an interim belt fight; Golvokin ”blew away” Rubio in the second round of his encounter also in October.

All sensible signs point to Murray being a staunch though ultimately outclassed opponent for the impatient Golovkin as he briefly detours to Monaco on his way to greater things.

In the event of defeat, the estimated £1 million Murray is picking up for the ‘privilege’ of taking on GGG may go a little way to softening the blow.

by Stan Wenners



The Journalist

Writer: Stan Wenners Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Saturday February 21 2015

Time: 7:02PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Has Whyte Got Wilder Riled? (Sunday June 25 2017)

Josh Kelly – A New Star is Born (Sunday June 25 2017)

Copper Box Arena - July 8th Update (Thursday June 22 2017)

Is This Golovkin’s Last Fight? (Thursday June 22 2017)

Tyson Fury Let’s Rip Again (Thursday June 22 2017)

Brook Wants Another Fight in 2017 (Thursday June 22 2017)

Ward Beats Kovalev in Re-Match (Sunday June 18 2017)

Smith Loses Third World Title Bid (Sunday June 18 2017)

Wilder Arrested in Alabama (Friday June 16 2017)

The Circus Will Take Place (Thursday June 15 2017)

Haye Fined (Thursday June 15 2017)

Frampton Comeback Fight Confirmed (Wednesday June 14 2017)

Burnett Verdict to be changed (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Burnett v Haskins – Quote Fest (Sunday June 11 2017)

A Truly Shocking Verdict (Sunday June 11 2017)

Make Your Mind Up Wladimir (Saturday June 10 2017)

Bellew Set for Conte Bout Next? (Saturday June 10 2017)

Whyte Headed for the US (Saturday June 10 2017)

DeGale Disrespects Groves (Thursday June 8 2017)

Good News for AJ (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Frampton Set for July Comeback (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Tyson's Views on AJ (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Buatsi Turns Professional (Monday June 5 2017)

Crolla Talks Manchester Arena (Sunday June 4 2017)

Should Haye Call It a Day? (Sunday June 4 2017)

Haye Splits from McGuigan (Saturday June 3 2017)

Conor Benn Set for Ring Return (Saturday June 3 2017)

Eubank Jnr v Abraham Draws Nearer (Saturday June 3 2017)

Words of Wisdom from Klitschko (Saturday June 3 2017)

Eubank Jnr Set for Abraham Fight (Thursday June 1 2017)

Bramall Lane Running Order Tonight (Saturday May 27 2017)

Conlan Wins by TKO (Saturday May 27 2017)

Ingle Talks Brook (Thursday May 25 2017)

Fury Left Feeling Frustrated (Thursday May 25 2017)

Porter’s Sour Grapes (Thursday May 25 2017)

Brook Not on the Slide (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Brook Fancies Spence Job (Tuesday May 23 2017)

Whyte Pulls Out of Wach Fight (Wednesday May 17 2017)

Adams Wins in Round Two (Sunday May 14 2017)

Gavin Wins on Points (Sunday May 14 2017)

Wladimir Keeping Everyone Waiting (Saturday May 13 2017)

Tyson Fury Left in Limbo (Saturday May 13 2017)

Gavin in Last Chance Saloon (Monday May 8 2017)

Has Eddie Hearn Set the Trend? (Monday May 8 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 130
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Should David Haye Call It a Day?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 45%
No! 55%
Not Sure! 0%