Vital Boxing | Golovkin = Monte Carlo and bust for Murray
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Golovkin = Monte Carlo and bust for Murray

WBA, IBO and interim WBC middleweight champion Gennady Golovkin is the nearest thing in the fight game to the pre-Buster Douglas Mike Tyson.

The 32 year-old Kazakh, unbeaten in 31 bouts and with the highest knockout record (90.3%) among current fighters - until heavyweight Deontay Wilder won again just last month – simply can’t get anyone in America to answer his calls. Cotto, Alvarez, Froch, Cesar Chavez Jr, all seem otherwise engaged.

Those who do fight him seem to lose most of their ambition on the way into the ring – as was the way with the opponents of the once Iron Mike - such is smiling assassin Golovkin’s fearsome persona and pedigree.

Enter pride of St Helens, Martin Murray. He comes face to face with Golovkin at the Salle des Étoiles in Monte Carlo at 5.45pm today (Saturday). Even though he doesn't have what they call “name recognition” in the USA, those in the know over here have seen and heard enough to mutter that this isn't a fight GGG (as he is known) can take lightly.

Maybe not, but the only direct form line between the two is Italy’s Domenico Spada who Murray beat by a “sloppy” TKO decision in the seventh round of their fight – also on the French Riviera - in October. Spada was previously stopped in the tenth by Marco Antionio Rubio in an interim belt fight; Golvokin ”blew away” Rubio in the second round of his encounter also in October.

All sensible signs point to Murray being a staunch though ultimately outclassed opponent for the impatient Golovkin as he briefly detours to Monaco on his way to greater things.

In the event of defeat, the estimated £1 million Murray is picking up for the ‘privilege’ of taking on GGG may go a little way to softening the blow.

by Stan Wenners



The Journalist

Writer: Stan Wenners Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Saturday February 21 2015

Time: 7:02PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Burns v Crolla - October 7th (Saturday August 12 2017)

Smith v Williams Venue Announced (Sunday August 6 2017)

Joshua Being Pushed Into a Corner (Friday August 4 2017)

Klitschko’s Retirement Video (Thursday August 3 2017)

Who Will Be Next for Joshua? (Thursday August 3 2017)

Will You Go PPV for the Big-Fight (Wednesday August 2 2017)

Garcia Outclasses Broner (Sunday July 30 2017)

Taylor Makes it 6 from 6 (Sunday July 30 2017)

Joshua Talks Mike Tyson (Saturday July 29 2017)

Frampton v Gutierrez Called Off (Saturday July 29 2017)

Tyson Fury Retires? (Thursday July 27 2017)

Ricky Burns v Josh Taylor? (Tuesday July 25 2017)

Linares Ordered to Face Campbell (Sunday July 23 2017)

Smith v Williams Re-Match Announced (Saturday July 22 2017)

Will Tyson Fury Fight Again? (Friday July 21 2017)

Flanagan v Verdejo Postponed (Friday July 21 2017)

Martin J Ward Makes History (Sunday July 16 2017)

Davies Jnr Loses to Syrowtka (Sunday July 16 2017)

Selby Beats Barros on Points (Sunday July 16 2017)

Haye Back in the Ring in December (Thursday July 13 2017)

Eubank Snr Courts Controversy (Thursday July 13 2017)

Pacquiao Set to Fight On (Thursday July 13 2017)

Brit Seeds Choose their Opponents (Monday July 10 2017)

More Taylor v Burns Talk (Monday July 10 2017)

Who Is Next for Ricky Burns? (Monday July 10 2017)

Taylor Wants Burns Fight Next (Monday July 10 2017)

Dubois Marches On (Sunday July 9 2017)

Skeete Retains British Title (Sunday July 9 2017)

Taylor Stops Davies in 7 Rounds (Sunday July 9 2017)

Pacquiao Requests WBO Review Fight (Wednesday July 5 2017)

Haye Retire? How Did You Vote? (Sunday July 2 2017)

Conlan Makes it 3 out of 3 (Sunday July 2 2017)

Buglioni Retains British Title (Sunday July 2 2017)

Summertime Brawl Running Order (Saturday July 1 2017)

Iron Mike Turns 51 (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins - Reactions (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins III Is On (Thursday June 29 2017)

Ward Hints at Bellew Fight (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Has Whyte Got Wilder Riled? (Sunday June 25 2017)

Josh Kelly – A New Star is Born (Sunday June 25 2017)

Copper Box Arena - July 8th Update (Thursday June 22 2017)

Is This Golovkin’s Last Fight? (Thursday June 22 2017)

Tyson Fury Let’s Rip Again (Thursday June 22 2017)

Brook Wants Another Fight in 2017 (Thursday June 22 2017)

Ward Beats Kovalev in Re-Match (Sunday June 18 2017)

Smith Loses Third World Title Bid (Sunday June 18 2017)

Wilder Arrested in Alabama (Friday June 16 2017)

The Circus Will Take Place (Thursday June 15 2017)

Haye Fined (Thursday June 15 2017)

Frampton Comeback Fight Confirmed (Wednesday June 14 2017)

Burnett Verdict to be changed (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Is Eubank Jnr the Best Super-Middleweight Out There?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 42%
No! 47%
Undecided! 11%