Vital Boxing | Fury Stops Hammer in Eight Rounds
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Fury Stops Hammer in Eight Rounds

But was it the kind of performance we hoped for?

Headlining the show at the O2 Arena, in London, Tyson Fury, in facing Christian Hammer, knew that he was putting his WBO mandatory challenger status on the line against the unbeaten German based Romanian fighter, and it kind of showed in his performance.

Entering the ring to the strange sight of an Elvis impersonator singing , Tyson Fury looked an imposing figure and the action was soon underway.

Round 1 - Cagey stuff early on with Fury dancing around the ring, trying to draw Hammer onto him but catching the Romanian with his jab courtesy of his huge reach advantage. Fury finished the round with a decent right-left combination to catch the eye of the judges.

Round 2 - Fury continued to keep Hammer at distance, jabbing away with accuracy before landing an upper-cut that ensured he round belonged to him.

Round 3 - Hammer was getting frustrated, looking for the big-shot but unable to get close enough. Eventually Hammer did land a right on Fury but the Mancunian responded with a burst of punches before retreating out of range.

Round 4 - A lull in what little action we had seen earlier with Fury content to just jab away keeping Hammer at bay.

Round 5 - The action heated up as Fury managed to land a big shot to floor Hammer but the Romanian managed to beat the count. Fury looked to end the fight and caught Hammer with some big shots to the head but the bell intervened and the Romanian was safe for another round.

Round 6 - Fury continued to stalk Hammer but the Romanian was hanging on in there and an illegal tactic saw Hammer cautioned, by the referee, for the use of his head.

Round 7 - Fury switched to the body trying to end Hammer’s resistance but the Romanian hung on in and kept grabbing Fury to tie him up forcing the referee to intervene.

Round 8 - Reverting back to the jab Fury enjoyed success but Hammer kept in close crowding Fury and eventually nullifying his work. It was fast turning into a messy fight. Fury was on top but Hammer knew one big punch could change things. However, his corner had other ideas and when Hammer sat on his stool for the end of the eighth round they promptly threw the towel in.

Fury had won but it was hardly the kind of performance that would have Deontay Wilder and Wladimir Klitschko quaking in their boots.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday March 1 2015

Time: 10:59AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Saunders Retains WBO Middleweight Title (Sunday December 17 2017)

Benn Wins on Points against Peynaud (Thursday December 14 2017)

Tyson Fury Talking about AJ Fight (Wednesday December 13 2017)

Brook Back in Action in March 2018 (Monday December 11 2017)

DeGale Loses World Title to Truax (Sunday December 10 2017)

Haye v Bellew II – 5 May 2018 Confirmed (Wednesday December 6 2017)

DeGale Tips Groves to Beat Eubank Jnr (Sunday December 3 2017)

Price Gets Back to Winning Ways (Sunday December 3 2017)

Ortiz Escapes WBC Ban (Sunday December 3 2017)

Cotto's Career End in Defeat (Sunday December 3 2017)

Hearn Rejects 65-35 Purse Split Offer (Thursday November 23 2017)

Haye v Bellew Re-Match – Postponed (Tuesday November 21 2017)

Conlan World Title Bid Ends in Defeat (Sunday November 19 2017)

Frampton Beats Garcia on Points (Sunday November 19 2017)

Frampton’s Illustrious Ringside Company (Thursday November 16 2017)

DeGale and Selby Opponents Named (Wednesday November 15 2017)

Benn Makes Successful Debut on US Soil (Tuesday November 14 2017)

Taylor KO's Vazquez in 9 Rounds (Sunday November 12 2017)

Smith Beats Williams on Points (Sunday November 12 2017)

Smith v Williams - The Re-Match (Friday November 10 2017)

2018 Will See Joshua v Wilder (Friday November 10 2017)

Wilder Would Travel to the UK to Face AJ (Thursday November 9 2017)

McDonnell v Solis Fight Report (Sunday November 5 2017)

Wilder Calls Out Anthony Joshua (Sunday November 5 2017)

Wilder v Stiverne Weigh-In (Saturday November 4 2017)

Disappointment for Dillian Whyte? (Friday November 3 2017)

Tyson Fury v Shannon Briggs? (Friday November 3 2017)

Chisora looking for World Title Fight (Wednesday November 1 2017)

World Champ Taylor Set for Dec 15 Fight (Wednesday November 1 2017)

Whyte beats Helenius on Points (Sunday October 29 2017)

Joshua Stops Takem in Round 10 (Sunday October 29 2017)

Taylor v Sanchez Big Fight Preview (Saturday October 28 2017)

Whyte Looking to March on Towards Wilder (Saturday October 28 2017)

Yafai Looking for a Victory and the US (Saturday October 28 2017)

Joshua v Takem Weigh-In News (Friday October 27 2017)

DeGale Makes Return to Ring in the UK (Friday October 27 2017)

Wilder Yearns for Joshua Match-Up (Friday October 27 2017)

Selby Ready for Warrington Challenge (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Flanagan Next for Linares? (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Whyte Faces Tough Test v Helenius (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Joshua’s First Choice Was Whyte (Monday October 23 2017)

Catterall Claims British Title (Monday October 23 2017)

Joyce Looking to Fight Sexton Next (Sunday October 22 2017)

Kelly Impresses on Burnett Under-Card (Sunday October 22 2017)

Hearn on AJ v Wilder (Sunday October 22 2017)

Heavyweight Joyce Wins Pro-Debut (Saturday October 21 2017)

Burnett v Zhakiyanov Saturday in Belfast (Thursday October 19 2017)

Saunders to Defend Title against Lemieux (Thursday October 19 2017)

Joshua in no rush to make US Debut (Wednesday October 18 2017)

New Opponent for Anthony Joshua (Tuesday October 17 2017)

Groves Stops Cox in 4 Rounds (Sunday October 15 2017)

DeGale Talks Groves Re-Match (Thursday October 12 2017)

Joshua Lashes Out at his Detractors (Tuesday October 10 2017)

Get Well Soon Gary (Monday October 9 2017)

Benn KO’s Clarke In 1st Round (Sunday October 8 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. Vital Merlin 39
9. hogeyman 31
10. eliza jhon 19

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Did the referee Stop the Joshua v Takem Fight too early?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 38%
No! 62%
Not Sure! 0%