Vital Boxing | Fury Stops Hammer in Eight Rounds
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Fury Stops Hammer in Eight Rounds

But was it the kind of performance we hoped for?

Headlining the show at the O2 Arena, in London, Tyson Fury, in facing Christian Hammer, knew that he was putting his WBO mandatory challenger status on the line against the unbeaten German based Romanian fighter, and it kind of showed in his performance.

Entering the ring to the strange sight of an Elvis impersonator singing , Tyson Fury looked an imposing figure and the action was soon underway.

Round 1 - Cagey stuff early on with Fury dancing around the ring, trying to draw Hammer onto him but catching the Romanian with his jab courtesy of his huge reach advantage. Fury finished the round with a decent right-left combination to catch the eye of the judges.

Round 2 - Fury continued to keep Hammer at distance, jabbing away with accuracy before landing an upper-cut that ensured he round belonged to him.

Round 3 - Hammer was getting frustrated, looking for the big-shot but unable to get close enough. Eventually Hammer did land a right on Fury but the Mancunian responded with a burst of punches before retreating out of range.

Round 4 - A lull in what little action we had seen earlier with Fury content to just jab away keeping Hammer at bay.

Round 5 - The action heated up as Fury managed to land a big shot to floor Hammer but the Romanian managed to beat the count. Fury looked to end the fight and caught Hammer with some big shots to the head but the bell intervened and the Romanian was safe for another round.

Round 6 - Fury continued to stalk Hammer but the Romanian was hanging on in there and an illegal tactic saw Hammer cautioned, by the referee, for the use of his head.

Round 7 - Fury switched to the body trying to end Hammer’s resistance but the Romanian hung on in and kept grabbing Fury to tie him up forcing the referee to intervene.

Round 8 - Reverting back to the jab Fury enjoyed success but Hammer kept in close crowding Fury and eventually nullifying his work. It was fast turning into a messy fight. Fury was on top but Hammer knew one big punch could change things. However, his corner had other ideas and when Hammer sat on his stool for the end of the eighth round they promptly threw the towel in.

Fury had won but it was hardly the kind of performance that would have Deontay Wilder and Wladimir Klitschko quaking in their boots.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday March 1 2015

Time: 10:59AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Lewis Tips Joshua to Win (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Is Tyson Fury on the way back? (Tuesday April 25 2017)

Hughie Fury v Joseph Parker Off (Monday April 24 2017)

Murray v Rosado – Liverpool Tonight (Saturday April 22 2017)

Joshua Ready for All-Comers (Saturday April 22 2017)

Conlan to Fight in Chicago (Thursday April 20 2017)

Fourth Time Lucky for Saint George? (Thursday April 20 2017)

Joshua and Fury in Social Network Blast (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Fury v Parker – Set for UK Move? (Sunday April 16 2017)

Okolie Makes It 2 KO’S out of 2 (Sunday April 16 2017)

The Views of the Boxers (Sunday April 16 2017)

Indongo Confident of Beating Burns (Friday April 14 2017)

Touting Rules the Roost (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Campbell Added to Wembley Show (Monday April 10 2017)

A Bad Week for Frampton (Sunday April 9 2017)

Selby Ordered to Fight Barros (Sunday April 9 2017)

What Next for Flanagan? (Sunday April 9 2017)

It’s Huck v Breidis Tonight (Saturday April 1 2017)

Adams Set for Professional Debut (Saturday April 1 2017)

Kessler Set for Ring Return. (Saturday April 1 2017)

Saunders Gives Golovkin a Deadline (Tuesday March 28 2017)

McGoldrick Wins Professional Debut (Monday March 27 2017)

Crolla Soundly Beaten by Linares (Monday March 27 2017)

Okolie’s Super-Quick Debut KO (Monday March 27 2017)

Katie Taylor Makes It 4 out of 4 (Monday March 27 2017)

Brook v Spence Press Conference (Thursday March 23 2017)

Golovkin Wants Saunders Next (Monday March 20 2017)

Lee Wins on Ring Comeback. (Sunday March 19 2017)

Golovkin v Jacobs – Weigh-In (Saturday March 18 2017)

Conlan Wins on Professional Debut (Saturday March 18 2017)

Crolla Primed for His Big Night (Friday March 17 2017)

Bellew Requires Hand Surgery (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Burns Takes the Dangerous Option (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Barnes Wins on Points (Saturday March 11 2017)

Conlan Wins by Split Decision (Saturday March 11 2017)

Cleverly v Jack in the Pipeline? (Friday March 10 2017)

A 16 Boxer Shoot-Out (Friday March 10 2017)

Haye Willing to Pay Fine (Thursday March 9 2017)

Parker v Fury Date Confirmed (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Haye Set to Fight On (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Is Bellew Set to Call it a Day? (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Taylor Back in the Ring on March 25th (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Pacquiao v Khan ISN’T Happening (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Haye on Losing to Bellew (Sunday March 5 2017)

Bellew on Defeating Haye (Sunday March 5 2017)

Bellew Stops Haye in Round 11 (Sunday March 5 2017)

Selby Set to Become a Free Agent (Saturday March 4 2017)

Russian Heavyweight Povetkin Banned (Saturday March 4 2017)

O2 Arena, London – Line-Up (Friday March 3 2017)

Haye v Bellew – Weigh-In (Friday March 3 2017)

Messing With Our Heads (Thursday March 2 2017)

Fury Spotted (Wednesday March 1 2017)

Haye v Bellew – Referee (Wednesday March 1 2017)

BBBoC - Haye Ban Threat (Wednesday March 1 2017)

WBC Want Wilder v Stiverne II (Monday February 27 2017)

Bellew Lets Rip at Haye (Monday February 27 2017)

McDonnell v Vargas – What They Said (Sunday February 26 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 642
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 123
5. Fulham Badger 103
6. Kid Glove 73
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 17
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Joshua v Klitschko - Who Wins?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Joshua! 80%
Klitschko! 20%
Too Close to Call! 0%