Vital Boxing | What Next for Frampton?
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

What Next for Frampton?

After his five-round demolition of Chris Avalos, in defending his IBF super-bantamweight title, all the talk is of who Carl Frampton will fight next.

Having fulfilled his mandatory obligation the consensus of opinion is that the Belfast fighter is looking to take on his Bury counter-part, Scott Quigg, in a unification bout.

Quigg was ringside last night to see Frampton perform and knows that any bout between the two would be a huge draw.

However for a bout to go-ahead there will need to be some problems sorted out.

Firstly, the venue!

Whilst both fighters would like to retain home status, Belfast for Frampton and Manchester for Quigg, the indications are that a compromise could be reached with the fight going ahead at the O2 Arena, in London.

Secondly, the television coverage!

Last night Frampton’s fight was broadcast on ITV, his mentor, Barry McGuigan, has ambitions of sticking with terrestrial television. Quigg however, fights on Sky Sports and his promoter sees the bout between the two as ideal for pay-per-view coverage on satellite television.

It’s clearly a problem that will need sorting out.

But talking about the proposed bout, Carl Frampton had this to say,

'Scott and I would both love a summer showdown.

“Scott needs to remember who's the real world champion. It's a massive fight and it should happen. I will leave Belfast if I have to.'


Bu, if the arguments can’t be settled then perhaps Frampton will be tempted stateside where it is rumoured his skills are greatly appreciated by HBO and Showtime where he could fight either the Cuban WBA super-champion Guillermo Rigondeaux or the WBC champion Leo Santa Cruz.

Clearly, if Frampton and his team are looking to unify the division there are numerous options to consider, exciting times for the man from Belfast.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday March 1 2015

Time: 11:24AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Wembley Stadium – Running Order (Saturday April 29 2017)

Vitali’s Backing Wladimir (Thursday April 27 2017)

Wladimir the Memory Stick Man (Thursday April 27 2017)

Lewis Tips Joshua to Win (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Is Tyson Fury on the way back? (Tuesday April 25 2017)

Hughie Fury v Joseph Parker Off (Monday April 24 2017)

Murray v Rosado – Liverpool Tonight (Saturday April 22 2017)

Joshua Ready for All-Comers (Saturday April 22 2017)

Conlan to Fight in Chicago (Thursday April 20 2017)

Fourth Time Lucky for Saint George? (Thursday April 20 2017)

Joshua and Fury in Social Network Blast (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Fury v Parker – Set for UK Move? (Sunday April 16 2017)

Okolie Makes It 2 KO’S out of 2 (Sunday April 16 2017)

The Views of the Boxers (Sunday April 16 2017)

Indongo Confident of Beating Burns (Friday April 14 2017)

Touting Rules the Roost (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Campbell Added to Wembley Show (Monday April 10 2017)

A Bad Week for Frampton (Sunday April 9 2017)

Selby Ordered to Fight Barros (Sunday April 9 2017)

What Next for Flanagan? (Sunday April 9 2017)

It’s Huck v Breidis Tonight (Saturday April 1 2017)

Adams Set for Professional Debut (Saturday April 1 2017)

Kessler Set for Ring Return. (Saturday April 1 2017)

Saunders Gives Golovkin a Deadline (Tuesday March 28 2017)

McGoldrick Wins Professional Debut (Monday March 27 2017)

Crolla Soundly Beaten by Linares (Monday March 27 2017)

Okolie’s Super-Quick Debut KO (Monday March 27 2017)

Katie Taylor Makes It 4 out of 4 (Monday March 27 2017)

Brook v Spence Press Conference (Thursday March 23 2017)

Golovkin Wants Saunders Next (Monday March 20 2017)

Lee Wins on Ring Comeback. (Sunday March 19 2017)

Golovkin v Jacobs – Weigh-In (Saturday March 18 2017)

Conlan Wins on Professional Debut (Saturday March 18 2017)

Crolla Primed for His Big Night (Friday March 17 2017)

Bellew Requires Hand Surgery (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Burns Takes the Dangerous Option (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Barnes Wins on Points (Saturday March 11 2017)

Conlan Wins by Split Decision (Saturday March 11 2017)

Cleverly v Jack in the Pipeline? (Friday March 10 2017)

A 16 Boxer Shoot-Out (Friday March 10 2017)

Haye Willing to Pay Fine (Thursday March 9 2017)

Parker v Fury Date Confirmed (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Haye Set to Fight On (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Is Bellew Set to Call it a Day? (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Taylor Back in the Ring on March 25th (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Pacquiao v Khan ISN’T Happening (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Haye on Losing to Bellew (Sunday March 5 2017)

Bellew on Defeating Haye (Sunday March 5 2017)

Bellew Stops Haye in Round 11 (Sunday March 5 2017)

Selby Set to Become a Free Agent (Saturday March 4 2017)

Russian Heavyweight Povetkin Banned (Saturday March 4 2017)

O2 Arena, London – Line-Up (Friday March 3 2017)

Haye v Bellew – Weigh-In (Friday March 3 2017)

Messing With Our Heads (Thursday March 2 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 664
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 123
5. Fulham Badger 103
6. Kid Glove 73
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 17
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Joshua v Klitschko - Who Wins?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Joshua! 86%
Klitschko! 14%
Too Close to Call! 0%