Vital Boxing | Flanagan Gets World Title Shot
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Flanagan Gets World Title Shot

News broke today that the British lightweight, Terry Flanagan, has been given a world title fight against the American Jose Zepeda.

The fight for the WBO World Lightweight crown will take place on Saturday 11th July at the Velodrome, in Manchester.

It will be a huge task for Flanagan as Zepeda is something of a knockout specialist. Ranked #5 by the WBO, Zepeda in his 23 fights has stopped 20 of his opponents with 16 of those stoppages coming before the end of the third round.

In contrast, southpaw Flanagan has an unbeaten record that has seen him go 27 fights unbeaten but with only 10 by stoppage. Flanagan earned the right to fight for the title after defeating Stephen Ormond in his last fight.

Talking about the chance to become a world champion Flanagan has remarked,

'It's a dream to fight for the world title on my own doorstep and it will be an electric atmosphere on the night at the Velodrome.

'I'd have fought Zepeda anywhere because to get a world title fight has been my dream since first putting on the gloves, but my promoter Frank Warren has really pulled out all the stops to get me my chance in my backyard as he believes in me and I'll repay that faith by becoming world champion.”


July 11th may well seem some way off but it is a night I’ve put a star against in my diary.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Wednesday May 20 2015

Time: 5:23PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Whyte Wins on US Debut (Sunday August 20 2017)

Frampton Looking for NEW Opponent (Friday August 18 2017)

Burns v Crolla - October 7th (Saturday August 12 2017)

Smith v Williams Venue Announced (Sunday August 6 2017)

Joshua Being Pushed Into a Corner (Friday August 4 2017)

Klitschko’s Retirement Video (Thursday August 3 2017)

Who Will Be Next for Joshua? (Thursday August 3 2017)

Will You Go PPV for the Big-Fight (Wednesday August 2 2017)

Garcia Outclasses Broner (Sunday July 30 2017)

Taylor Makes it 6 from 6 (Sunday July 30 2017)

Joshua Talks Mike Tyson (Saturday July 29 2017)

Frampton v Gutierrez Called Off (Saturday July 29 2017)

Tyson Fury Retires? (Thursday July 27 2017)

Ricky Burns v Josh Taylor? (Tuesday July 25 2017)

Linares Ordered to Face Campbell (Sunday July 23 2017)

Smith v Williams Re-Match Announced (Saturday July 22 2017)

Will Tyson Fury Fight Again? (Friday July 21 2017)

Flanagan v Verdejo Postponed (Friday July 21 2017)

Martin J Ward Makes History (Sunday July 16 2017)

Davies Jnr Loses to Syrowtka (Sunday July 16 2017)

Selby Beats Barros on Points (Sunday July 16 2017)

Haye Back in the Ring in December (Thursday July 13 2017)

Eubank Snr Courts Controversy (Thursday July 13 2017)

Pacquiao Set to Fight On (Thursday July 13 2017)

Brit Seeds Choose their Opponents (Monday July 10 2017)

More Taylor v Burns Talk (Monday July 10 2017)

Who Is Next for Ricky Burns? (Monday July 10 2017)

Taylor Wants Burns Fight Next (Monday July 10 2017)

Dubois Marches On (Sunday July 9 2017)

Skeete Retains British Title (Sunday July 9 2017)

Taylor Stops Davies in 7 Rounds (Sunday July 9 2017)

Pacquiao Requests WBO Review Fight (Wednesday July 5 2017)

Haye Retire? How Did You Vote? (Sunday July 2 2017)

Conlan Makes it 3 out of 3 (Sunday July 2 2017)

Buglioni Retains British Title (Sunday July 2 2017)

Summertime Brawl Running Order (Saturday July 1 2017)

Iron Mike Turns 51 (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins - Reactions (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins III Is On (Thursday June 29 2017)

Ward Hints at Bellew Fight (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Has Whyte Got Wilder Riled? (Sunday June 25 2017)

Josh Kelly – A New Star is Born (Sunday June 25 2017)

Copper Box Arena - July 8th Update (Thursday June 22 2017)

Is This Golovkin’s Last Fight? (Thursday June 22 2017)

Tyson Fury Let’s Rip Again (Thursday June 22 2017)

Brook Wants Another Fight in 2017 (Thursday June 22 2017)

Ward Beats Kovalev in Re-Match (Sunday June 18 2017)

Smith Loses Third World Title Bid (Sunday June 18 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Mayweather v McGregor?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Mayweather all day long! 100%
McGregor to cause an upset! 0%
A dignified draw! 0%