Vital Boxing | Crolla Robbed in World Title Fight
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Crolla Robbed in World Title Fight

Last night, at the Manchester Arena, fate dealt Anthony Crolla another cruel blow.

Matched against Darleys Perez for the WBA lightweight title, Crolla showed that after a lengthy ring absence due to reasons well known, he definitely belonged in this level.

The Manchester fighter, like the rest of us, looked on in disbelief as, once the twelve rounds had ended, the decision went to the judge’s score-cards, with the scores being given as:

• 116-113 for Crolla
• 114-113 for Perez
• 113-113 a draw

Gasps of disbelief rang out around the Manchester Arena with many believing that Crolla had done enough to win, even more so when, late-on, the champion had 2 points deducted for low blows.

Yes, there were some close rounds that could have gone either way, but for one judge to make it 116-113, after the points deduction, was scandalous.

Perez started well but was rocked in the second round when a shot from Crolla caught him flush and his legs done one of those silly dances that betray a fighter’s true status.

Although Perez came on strong, in some rounds, he couldn’t knock Crolla out of his stride and the general consensus of opinion was that Crolla was shading the rounds.

Speaking after the decision hadn’t gone Crolla had this to say,

'I'm bitterly disappointed I've not got the world title take to home with me. I thought the deductions swayed it for me.

'I had to dig deep and do the crowd proud. I will only come back stronger.
'When this opportunity came I was never going to give it up. But I promise everyone that I will win the world title.'


Whereas his trainer, Joe Gallagher was to add,

'I thought Anthony had won it by two rounds. I'm very proud of him. The people of Manchester that came out to support him were fantastic.

'But it is a bit disappointing and it has put a dampener on the evening”


They were, Crolla was and I’m in no doubt that the likeable Manchester fighter will be back for another shot at a title very soon.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday July 19 2015

Time: 10:19AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Whyte Wins on US Debut (Sunday August 20 2017)

Frampton Looking for NEW Opponent (Friday August 18 2017)

Burns v Crolla - October 7th (Saturday August 12 2017)

Smith v Williams Venue Announced (Sunday August 6 2017)

Joshua Being Pushed Into a Corner (Friday August 4 2017)

Klitschko’s Retirement Video (Thursday August 3 2017)

Who Will Be Next for Joshua? (Thursday August 3 2017)

Will You Go PPV for the Big-Fight (Wednesday August 2 2017)

Garcia Outclasses Broner (Sunday July 30 2017)

Taylor Makes it 6 from 6 (Sunday July 30 2017)

Joshua Talks Mike Tyson (Saturday July 29 2017)

Frampton v Gutierrez Called Off (Saturday July 29 2017)

Tyson Fury Retires? (Thursday July 27 2017)

Ricky Burns v Josh Taylor? (Tuesday July 25 2017)

Linares Ordered to Face Campbell (Sunday July 23 2017)

Smith v Williams Re-Match Announced (Saturday July 22 2017)

Will Tyson Fury Fight Again? (Friday July 21 2017)

Flanagan v Verdejo Postponed (Friday July 21 2017)

Martin J Ward Makes History (Sunday July 16 2017)

Davies Jnr Loses to Syrowtka (Sunday July 16 2017)

Selby Beats Barros on Points (Sunday July 16 2017)

Haye Back in the Ring in December (Thursday July 13 2017)

Eubank Snr Courts Controversy (Thursday July 13 2017)

Pacquiao Set to Fight On (Thursday July 13 2017)

Brit Seeds Choose their Opponents (Monday July 10 2017)

More Taylor v Burns Talk (Monday July 10 2017)

Who Is Next for Ricky Burns? (Monday July 10 2017)

Taylor Wants Burns Fight Next (Monday July 10 2017)

Dubois Marches On (Sunday July 9 2017)

Skeete Retains British Title (Sunday July 9 2017)

Taylor Stops Davies in 7 Rounds (Sunday July 9 2017)

Pacquiao Requests WBO Review Fight (Wednesday July 5 2017)

Haye Retire? How Did You Vote? (Sunday July 2 2017)

Conlan Makes it 3 out of 3 (Sunday July 2 2017)

Buglioni Retains British Title (Sunday July 2 2017)

Summertime Brawl Running Order (Saturday July 1 2017)

Iron Mike Turns 51 (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins - Reactions (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins III Is On (Thursday June 29 2017)

Ward Hints at Bellew Fight (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Has Whyte Got Wilder Riled? (Sunday June 25 2017)

Josh Kelly – A New Star is Born (Sunday June 25 2017)

Copper Box Arena - July 8th Update (Thursday June 22 2017)

Is This Golovkin’s Last Fight? (Thursday June 22 2017)

Tyson Fury Let’s Rip Again (Thursday June 22 2017)

Brook Wants Another Fight in 2017 (Thursday June 22 2017)

Ward Beats Kovalev in Re-Match (Sunday June 18 2017)

Smith Loses Third World Title Bid (Sunday June 18 2017)

Wilder Arrested in Alabama (Friday June 16 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Is Eubank Jnr the Best Super-Middleweight Out There?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 38%
No! 47%
Undecided! 15%