Vital Boxing | Brook Wants to Fill Mayweather’s Boots!
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Brook Wants to Fill Mayweather’s Boots!

In more ways than one some might say!

With Floyd Mayweather Junior having decreed (although some would say it is debatable) that after forty-nine fights, all of which he’s won, it is time to call it a day, boxing is looking for a new legend to step into the void.

One boxer who believes he is just the man to fill that aforementioned void is Sheffield’s Kell Brook.

Brook, who ventured to the US to wrestle the IBF welterweight title off of Shaun Porter, has his eye son not only filling the void left by Mayweather but by also bettering his 49-0 record.

Brook, who is fighting the rugged Diego Chaves on October 24th already has a record of 35-0 with 24 of those wins coming via knockout, has remarked about his grand ambition,

“His [Mayweather] 49-0 record is incredible and he leaves a phenomenal legacy behind, but I believe I can reach that pinnacle and go past it.

“Floyd’s last fight on Saturday means that the door is open for someone to become boxing’s new mega-star – and I want to be that man.”


As Mayweather approached the end of his wonderful career there were some that suggested he was hand-picking his opponents to ensure his place alongside Rocky Marciano in the hall of great unbeaten fighters.

The churlish amongst us might suggest that at 35-0 and selecting Diego Chaves for your next defence, a fighter who in his last four fights has a record that reads 1-2-1, Kell might be replicating Floyd’s path.

But, on a serious nature, can anyone see Kell Brook becoming the person to fill the void left by Floyd Mayweather Junior?


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Friday September 18 2015

Time: 12:47PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Groves Place in WBSS Final in Doubt (Sunday February 18 2018)

Groves On Beating Eubank Jnr (Sunday February 18 2018)

Eubank Jnr Reflects on Loss to Groves (Sunday February 18 2018)

Groves Beats Eubank Jnr On Points (Sunday February 18 2018)

Groves v Eubank Jnr – The Under-Card (Saturday February 17 2018)

Joyce Moves Closer to Chisora Fight (Saturday February 17 2018)

You Predict a Win for Eubank Jnr v Groves (Saturday February 17 2018)

Hughie Fury to Fight for British Title (Saturday February 17 2018)

An Evening with a Boxing Legend (Friday February 16 2018)

Froch Tips Eubank Jnr to Beat Groves (Wednesday February 14 2018)

Groves v Eubank Jnr Press Conference (Wednesday February 14 2018)

Burnett Added to AJ v Parker Promotion (Tuesday February 13 2018)

Does Joshua Need to Fight in the US? (Saturday February 10 2018)

Groves Responds to Eubank Snr’s Jibe (Saturday February 10 2018)

Frampton, McGuigan Split Gets Even Messier (Saturday February 10 2018)

Jones Ends Illustrious Career with a Win (Saturday February 10 2018)

Gassiev Reaches WBSS Final (Sunday February 4 2018)

Buatsi Makes it Four Wins Out of Four (Sunday February 4 2018)

Okolie Beats Chamberlain on Points (Sunday February 4 2018)

Golovkin v Alvarez Re-Match Date Set (Tuesday January 30 2018)

Usyk Beats Briedis in WBSS Semi-Final (Sunday January 28 2018)

Selby v Warrington Fight Confirmed (Wednesday January 24 2018)

Flanagan Bidding to make History (Saturday January 20 2018)

Saunders to Defend Title against Murray (Saturday January 20 2018)

Taylor Set for Soto Bout in Glasgow (Friday January 19 2018)

Price to Face Povetkin in Cardiff (Thursday January 18 2018)

Wilder v Ortiz Set for 3 March (Saturday January 13 2018)

Smith v Brahmer Set for Germany (Saturday January 13 2018)

Taylor to Defend Her Title in Dublin (Saturday January 13 2018)

Bad Boy Wilder Found Guilty (Saturday January 13 2018)

Khan Set for UK Ring Return (Saturday January 13 2018)

Quigg World Title Fight A Done Deal (Tuesday January 9 2018)

Date for Frampton v Donaire Fixed (Saturday January 6 2018)

Quigg Set for World Title Fight (Wednesday January 3 2018)

Joshua v Parker Moves a BIG Step Nearer (Friday December 29 2017)

Whyte v Browne March 24? (Friday December 22 2017)

Frampton v Donaire Confirmed (Friday December 22 2017)

Saunders Retains WBO Middleweight Title (Sunday December 17 2017)

Benn Wins on Points against Peynaud (Thursday December 14 2017)

Tyson Fury Talking about AJ Fight (Wednesday December 13 2017)

Brook Back in Action in March 2018 (Monday December 11 2017)

DeGale Loses World Title to Truax (Sunday December 10 2017)

Haye v Bellew II – 5 May 2018 Confirmed (Wednesday December 6 2017)

DeGale Tips Groves to Beat Eubank Jnr (Sunday December 3 2017)

Price Gets Back to Winning Ways (Sunday December 3 2017)

Ortiz Escapes WBC Ban (Sunday December 3 2017)

Cotto's Career End in Defeat (Sunday December 3 2017)

Hearn Rejects 65-35 Purse Split Offer (Thursday November 23 2017)

Haye v Bellew Re-Match – Postponed (Tuesday November 21 2017)

Conlan World Title Bid Ends in Defeat (Sunday November 19 2017)

Frampton Beats Garcia on Points (Sunday November 19 2017)

Frampton’s Illustrious Ringside Company (Thursday November 16 2017)

DeGale and Selby Opponents Named (Wednesday November 15 2017)

Benn Makes Successful Debut on US Soil (Tuesday November 14 2017)

Taylor KO's Vazquez in 9 Rounds (Sunday November 12 2017)

Smith Beats Williams on Points (Sunday November 12 2017)

Smith v Williams - The Re-Match (Friday November 10 2017)

2018 Will See Joshua v Wilder (Friday November 10 2017)

Wilder Would Travel to the UK to Face AJ (Thursday November 9 2017)

McDonnell v Solis Fight Report (Sunday November 5 2017)

Wilder Calls Out Anthony Joshua (Sunday November 5 2017)

Wilder v Stiverne Weigh-In (Saturday November 4 2017)

Disappointment for Dillian Whyte? (Friday November 3 2017)

Tyson Fury v Shannon Briggs? (Friday November 3 2017)

Chisora looking for World Title Fight (Wednesday November 1 2017)

World Champ Taylor Set for Dec 15 Fight (Wednesday November 1 2017)

Whyte beats Helenius on Points (Sunday October 29 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. Vital Merlin 42
9. hogeyman 31
10. eliza jhon 19

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Anthony Joshua v Joseph Parker?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Joshua to Win! 67%
Parker to Win! 33%
A Draw 0%