Vital Boxing | If I Were DeGale, I’d Take the Fight!
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

If I Were DeGale, I’d Take the Fight!

It’s a fact that George Groves remains the only fighter to have beaten James DeGale in the professional ranks.

But since that night DeGale has gone on to claim the IBF super-middleweight title whilst Groves has fallen short on three occasions, twice being beaten by Carl Froch and once, last time out against Badou Jack, in world title fights.

However, the defeat he inflicted upon DeGale is seen by many as justification for Groves to jump straight into a fourth world tile attempt against his North London rival.

Now whilst DeGale would, we suspect, be looking to exact some kind of revenge on Groves, the IBF champion knows that he holds all the aces if a bout between the two is to come to fruition.

Eddie Hearn, talking about a proposed fight between the two, is backing DeGale’s claim that if a fight was to happen the purse should be split 90-10 in favour of DeGale, suggesting that 10 would still be a lot of money for the challenger and remarking about DeGale’s suggestion,

“You can’t blame James for having a little joke and a laugh at George’s situation.

“If you’re going to behave in a certain way, you’ve got to deal with the consequences. I think a lot of what George does is premeditated for the benefit of the promotions and for the benefit of the fight. Of course, with that you’ve got to role with what comes with it. The fight is still there. We’ve got some time before the fight can materialize again, but it can still happen. Of course, the dynamics of the deal change. It makes it very difficult to do because there are egos involved.”


Personally, if I were DeGale I’d want that fight just to remove that one blot on my record, as for the money, I’d not bitch too much about it if it was next to nothing!


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Saturday October 10 2015

Time: 2:25PM

Your Comments

As much as I like Groves, does DeGale not have bigger fish to fry? A win against Groves may exact some revenge but what would it prove?
KO Power
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Ward Hints at Bellew Fight (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Has Whyte Got Wilder Riled? (Sunday June 25 2017)

Josh Kelly – A New Star is Born (Sunday June 25 2017)

Copper Box Arena - July 8th Update (Thursday June 22 2017)

Is This Golovkin’s Last Fight? (Thursday June 22 2017)

Tyson Fury Let’s Rip Again (Thursday June 22 2017)

Brook Wants Another Fight in 2017 (Thursday June 22 2017)

Ward Beats Kovalev in Re-Match (Sunday June 18 2017)

Smith Loses Third World Title Bid (Sunday June 18 2017)

Wilder Arrested in Alabama (Friday June 16 2017)

The Circus Will Take Place (Thursday June 15 2017)

Haye Fined (Thursday June 15 2017)

Frampton Comeback Fight Confirmed (Wednesday June 14 2017)

Burnett Verdict to be changed (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Burnett v Haskins – Quote Fest (Sunday June 11 2017)

A Truly Shocking Verdict (Sunday June 11 2017)

Make Your Mind Up Wladimir (Saturday June 10 2017)

Bellew Set for Conte Bout Next? (Saturday June 10 2017)

Whyte Headed for the US (Saturday June 10 2017)

DeGale Disrespects Groves (Thursday June 8 2017)

Good News for AJ (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Frampton Set for July Comeback (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Tyson's Views on AJ (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Buatsi Turns Professional (Monday June 5 2017)

Crolla Talks Manchester Arena (Sunday June 4 2017)

Should Haye Call It a Day? (Sunday June 4 2017)

Haye Splits from McGuigan (Saturday June 3 2017)

Conor Benn Set for Ring Return (Saturday June 3 2017)

Eubank Jnr v Abraham Draws Nearer (Saturday June 3 2017)

Words of Wisdom from Klitschko (Saturday June 3 2017)

Eubank Jnr Set for Abraham Fight (Thursday June 1 2017)

Bramall Lane Running Order Tonight (Saturday May 27 2017)

Conlan Wins by TKO (Saturday May 27 2017)

Ingle Talks Brook (Thursday May 25 2017)

Fury Left Feeling Frustrated (Thursday May 25 2017)

Porter’s Sour Grapes (Thursday May 25 2017)

Brook Not on the Slide (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Brook Fancies Spence Job (Tuesday May 23 2017)

Whyte Pulls Out of Wach Fight (Wednesday May 17 2017)

Adams Wins in Round Two (Sunday May 14 2017)

Gavin Wins on Points (Sunday May 14 2017)

Wladimir Keeping Everyone Waiting (Saturday May 13 2017)

Tyson Fury Left in Limbo (Saturday May 13 2017)

Gavin in Last Chance Saloon (Monday May 8 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 130
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Should David Haye Call It a Day?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 50%
No! 50%
Not Sure! 0%