Vital Boxing | If I Were DeGale, I’d Take the Fight!
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

If I Were DeGale, I’d Take the Fight!

It’s a fact that George Groves remains the only fighter to have beaten James DeGale in the professional ranks.

But since that night DeGale has gone on to claim the IBF super-middleweight title whilst Groves has fallen short on three occasions, twice being beaten by Carl Froch and once, last time out against Badou Jack, in world title fights.

However, the defeat he inflicted upon DeGale is seen by many as justification for Groves to jump straight into a fourth world tile attempt against his North London rival.

Now whilst DeGale would, we suspect, be looking to exact some kind of revenge on Groves, the IBF champion knows that he holds all the aces if a bout between the two is to come to fruition.

Eddie Hearn, talking about a proposed fight between the two, is backing DeGale’s claim that if a fight was to happen the purse should be split 90-10 in favour of DeGale, suggesting that 10 would still be a lot of money for the challenger and remarking about DeGale’s suggestion,

“You can’t blame James for having a little joke and a laugh at George’s situation.

“If you’re going to behave in a certain way, you’ve got to deal with the consequences. I think a lot of what George does is premeditated for the benefit of the promotions and for the benefit of the fight. Of course, with that you’ve got to role with what comes with it. The fight is still there. We’ve got some time before the fight can materialize again, but it can still happen. Of course, the dynamics of the deal change. It makes it very difficult to do because there are egos involved.”


Personally, if I were DeGale I’d want that fight just to remove that one blot on my record, as for the money, I’d not bitch too much about it if it was next to nothing!


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Saturday October 10 2015

Time: 2:25PM

Your Comments

As much as I like Groves, does DeGale not have bigger fish to fry? A win against Groves may exact some revenge but what would it prove?
KO Power
 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Whyte Wins on US Debut (Sunday August 20 2017)

Frampton Looking for NEW Opponent (Friday August 18 2017)

Burns v Crolla - October 7th (Saturday August 12 2017)

Smith v Williams Venue Announced (Sunday August 6 2017)

Joshua Being Pushed Into a Corner (Friday August 4 2017)

Klitschko’s Retirement Video (Thursday August 3 2017)

Who Will Be Next for Joshua? (Thursday August 3 2017)

Will You Go PPV for the Big-Fight (Wednesday August 2 2017)

Garcia Outclasses Broner (Sunday July 30 2017)

Taylor Makes it 6 from 6 (Sunday July 30 2017)

Joshua Talks Mike Tyson (Saturday July 29 2017)

Frampton v Gutierrez Called Off (Saturday July 29 2017)

Tyson Fury Retires? (Thursday July 27 2017)

Ricky Burns v Josh Taylor? (Tuesday July 25 2017)

Linares Ordered to Face Campbell (Sunday July 23 2017)

Smith v Williams Re-Match Announced (Saturday July 22 2017)

Will Tyson Fury Fight Again? (Friday July 21 2017)

Flanagan v Verdejo Postponed (Friday July 21 2017)

Martin J Ward Makes History (Sunday July 16 2017)

Davies Jnr Loses to Syrowtka (Sunday July 16 2017)

Selby Beats Barros on Points (Sunday July 16 2017)

Haye Back in the Ring in December (Thursday July 13 2017)

Eubank Snr Courts Controversy (Thursday July 13 2017)

Pacquiao Set to Fight On (Thursday July 13 2017)

Brit Seeds Choose their Opponents (Monday July 10 2017)

More Taylor v Burns Talk (Monday July 10 2017)

Who Is Next for Ricky Burns? (Monday July 10 2017)

Taylor Wants Burns Fight Next (Monday July 10 2017)

Dubois Marches On (Sunday July 9 2017)

Skeete Retains British Title (Sunday July 9 2017)

Taylor Stops Davies in 7 Rounds (Sunday July 9 2017)

Pacquiao Requests WBO Review Fight (Wednesday July 5 2017)

Haye Retire? How Did You Vote? (Sunday July 2 2017)

Conlan Makes it 3 out of 3 (Sunday July 2 2017)

Buglioni Retains British Title (Sunday July 2 2017)

Summertime Brawl Running Order (Saturday July 1 2017)

Iron Mike Turns 51 (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins - Reactions (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins III Is On (Thursday June 29 2017)

Ward Hints at Bellew Fight (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Has Whyte Got Wilder Riled? (Sunday June 25 2017)

Josh Kelly – A New Star is Born (Sunday June 25 2017)

Copper Box Arena - July 8th Update (Thursday June 22 2017)

Is This Golovkin’s Last Fight? (Thursday June 22 2017)

Tyson Fury Let’s Rip Again (Thursday June 22 2017)

Brook Wants Another Fight in 2017 (Thursday June 22 2017)

Ward Beats Kovalev in Re-Match (Sunday June 18 2017)

Smith Loses Third World Title Bid (Sunday June 18 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Mayweather v McGregor?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Mayweather all day long! 100%
McGregor to cause an upset! 0%
A dignified draw! 0%