Vital Boxing | Golovkin Stops Lemieux in Round 8
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Golovkin Stops Lemieux in Round 8

Last night at the Madison Square Garden, in New York, Gennady Golovkin showed that he is the perfect boxer to inherit Floyd Mayweather’s crown as the best fighter in the world.

Golovkin, taking on David Lemieux in a middleweight unification fight, added the IBF belt to the IBO and WBA belts he already held with a devastating display that saw the referee, Steve Willis, halt the fight midway through the 8th round.

The win means Golovkin has taken his record to 34-0 with 31 wins coming by way of the big KO. Also, the stoppage last night, in New York, means that the stoppage was his 21st consecutive knockout.

Golovkin started the fight well, beating Lemieux to the jab and winning the early rounds. The concussive punching power of Golovkin started to wear Lemieux down and a powerful body-shot had Lemieux on the canvas in the 5th round.

The punishment intensified in the 7th round and Lemieux was in trouble, his nose was bleeding and it seemed only a matter of time before the fight would be stopped.

The end came in the 8th with Golovkin pounding his opponent and the referee stepped in to prevent Lemieux from getting seriously hurt.

After the fight, boxing’s superstar, Golovkin, had this to say,

“I give all my fans a present.

“David, he’s a good fighter, and a very strong guy. My goal is to win all the belts in the middleweight division. Who’s next doesn’t matter to me. I want whoever wins the Saul “Canelo” Alvarez vs. Miguel Cotto fight.”


As for Lemieux he, naturally, saw events slightly different, remarking after the fight,

“There were some rounds that were pretty close.

“I was just waiting to connect. I’m not too sure about the stoppage. I could have continued. I’ll meet him in the future. I want things to be settled in the near future. There were shots that I took too long to throw. I’ll give him the respect, but hopefully in the near future I’ll get my chance again.”

The New York crowd obviously disagreed with Lemieux’s assessment of the fight roundly booing him.

In my opinion Golovkin was a class above his opponent and will go on to unify the division before moving up to super-middleweight, the guy is a natural star.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday October 18 2015

Time: 9:22AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Benn Wins on Points against Peynaud (Thursday December 14 2017)

Tyson Fury Talking about AJ Fight (Wednesday December 13 2017)

Brook Back in Action in March 2018 (Monday December 11 2017)

DeGale Loses World Title to Truax (Sunday December 10 2017)

Haye v Bellew II – 5 May 2018 Confirmed (Wednesday December 6 2017)

DeGale Tips Groves to Beat Eubank Jnr (Sunday December 3 2017)

Price Gets Back to Winning Ways (Sunday December 3 2017)

Ortiz Escapes WBC Ban (Sunday December 3 2017)

Cotto's Career End in Defeat (Sunday December 3 2017)

Hearn Rejects 65-35 Purse Split Offer (Thursday November 23 2017)

Haye v Bellew Re-Match – Postponed (Tuesday November 21 2017)

Conlan World Title Bid Ends in Defeat (Sunday November 19 2017)

Frampton Beats Garcia on Points (Sunday November 19 2017)

Frampton’s Illustrious Ringside Company (Thursday November 16 2017)

DeGale and Selby Opponents Named (Wednesday November 15 2017)

Benn Makes Successful Debut on US Soil (Tuesday November 14 2017)

Taylor KO's Vazquez in 9 Rounds (Sunday November 12 2017)

Smith Beats Williams on Points (Sunday November 12 2017)

Smith v Williams - The Re-Match (Friday November 10 2017)

2018 Will See Joshua v Wilder (Friday November 10 2017)

Wilder Would Travel to the UK to Face AJ (Thursday November 9 2017)

McDonnell v Solis Fight Report (Sunday November 5 2017)

Wilder Calls Out Anthony Joshua (Sunday November 5 2017)

Wilder v Stiverne Weigh-In (Saturday November 4 2017)

Disappointment for Dillian Whyte? (Friday November 3 2017)

Tyson Fury v Shannon Briggs? (Friday November 3 2017)

Chisora looking for World Title Fight (Wednesday November 1 2017)

World Champ Taylor Set for Dec 15 Fight (Wednesday November 1 2017)

Whyte beats Helenius on Points (Sunday October 29 2017)

Joshua Stops Takem in Round 10 (Sunday October 29 2017)

Taylor v Sanchez Big Fight Preview (Saturday October 28 2017)

Whyte Looking to March on Towards Wilder (Saturday October 28 2017)

Yafai Looking for a Victory and the US (Saturday October 28 2017)

Joshua v Takem Weigh-In News (Friday October 27 2017)

DeGale Makes Return to Ring in the UK (Friday October 27 2017)

Wilder Yearns for Joshua Match-Up (Friday October 27 2017)

Selby Ready for Warrington Challenge (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Flanagan Next for Linares? (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Whyte Faces Tough Test v Helenius (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Joshua’s First Choice Was Whyte (Monday October 23 2017)

Catterall Claims British Title (Monday October 23 2017)

Joyce Looking to Fight Sexton Next (Sunday October 22 2017)

Kelly Impresses on Burnett Under-Card (Sunday October 22 2017)

Hearn on AJ v Wilder (Sunday October 22 2017)

Heavyweight Joyce Wins Pro-Debut (Saturday October 21 2017)

Burnett v Zhakiyanov Saturday in Belfast (Thursday October 19 2017)

Saunders to Defend Title against Lemieux (Thursday October 19 2017)

Joshua in no rush to make US Debut (Wednesday October 18 2017)

New Opponent for Anthony Joshua (Tuesday October 17 2017)

Groves Stops Cox in 4 Rounds (Sunday October 15 2017)

DeGale Talks Groves Re-Match (Thursday October 12 2017)

Joshua Lashes Out at his Detractors (Tuesday October 10 2017)

Get Well Soon Gary (Monday October 9 2017)

Benn KO’s Clarke In 1st Round (Sunday October 8 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. Vital Merlin 39
9. hogeyman 31
10. eliza jhon 19

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Did the referee Stop the Joshua v Takem Fight too early?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 38%
No! 62%
Not Sure! 0%