Vital Boxing | There値l Be No Golovkin Fight for the Winner
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

There値l Be No Golovkin Fight for the Winner

Over in Las Vegas tonight, two fighters with huge reputations go head-to-head when Miguel Cotto and Saul Canelo Alvarez clash.

It is a fight that many are predicting could be a classic and could go either way with some suggesting that whoever wins could be the next opponent for the IBF / IBO / WBA middleweight champion Gennady Golovkin.

However, it appears that may not be the case with Dan Rafael indicating that the contracts for the match-up tonight contain a re-match clause which can be invoked by whoever loses.

Discussing the subject Rafael, using his Twitter account, has remarked,

的知 told Cotto-Canelo contains mutual rematch language. Good chance there痴 a rematch either way, although some grey areas exist in lingo,

釘ottom line is that there is virtually zero chance no matter who wins that GGG gets the winner. No shot.


Which to fight fans is hugely disappointing. If Golovkin were to fight either Miguel Cotto or Saul Canelo Alvarez, it would be one of those career defining fights we all hanker for.

Perhaps the only way the re-match clause won稚 come to fruition is if either Cotto or Alvarez wins a totally one-sided affair but I can稚 see that happening, can you?


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Saturday November 21 2015

Time: 12:00PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Brook Fancies Spence Job (Tuesday May 23 2017)

Whyte Pulls Out of Wach Fight (Wednesday May 17 2017)

Adams Wins in Round Two (Sunday May 14 2017)

Gavin Wins on Points (Sunday May 14 2017)

Wladimir Keeping Everyone Waiting (Saturday May 13 2017)

Tyson Fury Left in Limbo (Saturday May 13 2017)

Gavin in Last Chance Saloon (Monday May 8 2017)

Has Eddie Hearn Set the Trend? (Monday May 8 2017)

Tyson Fury Talks AJ (Sunday May 7 2017)

Alvarez Beats Chavez on Points (Sunday May 7 2017)

Parker Wants Joshua Fight (Friday May 5 2017)

Tyson Fury Won稚 Come Back (Friday May 5 2017)

Happy Birthday Duke McKenzie (Friday May 5 2017)

The US Can Wait (Friday May 5 2017)

AJ Wants UK Fights (Friday May 5 2017)

Joshua IBF Belt Relinquish Talk (Thursday May 4 2017)

Wilder Interested in Bellew Fight (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Khan Wants that Wembley Experience (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Khan Eyes November Ring Return (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Coming Soon to Vital Boxing (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Stepping on the Gas (Monday May 1 2017)

Hearn Talks Joshua (Monday May 1 2017)

Bellew Won稚 Fight Joshua (Monday May 1 2017)

Cordina Wins in Round One (Monday May 1 2017)

Klitschko Wants Joshua Re-Match (Sunday April 30 2017)

You Voted for a Joshua Win (Sunday April 30 2017)

Joshua Wants Fury Fight (Sunday April 30 2017)

Joshua KO痴 Klitschko in Round 11 (Sunday April 30 2017)

Wembley Stadium Running Order (Saturday April 29 2017)

Vitali痴 Backing Wladimir (Thursday April 27 2017)

Wladimir the Memory Stick Man (Thursday April 27 2017)

Lewis Tips Joshua to Win (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Is Tyson Fury on the way back? (Tuesday April 25 2017)

Hughie Fury v Joseph Parker Off (Monday April 24 2017)

Murray v Rosado Liverpool Tonight (Saturday April 22 2017)

Joshua Ready for All-Comers (Saturday April 22 2017)

Conlan to Fight in Chicago (Thursday April 20 2017)

Fourth Time Lucky for Saint George? (Thursday April 20 2017)

Joshua and Fury in Social Network Blast (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Fury v Parker Set for UK Move? (Sunday April 16 2017)

Okolie Makes It 2 KO担 out of 2 (Sunday April 16 2017)

The Views of the Boxers (Sunday April 16 2017)

Indongo Confident of Beating Burns (Friday April 14 2017)

Touting Rules the Roost (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Campbell Added to Wembley Show (Monday April 10 2017)

A Bad Week for Frampton (Sunday April 9 2017)

Selby Ordered to Fight Barros (Sunday April 9 2017)

What Next for Flanagan? (Sunday April 9 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 706
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 123
5. Fulham Badger 103
6. Kid Glove 76
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Josh Warrington v Kiko Martinez?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Warrington to Win! 50%
Martinez to Win! 50%
A Draw! 0%