Vital Boxing | Malignaggi’s Opponent Makes Weight at 2nd Attempt
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Malignaggi’s Opponent Makes Weight at 2nd Attempt

Making a rare appearance in the UK at the O2 Arena, in London, on the undercard of the Joshua v Whyte card will be the New York fighter Paulie Malignaggi.

Malignaggi, no stranger to fighting for world titles, is set to face the Italian fighter, Antonio Moscatiello, for the vacant EBU welterweight belt.

Here at Vital Boxing, we’re surmising that Malignaggi is allowed to compete for the European title due to his Italian heritage.

At the weigh-in today there was a bit of drama. Malignaggi weighed in at 146.5 lbs, just inside the limit, however, his opponent, Moscatiello, initially weighed in at 147.25 lbs and had to work the additional weight off before finally making the 147 lb limit.

There are suspicions doing the rounds that Malignaggi has been invited on to the bill by Matchroom promotions as a possible / viable opponent for the current IBF welterweight champion Kell Brook.

Although Brook would love to get the Khan fight sealed, the Sheffield fighter knows that could possibly still be six months away and that the scenario could shift anytime soon.

Mallignaggi enters the ring with a record that reads 34-7 with 7 wins coming by way of knockout whilst Moscatiello enters the ring with a record that reads 20-2 with 14 wins coming by way of knockout.

As for picking a winner, it remains to be seen how much Malignaggi has left in the tank. The New York fighter isn’t a heavy puncher but is blessed with some sublime boxing skills, but can Moscatiello get to him to slow him down and land a blow that could cause a stoppage?

Here at Vital Boxing, sat in the editorial chair, I think not, my money is on Malignaggi to take the decision on points.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Friday December 11 2015

Time: 6:46PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Has Whyte Got Wilder Riled? (Sunday June 25 2017)

Josh Kelly – A New Star is Born (Sunday June 25 2017)

Copper Box Arena - July 8th Update (Thursday June 22 2017)

Is This Golovkin’s Last Fight? (Thursday June 22 2017)

Tyson Fury Let’s Rip Again (Thursday June 22 2017)

Brook Wants Another Fight in 2017 (Thursday June 22 2017)

Ward Beats Kovalev in Re-Match (Sunday June 18 2017)

Smith Loses Third World Title Bid (Sunday June 18 2017)

Wilder Arrested in Alabama (Friday June 16 2017)

The Circus Will Take Place (Thursday June 15 2017)

Haye Fined (Thursday June 15 2017)

Frampton Comeback Fight Confirmed (Wednesday June 14 2017)

Burnett Verdict to be changed (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Burnett v Haskins – Quote Fest (Sunday June 11 2017)

A Truly Shocking Verdict (Sunday June 11 2017)

Make Your Mind Up Wladimir (Saturday June 10 2017)

Bellew Set for Conte Bout Next? (Saturday June 10 2017)

Whyte Headed for the US (Saturday June 10 2017)

DeGale Disrespects Groves (Thursday June 8 2017)

Good News for AJ (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Frampton Set for July Comeback (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Tyson's Views on AJ (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Buatsi Turns Professional (Monday June 5 2017)

Crolla Talks Manchester Arena (Sunday June 4 2017)

Should Haye Call It a Day? (Sunday June 4 2017)

Haye Splits from McGuigan (Saturday June 3 2017)

Conor Benn Set for Ring Return (Saturday June 3 2017)

Eubank Jnr v Abraham Draws Nearer (Saturday June 3 2017)

Words of Wisdom from Klitschko (Saturday June 3 2017)

Eubank Jnr Set for Abraham Fight (Thursday June 1 2017)

Bramall Lane Running Order Tonight (Saturday May 27 2017)

Conlan Wins by TKO (Saturday May 27 2017)

Ingle Talks Brook (Thursday May 25 2017)

Fury Left Feeling Frustrated (Thursday May 25 2017)

Porter’s Sour Grapes (Thursday May 25 2017)

Brook Not on the Slide (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Brook Fancies Spence Job (Tuesday May 23 2017)

Whyte Pulls Out of Wach Fight (Wednesday May 17 2017)

Adams Wins in Round Two (Sunday May 14 2017)

Gavin Wins on Points (Sunday May 14 2017)

Wladimir Keeping Everyone Waiting (Saturday May 13 2017)

Tyson Fury Left in Limbo (Saturday May 13 2017)

Gavin in Last Chance Saloon (Monday May 8 2017)

Has Eddie Hearn Set the Trend? (Monday May 8 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 130
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Should David Haye Call It a Day?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 50%
No! 50%
Not Sure! 0%