Vital Boxing | Eubank Stops Spike O’Sullivan
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Eubank Stops Spike O’Sullivan

The chief support fight on the under-card at the O2 Arena, in London, saw Chris Eubank Jr take on Gary ‘Spike’ O’Sullivan in a final eliminator for the world middleweight title held by Daniel Jacobs.

The build-up to the fight had been fruity to say the least with O’Sullivan planting a kiss full on the lips of Eubank Jr at the weigh-in, some reckoned that act may have been the perfect ammunition to fire Eubank Jr up.

With a solitary defeat on his record against Eubank Jr, a fight in which Eubank Jr had been accused of starting the first six rounds slowly, the same accusation couldn’t be levelled against Eubank Jr last night.

Eubank Jr started at a sizzling pace unload combination after combination and looking as if he wanted to stop O’Sullivan with every punch thrown, but the Irish fighter showed that he had a granite chin.

As the relentless pace, set by Eubank Jr continued, O’Sullivan was caught with huge right uppercuts and left hooks but didn’t appear to waiver.

However, the sheer quantity and quality of punches thrown by Eubank Jr was sapping the energy out of O’Sullivan and the fifth, sixth and seventh rounds were so one-sided it looked to be only a matter of time before the fight was stopped.

But when the end did come it was an act of compassion from O’Sullivan’s corner who retired their man at the end of the seventh round, there was no show of anger from O’Sullivan who accepted that he’d given his best but, on the night, Eubank Jr was by far the better fighter.

It remains to be seen when Eubank Jr gets his world title fight against Daniel Jacobs but on the evidence of last night, he appears ready for his opportunity.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday December 13 2015

Time: 9:42AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Brook Not on the Slide (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Brook Fancies Spence Job (Tuesday May 23 2017)

Whyte Pulls Out of Wach Fight (Wednesday May 17 2017)

Adams Wins in Round Two (Sunday May 14 2017)

Gavin Wins on Points (Sunday May 14 2017)

Wladimir Keeping Everyone Waiting (Saturday May 13 2017)

Tyson Fury Left in Limbo (Saturday May 13 2017)

Gavin in Last Chance Saloon (Monday May 8 2017)

Has Eddie Hearn Set the Trend? (Monday May 8 2017)

Tyson Fury Talks AJ (Sunday May 7 2017)

Alvarez Beats Chavez on Points (Sunday May 7 2017)

Parker Wants Joshua Fight (Friday May 5 2017)

Tyson Fury Won’t Come Back (Friday May 5 2017)

The US Can Wait (Friday May 5 2017)

AJ Wants UK Fights (Friday May 5 2017)

Joshua IBF Belt Relinquish Talk (Thursday May 4 2017)

Wilder Interested in Bellew Fight (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Khan Wants that Wembley Experience (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Khan Eyes November Ring Return (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Coming Soon to Vital Boxing (Wednesday May 3 2017)

Stepping on the Gas (Monday May 1 2017)

Hearn Talks Joshua (Monday May 1 2017)

Bellew Won’t Fight Joshua (Monday May 1 2017)

Cordina Wins in Round One (Monday May 1 2017)

Klitschko Wants Joshua Re-Match (Sunday April 30 2017)

You Voted for a Joshua Win (Sunday April 30 2017)

Joshua Wants Fury Fight (Sunday April 30 2017)

Wembley Stadium – Running Order (Saturday April 29 2017)

Vitali’s Backing Wladimir (Thursday April 27 2017)

Wladimir the Memory Stick Man (Thursday April 27 2017)

Lewis Tips Joshua to Win (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Is Tyson Fury on the way back? (Tuesday April 25 2017)

Hughie Fury v Joseph Parker Off (Monday April 24 2017)

Murray v Rosado – Liverpool Tonight (Saturday April 22 2017)

Joshua Ready for All-Comers (Saturday April 22 2017)

Conlan to Fight in Chicago (Thursday April 20 2017)

Fourth Time Lucky for Saint George? (Thursday April 20 2017)

Joshua and Fury in Social Network Blast (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Fury v Parker – Set for UK Move? (Sunday April 16 2017)

Okolie Makes It 2 KO’S out of 2 (Sunday April 16 2017)

The Views of the Boxers (Sunday April 16 2017)

Indongo Confident of Beating Burns (Friday April 14 2017)

Touting Rules the Roost (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Campbell Added to Wembley Show (Monday April 10 2017)

A Bad Week for Frampton (Sunday April 9 2017)

Selby Ordered to Fight Barros (Sunday April 9 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 706
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 123
5. Fulham Badger 103
6. Kid Glove 76
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Josh Warrington v Kiko Martinez?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Warrington to Win! 50%
Martinez to Win! 50%
A Draw! 0%