Vital Boxing | Smith Looks Beyond Kelly Defence
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Smith Looks Beyond Kelly Defence

The Manchester Arena hosts a Frank Warren promotion tonight and one of the bouts on the bill features Liam Smith defending his WBO light-middleweight title.

Liam became the first of the four fighting Smith brothers, from Liverpool, to claim a world title when he stopped the American fighter, John Thompson, back in October.

His opponent for this first defence is the Manchester fighter Jimmy Kelly, who is fighting for a world title in only his 17th professional fight.

Smith, the favourite to win, is already looking down the road at who he wants to fight next and has identified the Porto Rican legend Miguel Cotto as a possible opponent.

Talking about Cotto, ahead of the bout with Kelly, Smith has remarked,

'Miguel Cotto is up there as one of the names I want to face.

'Cotto's been a great champion and to beat him will take me to that next level. I definitely believe I have what it takes to overcome him because my style would cause him some big problems.

'I know Kelly is going to go into the ring thinking this is his big chance but I'm not going to give him an inch.

'I have big ambitions and I'm not going to be foolish and overlook the threat he will bring. But there are some major fights for me if I come through this one.'


Twenty-seven year-old Smith enters this defence unbeaten in twenty-one fights but the champion needs to be wary of the threat Kelly presents, with the Kelly camp confident their man can do a job tonight, with Ensley Bingham, his trainer, remarking,

'While we've been able to study tapes of all of Liam's fights, there's very little footage available of Jimmy.

'That's hugely to our advantage. Trust me, he's just as capable. It's just no-one's seen it yet. A Jimmy Kelly victory would be an upset in most eyes, but not mine.

'He's got the better skills. His balance, movement, angles and punch-picking are exceptional. He also brings unbelievable core strength from all the wrestling he's done.

'He's deceptively tough and durable for a tall lad and if the Smith camp think Jimmy doesn't hit hard, that'll play massively to our advantage. Jimmy's very dangerous with either hand, and to head or body.'


Could tonight be Kelly’s night or will Smith just have too much for him?

It’s an intriguing fight and one I believe could go either way.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Saturday December 19 2015

Time: 11:59AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Tyson Fury Talking about AJ Fight (Wednesday December 13 2017)

Brook Back in Action in March 2018 (Monday December 11 2017)

DeGale Loses World Title to Truax (Sunday December 10 2017)

Haye v Bellew II – 5 May 2018 Confirmed (Wednesday December 6 2017)

DeGale Tips Groves to Beat Eubank Jnr (Sunday December 3 2017)

Price Gets Back to Winning Ways (Sunday December 3 2017)

Ortiz Escapes WBC Ban (Sunday December 3 2017)

Cotto's Career End in Defeat (Sunday December 3 2017)

Hearn Rejects 65-35 Purse Split Offer (Thursday November 23 2017)

Haye v Bellew Re-Match – Postponed (Tuesday November 21 2017)

Conlan World Title Bid Ends in Defeat (Sunday November 19 2017)

Frampton Beats Garcia on Points (Sunday November 19 2017)

Frampton’s Illustrious Ringside Company (Thursday November 16 2017)

DeGale and Selby Opponents Named (Wednesday November 15 2017)

Benn Makes Successful Debut on US Soil (Tuesday November 14 2017)

Taylor KO's Vazquez in 9 Rounds (Sunday November 12 2017)

Smith Beats Williams on Points (Sunday November 12 2017)

Smith v Williams - The Re-Match (Friday November 10 2017)

2018 Will See Joshua v Wilder (Friday November 10 2017)

Wilder Would Travel to the UK to Face AJ (Thursday November 9 2017)

McDonnell v Solis Fight Report (Sunday November 5 2017)

Wilder Calls Out Anthony Joshua (Sunday November 5 2017)

Wilder v Stiverne Weigh-In (Saturday November 4 2017)

Disappointment for Dillian Whyte? (Friday November 3 2017)

Tyson Fury v Shannon Briggs? (Friday November 3 2017)

Chisora looking for World Title Fight (Wednesday November 1 2017)

World Champ Taylor Set for Dec 15 Fight (Wednesday November 1 2017)

Whyte beats Helenius on Points (Sunday October 29 2017)

Joshua Stops Takem in Round 10 (Sunday October 29 2017)

Taylor v Sanchez Big Fight Preview (Saturday October 28 2017)

Whyte Looking to March on Towards Wilder (Saturday October 28 2017)

Yafai Looking for a Victory and the US (Saturday October 28 2017)

Joshua v Takem Weigh-In News (Friday October 27 2017)

DeGale Makes Return to Ring in the UK (Friday October 27 2017)

Wilder Yearns for Joshua Match-Up (Friday October 27 2017)

Selby Ready for Warrington Challenge (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Flanagan Next for Linares? (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Whyte Faces Tough Test v Helenius (Tuesday October 24 2017)

Joshua’s First Choice Was Whyte (Monday October 23 2017)

Catterall Claims British Title (Monday October 23 2017)

Joyce Looking to Fight Sexton Next (Sunday October 22 2017)

Kelly Impresses on Burnett Under-Card (Sunday October 22 2017)

Hearn on AJ v Wilder (Sunday October 22 2017)

Heavyweight Joyce Wins Pro-Debut (Saturday October 21 2017)

Burnett v Zhakiyanov Saturday in Belfast (Thursday October 19 2017)

Saunders to Defend Title against Lemieux (Thursday October 19 2017)

Joshua in no rush to make US Debut (Wednesday October 18 2017)

New Opponent for Anthony Joshua (Tuesday October 17 2017)

Groves Stops Cox in 4 Rounds (Sunday October 15 2017)

DeGale Talks Groves Re-Match (Thursday October 12 2017)

Joshua Lashes Out at his Detractors (Tuesday October 10 2017)

Get Well Soon Gary (Monday October 9 2017)

Benn KO’s Clarke In 1st Round (Sunday October 8 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. Vital Merlin 39
9. hogeyman 31
10. eliza jhon 19

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Did the referee Stop the Joshua v Takem Fight too early?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 38%
No! 62%
Not Sure! 0%