Vital Boxing | Flanagan v Matthews – Date Moved
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Flanagan v Matthews – Date Moved

Those of you who were eagerly anticipating the 13th February domestic bout for the WBO lightweight championship between Terry Flanagan and Derry Matthews, will have to wait just a little bit longer.

It was announced yesterday that Flanagan has an injury that has prevented him from sparring / training.

The exact nature of the injury is described as severe tendonitis in the left foot.

Talking about the injury and the re-scheduling of the fight, which is now taking place in the same venue but on Saturday 12th March, Flanagan is quoted as having remarked,

“This is a real blow to me as I’ve never pulled out of a fight because of an injury before and I’ve always fought through them, it’s not in my fighter’s make up to pull out of fights and my fans know that about me. I always give them one hundred per cent when I’m in the ring, no matter what. I’ve had to take the advice of the medical specialists on this occasion and postpone my defence against Mathews to begin physiotherapy. I’ll be taking my treatment as seriously as I’m training for a fight and I will return back to my best, ready to defend my title successfully against Mathews on Saturday 12th March at the Echo Arena.”

Also expressing his disappointment at the fact the show has had to be moved is the promoter, Frank Warren, who has put a lot of time and effort into formulating the show, promoting it and now having to reschedule it, with the promoter quoted as having remarked about the situation,

“We’re all disappointed that Terry has suffered an injury and is unable to make the original date, but we’ve worked hard to ensure the mouth-watering world title showdown between Flanagan and Mathews remains the top of the bill for the new date of Saturday 12th March. I maintain that it’s going to be real war between these two warriors who are going to put everything on the line on the night. The rest of the card will remain the same with Langford and Askin in title defences and an undercard stacked with talent.”

Here at Vital Boxing we’re sure the additional wait will be worth it with the fight having the potential to be a right cracker.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Thursday January 28 2016

Time: 4:41PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Linares Ordered to Face Campbell (Sunday July 23 2017)

Smith v Williams Re-Match Announced (Saturday July 22 2017)

Will Tyson Fury Fight Again? (Friday July 21 2017)

Flanagan v Verdejo Postponed (Friday July 21 2017)

Martin J Ward Makes History (Sunday July 16 2017)

Davies Jnr Loses to Syrowtka (Sunday July 16 2017)

Selby Beats Barros on Points (Sunday July 16 2017)

Haye Back in the Ring in December (Thursday July 13 2017)

Eubank Snr Courts Controversy (Thursday July 13 2017)

Pacquiao Set to Fight On (Thursday July 13 2017)

Brit Seeds Choose their Opponents (Monday July 10 2017)

More Taylor v Burns Talk (Monday July 10 2017)

Who Is Next for Ricky Burns? (Monday July 10 2017)

Taylor Wants Burns Fight Next (Monday July 10 2017)

Dubois Marches On (Sunday July 9 2017)

Skeete Retains British Title (Sunday July 9 2017)

Taylor Stops Davies in 7 Rounds (Sunday July 9 2017)

Pacquiao Requests WBO Review Fight (Wednesday July 5 2017)

Haye Retire? How Did You Vote? (Sunday July 2 2017)

Conlan Makes it 3 out of 3 (Sunday July 2 2017)

Buglioni Retains British Title (Sunday July 2 2017)

Summertime Brawl Running Order (Saturday July 1 2017)

Iron Mike Turns 51 (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins - Reactions (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins III Is On (Thursday June 29 2017)

Ward Hints at Bellew Fight (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Has Whyte Got Wilder Riled? (Sunday June 25 2017)

Josh Kelly – A New Star is Born (Sunday June 25 2017)

Copper Box Arena - July 8th Update (Thursday June 22 2017)

Is This Golovkin’s Last Fight? (Thursday June 22 2017)

Tyson Fury Let’s Rip Again (Thursday June 22 2017)

Brook Wants Another Fight in 2017 (Thursday June 22 2017)

Ward Beats Kovalev in Re-Match (Sunday June 18 2017)

Smith Loses Third World Title Bid (Sunday June 18 2017)

Wilder Arrested in Alabama (Friday June 16 2017)

The Circus Will Take Place (Thursday June 15 2017)

Haye Fined (Thursday June 15 2017)

Frampton Comeback Fight Confirmed (Wednesday June 14 2017)

Burnett Verdict to be changed (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Burnett v Haskins – Quote Fest (Sunday June 11 2017)

A Truly Shocking Verdict (Sunday June 11 2017)

Make Your Mind Up Wladimir (Saturday June 10 2017)

Bellew Set for Conte Bout Next? (Saturday June 10 2017)

Whyte Headed for the US (Saturday June 10 2017)

DeGale Disrespects Groves (Thursday June 8 2017)

Good News for AJ (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Frampton Set for July Comeback (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Tyson's Views on AJ (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Buatsi Turns Professional (Monday June 5 2017)

Crolla Talks Manchester Arena (Sunday June 4 2017)

Should Haye Call It a Day? (Sunday June 4 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Is Eubank Jnr the Best Super-Middleweight Out There?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 72%
No! 28%
Undecided! 0%