Vital Boxing | Kovalev Beats Pascal in Seven
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Kovalev Beats Pascal in Seven

Over in Montreal, Canada, last night Sergey Kovalev showed his class in destroying Jean Pascal.

Defending his IBF / WBA /WBO light-heavyweight belts, Kovalev appeared to revel in taking Pascal apart in a one-sided affair.

With several facial injuries, including damage to his left eye and nose, Pascal was pulled out of the fight in the seventh round by his trainer, Freddie Roach, to prevent further damage being inflicted.

Talking to the media afterwards, Kovalev talked about punishing Pascal for being a bad person, remarking,

I was fighting more to give him [Pascal] more pain, to punish him more,.

I dont respect him at all.


And when pushed on future opponents, possibly a fight against Andre Ward, Kovalev added,

'Im very happy if this fight will happen.

Although the talk then switched to a possible bout against Adonis Stevenson, with Kovalev further remarking,

Id like to unify all the titles. Id like to fight Adonis Chickenson'

The win takes Kovalev's record to 29-0-1 with 26 wins coming by the big knockout whilst Pascal slips to 30-4-1 with 17 wins coming by stoppage.

Is there anyone out there who can stop the Kovalev bandwagon?



The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday January 31 2016

Time: 10:46AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Canelo Wont Face Golovkin Again Claim (Tuesday September 19 2017)

Saunders Looking for Khan Fight (Tuesday September 19 2017)

Haye v Bellew 2 On the Cards (Tuesday September 19 2017)

Golovkin Wants Saunders Showdown (Monday September 18 2017)

Fury Still Wants Joshua Showdown (Monday September 18 2017)

Yarde Wants Buglioni Fight (Monday September 18 2017)

Is a New Heavyweight Star Upon Us? (Monday September 18 2017)

Adams Vegas Debut Postponed (Sunday September 17 2017)

Saunders Beats Monroe Jnr on Points (Sunday September 17 2017)

Golovkin v Canelo Weigh-In (Saturday September 16 2017)

Billy Joe Saunders Weigh-In Kerfuffle (Saturday September 16 2017)

Callum Smith ready for WBSS Opening Bout (Tuesday September 12 2017)

Taylor Gets World Title Opportunity (Tuesday September 12 2017)

Yafai v Ishida Confirmed for AJ Under-Card (Thursday September 7 2017)

Frampton Confirms Moore as his trainer (Thursday September 7 2017)

AJ Looking Forward to Welsh Date (Wednesday September 6 2017)

Pulev Lets the Cat Out of The Bag (Tuesday September 5 2017)

Is That It for Manny Pacquiao? (Friday September 1 2017)

Frampton Set for Hearn Reunion? (Friday September 1 2017)

Wilder v Ortiz On The Cards (Monday August 28 2017)

Davis stops Fonseca in Eight Rounds (Monday August 28 2017)

McGregor Rues Early Stoppage (Sunday August 27 2017)

Cleverly Threatens to Make Jack Pay (Thursday August 24 2017)

Whyte Wins on US Debut (Sunday August 20 2017)

Crawford KOs Indongo to Unify Titles (Sunday August 20 2017)

Frampton Looking for NEW Opponent (Friday August 18 2017)

Burns v Crolla - October 7th (Saturday August 12 2017)

Smith v Williams Venue Announced (Sunday August 6 2017)

Joshua Being Pushed Into a Corner (Friday August 4 2017)

Klitschkos Retirement Video (Thursday August 3 2017)

Who Will Be Next for Joshua? (Thursday August 3 2017)

Will You Go PPV for the Big-Fight (Wednesday August 2 2017)

Garcia Outclasses Broner (Sunday July 30 2017)

Taylor Makes it 6 from 6 (Sunday July 30 2017)

Joshua Talks Mike Tyson (Saturday July 29 2017)

Frampton v Gutierrez Called Off (Saturday July 29 2017)

Tyson Fury Retires? (Thursday July 27 2017)

Joshua v Klitschko Re-Match 11/11/17? (Wednesday July 26 2017)

Ricky Burns v Josh Taylor? (Tuesday July 25 2017)

Linares Ordered to Face Campbell (Sunday July 23 2017)

Smith v Williams Re-Match Announced (Saturday July 22 2017)

Will Tyson Fury Fight Again? (Friday July 21 2017)

Flanagan v Verdejo Postponed (Friday July 21 2017)

Martin J Ward Makes History (Sunday July 16 2017)

Davies Jnr Loses to Syrowtka (Sunday July 16 2017)

Selby Beats Barros on Points (Sunday July 16 2017)

Haye Back in the Ring in December (Thursday July 13 2017)

Eubank Snr Courts Controversy (Thursday July 13 2017)

Pacquiao Set to Fight On (Thursday July 13 2017)

Brit Seeds Choose their Opponents (Monday July 10 2017)

More Taylor v Burns Talk (Monday July 10 2017)

Who Is Next for Ricky Burns? (Monday July 10 2017)

Taylor Wants Burns Fight Next (Monday July 10 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 18

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Who Did You Think Won the Golovkin v Alvarez Fight?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Gennady Golovkin 86%
Saul 'Canelo' Alvarez 14%