Vital Boxing | Frampton Beats Quigg By a Split Decision
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Frampton Beats Quigg By a Split Decision

Billed as having the potential to be a classic fight, the super-bantamweight world title unification fight between Carl Frampton and Scott Quigg was far from that.

In fact, with the build-up it was afforded it could quite easily be described as a stinker.

Whereas we thought both fighters would be stood toe-to-toe, neither boxer was prepared to risk getting caught with Quigg, in the first six rounds, offering very little in the way of offensive attacking work

By the time Quigg woke up, after Joe Gallagher, in his corner, told him he was 6-1 down after seven rounds, Frampton almost had the fight in the bag, nicking the early rounds with a crisp jab that occasionally connected although never really troubled the fighter from Bury.

With the IBF super-bantamweight and WBA titles at stake, you’d have thought the action would have been more entertaining.

Perhaps it did a little in the 8th and 9th rounds but it still wasn’t the kind of fight that the audience screaming for me.

In fact the fight’s brightest round was the 10th when Quigg kind of realised he was going to lose the fight his world title belt and his unbeaten record if he didn’t stop Frampton.

But any punches Quigg unleashed, might have stopped Frampton in his tracks but the durable Irishman knew, by know, he had Quigg’s number.

The11th round saw Quigg pushing forward again but Frampton, knowing Quigg had to stop him to win, coped well enough.

Coming out for the last round Quigg knew it was all or nothing but Frampton knew the fight was in the bag and an Ali-shuffle showed the huge crowd he knew he was going to be going back to Ireland with both the belts and his unbeaten record intact.

When the final bell sounded, both boxers lifted their arms in the air believing they were the victors as we awaited the judge’s verdicts.

As it turned out, it was a split decision with Frampton getting the verdict 116-112 on the cards of two judges whilst the third, strangely, gave the fight to Quigg by 115-113.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday February 28 2016

Time: 10:30AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Frampton Looking for NEW Opponent (Friday August 18 2017)

Burns v Crolla - October 7th (Saturday August 12 2017)

Smith v Williams Venue Announced (Sunday August 6 2017)

Joshua Being Pushed Into a Corner (Friday August 4 2017)

Klitschko’s Retirement Video (Thursday August 3 2017)

Who Will Be Next for Joshua? (Thursday August 3 2017)

Will You Go PPV for the Big-Fight (Wednesday August 2 2017)

Garcia Outclasses Broner (Sunday July 30 2017)

Taylor Makes it 6 from 6 (Sunday July 30 2017)

Joshua Talks Mike Tyson (Saturday July 29 2017)

Frampton v Gutierrez Called Off (Saturday July 29 2017)

Tyson Fury Retires? (Thursday July 27 2017)

Ricky Burns v Josh Taylor? (Tuesday July 25 2017)

Linares Ordered to Face Campbell (Sunday July 23 2017)

Smith v Williams Re-Match Announced (Saturday July 22 2017)

Will Tyson Fury Fight Again? (Friday July 21 2017)

Flanagan v Verdejo Postponed (Friday July 21 2017)

Martin J Ward Makes History (Sunday July 16 2017)

Davies Jnr Loses to Syrowtka (Sunday July 16 2017)

Selby Beats Barros on Points (Sunday July 16 2017)

Haye Back in the Ring in December (Thursday July 13 2017)

Eubank Snr Courts Controversy (Thursday July 13 2017)

Pacquiao Set to Fight On (Thursday July 13 2017)

Brit Seeds Choose their Opponents (Monday July 10 2017)

More Taylor v Burns Talk (Monday July 10 2017)

Who Is Next for Ricky Burns? (Monday July 10 2017)

Taylor Wants Burns Fight Next (Monday July 10 2017)

Dubois Marches On (Sunday July 9 2017)

Skeete Retains British Title (Sunday July 9 2017)

Taylor Stops Davies in 7 Rounds (Sunday July 9 2017)

Pacquiao Requests WBO Review Fight (Wednesday July 5 2017)

Haye Retire? How Did You Vote? (Sunday July 2 2017)

Conlan Makes it 3 out of 3 (Sunday July 2 2017)

Buglioni Retains British Title (Sunday July 2 2017)

Summertime Brawl Running Order (Saturday July 1 2017)

Iron Mike Turns 51 (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins - Reactions (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins III Is On (Thursday June 29 2017)

Ward Hints at Bellew Fight (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Has Whyte Got Wilder Riled? (Sunday June 25 2017)

Josh Kelly – A New Star is Born (Sunday June 25 2017)

Copper Box Arena - July 8th Update (Thursday June 22 2017)

Is This Golovkin’s Last Fight? (Thursday June 22 2017)

Tyson Fury Let’s Rip Again (Thursday June 22 2017)

Brook Wants Another Fight in 2017 (Thursday June 22 2017)

Ward Beats Kovalev in Re-Match (Sunday June 18 2017)

Smith Loses Third World Title Bid (Sunday June 18 2017)

Wilder Arrested in Alabama (Friday June 16 2017)

The Circus Will Take Place (Thursday June 15 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Is Eubank Jnr the Best Super-Middleweight Out There?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 38%
No! 47%
Undecided! 15%