Vital Boxing | Eubank Jnr Claims British Middleweight Title
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Eubank Jnr Claims British Middleweight Title

Last night, at the SSE Arena Wembley, Chris Eubank Jnr achieved his dream of winning the British middleweight title.

Having sacrificed a shot at a version of the world title, for the time being, to take on Nick Blackwell for the British title, Eubank Jnr produced the kind of performance that should see him make in-roads towards a tilt at the world title.

However, the night was to end worryingly with, after being stopped in the 10th round due to a nasty eye injury that saw his left eye close courtesy of a huge swelling, Blackwell collapsed and had to be carried away on a stretcher.

The fight was brutal; Blackwell caught Eubank Jnr with some stiff jabs but couldn’t keep the challenger at bay. Tome and time again Eubank Jnr caught Blackwell with some vicious upper-cuts that rocked the champions’ head back.

Blackwell’s failure to move his head as he tried to get close to Eubank Jnr saw him caught far too often and when the constant stream of uppercuts stopped, Eubank Jnr switched his attacks to the body, taking the wind out of Blackwell’s sails.

Knowing he had the measure of Blackwell, Eubank Jnr resorted to exchanging ringside insults with Billy Joe Saunders and it almost proved to be his undoing with Blackwell catching Eubank Jnr with a crisp right-hand that appeared to trouble him.

Eubank Jnr continued to mount early assaults in each round and at one stage, with blood streaming from his nose and mouth, it looked as if Blackwell would be stopped, buy just as the referee, Victor Loughlin, looked ready to step in Blackwell unloaded a few punches of his own.

As the fight progressed to the tenth round Eubank Jnr was picking off Blackwell who, by now, was struggling to see out of a fast closing left-eye, concerned that unable to see out of that left-eye the ringside doctor was consulted and the fight was stopped.

Eubank Jnr accepted the adulation of the crowd for what had been a thrilling fight but those celebrations became somewhat muted when Blackwell collapsed and had to exit the ring on a stretcher.

Our congratulations go to Eubank Jnr but our thoughts this Easter Sunday are with Blackwell and we hope he makes a full recovery.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday March 27 2016

Time: 10:55AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Vitali’s Backing Wladimir (Thursday April 27 2017)

Wladimir the Memory Stick Man (Thursday April 27 2017)

Lewis Tips Joshua to Win (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Is Tyson Fury on the way back? (Tuesday April 25 2017)

Hughie Fury v Joseph Parker Off (Monday April 24 2017)

Murray v Rosado – Liverpool Tonight (Saturday April 22 2017)

Joshua Ready for All-Comers (Saturday April 22 2017)

Conlan to Fight in Chicago (Thursday April 20 2017)

Fourth Time Lucky for Saint George? (Thursday April 20 2017)

Joshua and Fury in Social Network Blast (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Fury v Parker – Set for UK Move? (Sunday April 16 2017)

Okolie Makes It 2 KO’S out of 2 (Sunday April 16 2017)

The Views of the Boxers (Sunday April 16 2017)

Indongo Confident of Beating Burns (Friday April 14 2017)

Touting Rules the Roost (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Campbell Added to Wembley Show (Monday April 10 2017)

A Bad Week for Frampton (Sunday April 9 2017)

Selby Ordered to Fight Barros (Sunday April 9 2017)

What Next for Flanagan? (Sunday April 9 2017)

It’s Huck v Breidis Tonight (Saturday April 1 2017)

Adams Set for Professional Debut (Saturday April 1 2017)

Kessler Set for Ring Return. (Saturday April 1 2017)

Saunders Gives Golovkin a Deadline (Tuesday March 28 2017)

McGoldrick Wins Professional Debut (Monday March 27 2017)

Crolla Soundly Beaten by Linares (Monday March 27 2017)

Okolie’s Super-Quick Debut KO (Monday March 27 2017)

Katie Taylor Makes It 4 out of 4 (Monday March 27 2017)

Brook v Spence Press Conference (Thursday March 23 2017)

Golovkin Wants Saunders Next (Monday March 20 2017)

Lee Wins on Ring Comeback. (Sunday March 19 2017)

Golovkin v Jacobs – Weigh-In (Saturday March 18 2017)

Conlan Wins on Professional Debut (Saturday March 18 2017)

Crolla Primed for His Big Night (Friday March 17 2017)

Bellew Requires Hand Surgery (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Burns Takes the Dangerous Option (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Barnes Wins on Points (Saturday March 11 2017)

Conlan Wins by Split Decision (Saturday March 11 2017)

Cleverly v Jack in the Pipeline? (Friday March 10 2017)

A 16 Boxer Shoot-Out (Friday March 10 2017)

Haye Willing to Pay Fine (Thursday March 9 2017)

Parker v Fury Date Confirmed (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Haye Set to Fight On (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Is Bellew Set to Call it a Day? (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Taylor Back in the Ring on March 25th (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Pacquiao v Khan ISN’T Happening (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Haye on Losing to Bellew (Sunday March 5 2017)

Bellew on Defeating Haye (Sunday March 5 2017)

Bellew Stops Haye in Round 11 (Sunday March 5 2017)

Selby Set to Become a Free Agent (Saturday March 4 2017)

Russian Heavyweight Povetkin Banned (Saturday March 4 2017)

O2 Arena, London – Line-Up (Friday March 3 2017)

Haye v Bellew – Weigh-In (Friday March 3 2017)

Messing With Our Heads (Thursday March 2 2017)

Fury Spotted (Wednesday March 1 2017)

Haye v Bellew – Referee (Wednesday March 1 2017)

BBBoC - Haye Ban Threat (Wednesday March 1 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 663
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 123
5. Fulham Badger 103
6. Kid Glove 73
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 17
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Joshua v Klitschko - Who Wins?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Joshua! 84%
Klitschko! 16%
Too Close to Call! 0%