Vital Boxing | Muhammad Ali – RIP
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Muhammad Ali – RIP

The world is a poorer place this morning!

Last night when I finally retired to bed, I did so in the knowledge that rumours were breaking stateside that Muhammad Ali’s respiratory problems were worse than first feared.

Various sources were inferring that his children had gathered at his hospital bedside to say their final farewells.

This morning, I’ve awoken to the news the Muhammad Ali has passed away and that his latest fight was a battle he couldn’t win.

Sadly I’m too young to have ever watched Muhammad Ali box live in the flesh, but I’ve pawed through numerous videos of the man in action, videos that show he was, quite probably, the greatest boxer of all time.

But Muhammad Ali was more than just a boxer, he was a public figure that millions looked up to, a public figure that wasn’t afraid to voice his opinions and somebody who stood up for what he believed in, most notably his refusal to be drafted for the ill-fated Vietnam war.

Although I never saw Muhammad Ali fight live, I was fortunate enough to see him in the flesh.

Back in the 1980’s I, like thousands of others, descended upon Wembley Stadium to see if Frank Bruno could rip the world heavyweight crown from Tim Witherspoon.

The nature of the event meant that the main bout didn’t start until very late in the evening, but I, like so many others, gathered outside Wembley Stadium in the early afternoon, soaking up the atmosphere that accompanies such an event.

Sat on one of the grassy slopes outside the famous old Wembley Stadium, beneath the twin towers, I became aware of something of a throng of people heading my way.

As if got closer I could make out the figure of Muhammad Ali, surrounded by security staff and ordinary people just trying to get a piece of the great man.

I stood up and from my slightly elevated position, I could get a clearer view of the great man, his facial features as recognisable as those thousands of pictures I’d seen of him and the miles of video tape I’d watched of him, losing it for a second I screamed one word out aloud CHAMP just as the persistent buzz around him dropped in decibels.

Now whether Muhammad Ali had heard me or not, I’m not sure, but he glanced in my direction and lifted his arm and waved, a magical moment from a person who had an aura about him that very few can replicate.

RIP – Champ!


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Saturday June 4 2016

Time: 9:35AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Klitschko Wants Joshua Re-Match (Sunday April 30 2017)

You Voted for a Joshua Win (Sunday April 30 2017)

Joshua Wants Fury Fight (Sunday April 30 2017)

Wembley Stadium – Running Order (Saturday April 29 2017)

Vitali’s Backing Wladimir (Thursday April 27 2017)

Wladimir the Memory Stick Man (Thursday April 27 2017)

Lewis Tips Joshua to Win (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Is Tyson Fury on the way back? (Tuesday April 25 2017)

Hughie Fury v Joseph Parker Off (Monday April 24 2017)

Murray v Rosado – Liverpool Tonight (Saturday April 22 2017)

Joshua Ready for All-Comers (Saturday April 22 2017)

Conlan to Fight in Chicago (Thursday April 20 2017)

Fourth Time Lucky for Saint George? (Thursday April 20 2017)

Joshua and Fury in Social Network Blast (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Fury v Parker – Set for UK Move? (Sunday April 16 2017)

Okolie Makes It 2 KO’S out of 2 (Sunday April 16 2017)

The Views of the Boxers (Sunday April 16 2017)

Indongo Confident of Beating Burns (Friday April 14 2017)

Touting Rules the Roost (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Campbell Added to Wembley Show (Monday April 10 2017)

A Bad Week for Frampton (Sunday April 9 2017)

Selby Ordered to Fight Barros (Sunday April 9 2017)

What Next for Flanagan? (Sunday April 9 2017)

It’s Huck v Breidis Tonight (Saturday April 1 2017)

Adams Set for Professional Debut (Saturday April 1 2017)

Kessler Set for Ring Return. (Saturday April 1 2017)

Saunders Gives Golovkin a Deadline (Tuesday March 28 2017)

McGoldrick Wins Professional Debut (Monday March 27 2017)

Crolla Soundly Beaten by Linares (Monday March 27 2017)

Okolie’s Super-Quick Debut KO (Monday March 27 2017)

Katie Taylor Makes It 4 out of 4 (Monday March 27 2017)

Brook v Spence Press Conference (Thursday March 23 2017)

Golovkin Wants Saunders Next (Monday March 20 2017)

Lee Wins on Ring Comeback. (Sunday March 19 2017)

Golovkin v Jacobs – Weigh-In (Saturday March 18 2017)

Conlan Wins on Professional Debut (Saturday March 18 2017)

Crolla Primed for His Big Night (Friday March 17 2017)

Bellew Requires Hand Surgery (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Burns Takes the Dangerous Option (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Barnes Wins on Points (Saturday March 11 2017)

Conlan Wins by Split Decision (Saturday March 11 2017)

Cleverly v Jack in the Pipeline? (Friday March 10 2017)

A 16 Boxer Shoot-Out (Friday March 10 2017)

Haye Willing to Pay Fine (Thursday March 9 2017)

Parker v Fury Date Confirmed (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Haye Set to Fight On (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Is Bellew Set to Call it a Day? (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Taylor Back in the Ring on March 25th (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Pacquiao v Khan ISN’T Happening (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Haye on Losing to Bellew (Sunday March 5 2017)

Bellew on Defeating Haye (Sunday March 5 2017)

Bellew Stops Haye in Round 11 (Sunday March 5 2017)

Selby Set to Become a Free Agent (Saturday March 4 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 665
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 123
5. Fulham Badger 103
6. Kid Glove 73
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 17
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

If They Were to Meet Who Would Win?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Anthony Joshua 100%
Tyson Fury 0%
Too close to call 0%