Vital Boxing | 20th July 1986 – Wembley Stadium
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

20th July 1986 – Wembley Stadium

Were you there?

On this day in 1986, I was one of many thousands who descended on Wembley Stadium.

After having travelled down to Wardour Street, several weeks before, I’d handed over £100 for two tickets to the world heavyweight title fight between the champion Tim Witherspoon and the challenger Frank Bruno.

Bruno had the whole of Britain backing him after he’d earned the opportunity to fight for one of the biggest sporting prizes on the planet.

The fight was scheduled for very late in the evening, most probably to catch the US television audience and upon taking my seat inside Wembley Stadium I was a little shocked to discover just how far away I was from the action for my £100 for two tickets outlay.

But the experience was enthralling, it was my first big outdoor fight and as the hours were whiled away watching many an entertaining bout on the undercard, the big moment arrived.

I can remember the wall of noise that greeted the challenger, thousands upon thousands of fans booming out the familiar chant of BRUNO, BRUNOas Frank made his way to the ring, well-wishers wanting to give Frank their good luck messages.

With Frank in the ring, looking the perfect physical specimen, the Witherspoon camp made their way to the ring, each of them waving mini American flags, all helping to further stoke up the atmosphere as two nations separated by the Atlantic Ocean went to sporting war.

Once the action began, every punch Bruno landed was cheered to the rafters even if we weren’t sure, from where I was sitting, whether they were scoring punches or whether Witherspoon was catching them on his arms with his familiar crossed arms defence.

But as the fight progressed, the longer it went you sensed Witherspoon was coming out on top and in the 11th round Bruno found all his energy had been sapped from his frame and a barrage of punches, from the American, saw Frank suffer a defeat.

The journey home, after finally getting out of the Wembley car park, was a solemn one, but Frank was to have his day, albeit several years later, when he beat Oliver McCall to finally get his hands on that world title belt.

The days may belong in the past but the memories will never die.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Wednesday July 20 2016

Time: 4:42PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Lewis Tips Joshua to Win (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Is Tyson Fury on the way back? (Tuesday April 25 2017)

Hughie Fury v Joseph Parker Off (Monday April 24 2017)

Murray v Rosado – Liverpool Tonight (Saturday April 22 2017)

Joshua Ready for All-Comers (Saturday April 22 2017)

Conlan to Fight in Chicago (Thursday April 20 2017)

Fourth Time Lucky for Saint George? (Thursday April 20 2017)

Joshua and Fury in Social Network Blast (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Fury v Parker – Set for UK Move? (Sunday April 16 2017)

Okolie Makes It 2 KO’S out of 2 (Sunday April 16 2017)

The Views of the Boxers (Sunday April 16 2017)

Indongo Confident of Beating Burns (Friday April 14 2017)

Touting Rules the Roost (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Campbell Added to Wembley Show (Monday April 10 2017)

A Bad Week for Frampton (Sunday April 9 2017)

Selby Ordered to Fight Barros (Sunday April 9 2017)

What Next for Flanagan? (Sunday April 9 2017)

It’s Huck v Breidis Tonight (Saturday April 1 2017)

Adams Set for Professional Debut (Saturday April 1 2017)

Kessler Set for Ring Return. (Saturday April 1 2017)

Saunders Gives Golovkin a Deadline (Tuesday March 28 2017)

McGoldrick Wins Professional Debut (Monday March 27 2017)

Crolla Soundly Beaten by Linares (Monday March 27 2017)

Okolie’s Super-Quick Debut KO (Monday March 27 2017)

Katie Taylor Makes It 4 out of 4 (Monday March 27 2017)

Brook v Spence Press Conference (Thursday March 23 2017)

Golovkin Wants Saunders Next (Monday March 20 2017)

Lee Wins on Ring Comeback. (Sunday March 19 2017)

Golovkin v Jacobs – Weigh-In (Saturday March 18 2017)

Conlan Wins on Professional Debut (Saturday March 18 2017)

Crolla Primed for His Big Night (Friday March 17 2017)

Bellew Requires Hand Surgery (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Burns Takes the Dangerous Option (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Barnes Wins on Points (Saturday March 11 2017)

Conlan Wins by Split Decision (Saturday March 11 2017)

Cleverly v Jack in the Pipeline? (Friday March 10 2017)

A 16 Boxer Shoot-Out (Friday March 10 2017)

Haye Willing to Pay Fine (Thursday March 9 2017)

Parker v Fury Date Confirmed (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Haye Set to Fight On (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Is Bellew Set to Call it a Day? (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Taylor Back in the Ring on March 25th (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Pacquiao v Khan ISN’T Happening (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Haye on Losing to Bellew (Sunday March 5 2017)

Bellew on Defeating Haye (Sunday March 5 2017)

Bellew Stops Haye in Round 11 (Sunday March 5 2017)

Selby Set to Become a Free Agent (Saturday March 4 2017)

Russian Heavyweight Povetkin Banned (Saturday March 4 2017)

O2 Arena, London – Line-Up (Friday March 3 2017)

Haye v Bellew – Weigh-In (Friday March 3 2017)

Messing With Our Heads (Thursday March 2 2017)

Fury Spotted (Wednesday March 1 2017)

Haye v Bellew – Referee (Wednesday March 1 2017)

BBBoC - Haye Ban Threat (Wednesday March 1 2017)

WBC Want Wilder v Stiverne II (Monday February 27 2017)

Bellew Lets Rip at Haye (Monday February 27 2017)

McDonnell v Vargas – What They Said (Sunday February 26 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 642
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 123
5. Fulham Badger 103
6. Kid Glove 73
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 17
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Joshua v Klitschko - Who Wins?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Joshua! 80%
Klitschko! 20%
Too Close to Call! 0%