Vital Boxing | Crolla Looking Forward to Linares Bout
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Crolla Looking Forward to Linares Bout

We’re sat in that part of the year whereby there’s a natural break in the promotions we all yearn for.

It’s the time of the year whereby we all sit licking our lips at those fights that are looming large on the horizon and are eagerly anticipated.

One such bout is the WBA lightweight title fight between the defending champion Anthony Crolla and the very dangerous Venezuelan challenger Jorge Linares.

The fight is scheduled for the Manchester Arena on 24th September and 29-year-old Crolla knows that the fight against the 31-year-old is probably the hardest of his career.

But, since coming back from what was a life-threatening experience, Crolla has defied his critics in the past and is looking forward to mixing it with the best, remarking in the build-up to the fight,

'I'm fighting a great fighter and I'm fighting for one of the greatest prizes in the sport.

'I see this as a bit of a legacy fight.

'When every young kid walks into a gym and they start boxing, they dream of becoming a world champion.

'I've done that now. I came into boxing to try and win a world title and pay my house off. That's done now, so I don't want people to think 'he's settled for that'.

'I'm honoured to be fighting for this and getting these big fights, but I'm hungrier than ever. I like it too much, I like the big Manchester nights way too much to let it go now.'


Also at stake at the Manchester Arena, on 24th September, will be the WBC Diamond belt held by Linares and the vacant Ring Magazine title.

Can Anthony Crolla produce another display that will show he is the best lightweight in the world?

I have a feeling he might just do that.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Saturday August 27 2016

Time: 11:27AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Has Whyte Got Wilder Riled? (Sunday June 25 2017)

Josh Kelly – A New Star is Born (Sunday June 25 2017)

Copper Box Arena - July 8th Update (Thursday June 22 2017)

Is This Golovkin’s Last Fight? (Thursday June 22 2017)

Tyson Fury Let’s Rip Again (Thursday June 22 2017)

Brook Wants Another Fight in 2017 (Thursday June 22 2017)

Ward Beats Kovalev in Re-Match (Sunday June 18 2017)

Smith Loses Third World Title Bid (Sunday June 18 2017)

Wilder Arrested in Alabama (Friday June 16 2017)

The Circus Will Take Place (Thursday June 15 2017)

Haye Fined (Thursday June 15 2017)

Frampton Comeback Fight Confirmed (Wednesday June 14 2017)

Burnett Verdict to be changed (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Burnett v Haskins – Quote Fest (Sunday June 11 2017)

A Truly Shocking Verdict (Sunday June 11 2017)

Make Your Mind Up Wladimir (Saturday June 10 2017)

Bellew Set for Conte Bout Next? (Saturday June 10 2017)

Whyte Headed for the US (Saturday June 10 2017)

DeGale Disrespects Groves (Thursday June 8 2017)

Good News for AJ (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Frampton Set for July Comeback (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Tyson's Views on AJ (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Buatsi Turns Professional (Monday June 5 2017)

Crolla Talks Manchester Arena (Sunday June 4 2017)

Should Haye Call It a Day? (Sunday June 4 2017)

Haye Splits from McGuigan (Saturday June 3 2017)

Conor Benn Set for Ring Return (Saturday June 3 2017)

Eubank Jnr v Abraham Draws Nearer (Saturday June 3 2017)

Words of Wisdom from Klitschko (Saturday June 3 2017)

Eubank Jnr Set for Abraham Fight (Thursday June 1 2017)

Bramall Lane Running Order Tonight (Saturday May 27 2017)

Conlan Wins by TKO (Saturday May 27 2017)

Ingle Talks Brook (Thursday May 25 2017)

Fury Left Feeling Frustrated (Thursday May 25 2017)

Porter’s Sour Grapes (Thursday May 25 2017)

Brook Not on the Slide (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Brook Fancies Spence Job (Tuesday May 23 2017)

Whyte Pulls Out of Wach Fight (Wednesday May 17 2017)

Adams Wins in Round Two (Sunday May 14 2017)

Gavin Wins on Points (Sunday May 14 2017)

Wladimir Keeping Everyone Waiting (Saturday May 13 2017)

Tyson Fury Left in Limbo (Saturday May 13 2017)

Gavin in Last Chance Saloon (Monday May 8 2017)

Has Eddie Hearn Set the Trend? (Monday May 8 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 130
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Should David Haye Call It a Day?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 45%
No! 55%
Not Sure! 0%