Vital Boxing | Barnes Turns Professional
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Barnes Turns Professional

It’s widely expected that now the Rio Olympics are over some of those that have remained loyal to the amateur sport will cross over into the professional ranks.

Today a boxer who has won Olympic medals on two occasions has announced he is doing just that.

The news has broken that the Belfast boxer Paddy Barnes has decided to switch to the professional ranks.

The 29-year-old lost his opening bout at the Rio games to Samuel Carmona after having trouble making the light-flyweight limit.

According to reports, Barnes will box at flyweight as a professional and has remarked about making the switch,

'It's time to go pro, I've been in the amateurs too long and I want a new challenge.

'My debut will possibly be before Christmas in Belfast. It's my home city so it would be great to begin there.'


Barnes, so we’re informed, will sign a professional contract at a well-known English stable, which one is currently a closely guarded secret.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Friday September 16 2016

Time: 3:52PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Burns v Crolla - October 7th (Saturday August 12 2017)

Smith v Williams Venue Announced (Sunday August 6 2017)

Joshua Being Pushed Into a Corner (Friday August 4 2017)

Klitschko’s Retirement Video (Thursday August 3 2017)

Who Will Be Next for Joshua? (Thursday August 3 2017)

Will You Go PPV for the Big-Fight (Wednesday August 2 2017)

Garcia Outclasses Broner (Sunday July 30 2017)

Taylor Makes it 6 from 6 (Sunday July 30 2017)

Joshua Talks Mike Tyson (Saturday July 29 2017)

Frampton v Gutierrez Called Off (Saturday July 29 2017)

Tyson Fury Retires? (Thursday July 27 2017)

Ricky Burns v Josh Taylor? (Tuesday July 25 2017)

Linares Ordered to Face Campbell (Sunday July 23 2017)

Smith v Williams Re-Match Announced (Saturday July 22 2017)

Will Tyson Fury Fight Again? (Friday July 21 2017)

Flanagan v Verdejo Postponed (Friday July 21 2017)

Martin J Ward Makes History (Sunday July 16 2017)

Davies Jnr Loses to Syrowtka (Sunday July 16 2017)

Selby Beats Barros on Points (Sunday July 16 2017)

Haye Back in the Ring in December (Thursday July 13 2017)

Eubank Snr Courts Controversy (Thursday July 13 2017)

Pacquiao Set to Fight On (Thursday July 13 2017)

Brit Seeds Choose their Opponents (Monday July 10 2017)

More Taylor v Burns Talk (Monday July 10 2017)

Who Is Next for Ricky Burns? (Monday July 10 2017)

Taylor Wants Burns Fight Next (Monday July 10 2017)

Dubois Marches On (Sunday July 9 2017)

Skeete Retains British Title (Sunday July 9 2017)

Taylor Stops Davies in 7 Rounds (Sunday July 9 2017)

Pacquiao Requests WBO Review Fight (Wednesday July 5 2017)

Haye Retire? How Did You Vote? (Sunday July 2 2017)

Conlan Makes it 3 out of 3 (Sunday July 2 2017)

Buglioni Retains British Title (Sunday July 2 2017)

Summertime Brawl Running Order (Saturday July 1 2017)

Iron Mike Turns 51 (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins - Reactions (Friday June 30 2017)

Benn v Collins III Is On (Thursday June 29 2017)

Ward Hints at Bellew Fight (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Has Whyte Got Wilder Riled? (Sunday June 25 2017)

Josh Kelly – A New Star is Born (Sunday June 25 2017)

Copper Box Arena - July 8th Update (Thursday June 22 2017)

Is This Golovkin’s Last Fight? (Thursday June 22 2017)

Tyson Fury Let’s Rip Again (Thursday June 22 2017)

Brook Wants Another Fight in 2017 (Thursday June 22 2017)

Ward Beats Kovalev in Re-Match (Sunday June 18 2017)

Smith Loses Third World Title Bid (Sunday June 18 2017)

Wilder Arrested in Alabama (Friday June 16 2017)

The Circus Will Take Place (Thursday June 15 2017)

Haye Fined (Thursday June 15 2017)

Frampton Comeback Fight Confirmed (Wednesday June 14 2017)

Burnett Verdict to be changed (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Is Eubank Jnr the Best Super-Middleweight Out There?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 42%
No! 47%
Undecided! 11%