Vital Boxing | Bellew v BJ Flores – Build-Up
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Bellew v BJ Flores – Build-Up

This Saturday evening Tony Bellew makes his first defence of the WBC cruiserweight crown he won back in May when he defeated Ilunga Makubu.

Bellew will be defending his title against the American challenger BJ Flores.

Ahead of the sound of the first bell, Bellew’s trainer Dave Coldwell has spoken about the defence being fraught with danger, calling it a banana skin and further adding,

'World titles don't mean anything if you lose your first defence.”

Before adding about the night Bellew clinched the title,

'He had his glory night at Goodison Park, but he has to put it behind him.

'He's got to be focused and not give Flores the opportunity to put him over or get into a scrap, because the minute an underdog believes they can win the fight, all of a sudden you're up against a much tougher fighter.'

As for 37-year-old Flores, a fighter who has won 32 of his 35 fights but who was defeated by Beibut Shumenov when he challenged for the WBA interim version of the title back in July 2015, it appears the American knows this is his best chance to become a world title and has remarked,

'My father Frank was diagnosed with prostate cancer last year and we almost lost him.

'I slept on the floor for this camp and I've fought and trained like there's no tomorrow because you don't know if there will be a tomorrow. Timing is everything.

'My father didn't know if he would get a second chance because after the surgery the doctor told me he had 12 months to live.

'You have to take every opportunity every day and be thankful for that chance.'


Can Flores upset the proverbial apple-cart?

I don’t think so, Bellew by late stoppage for me.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Friday October 14 2016

Time: 4:46PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Ward Hints at Bellew Fight (Tuesday June 27 2017)

Has Whyte Got Wilder Riled? (Sunday June 25 2017)

Josh Kelly – A New Star is Born (Sunday June 25 2017)

Copper Box Arena - July 8th Update (Thursday June 22 2017)

Is This Golovkin’s Last Fight? (Thursday June 22 2017)

Tyson Fury Let’s Rip Again (Thursday June 22 2017)

Brook Wants Another Fight in 2017 (Thursday June 22 2017)

Ward Beats Kovalev in Re-Match (Sunday June 18 2017)

Smith Loses Third World Title Bid (Sunday June 18 2017)

Wilder Arrested in Alabama (Friday June 16 2017)

The Circus Will Take Place (Thursday June 15 2017)

Haye Fined (Thursday June 15 2017)

Frampton Comeback Fight Confirmed (Wednesday June 14 2017)

Burnett Verdict to be changed (Tuesday June 13 2017)

Burnett v Haskins – Quote Fest (Sunday June 11 2017)

A Truly Shocking Verdict (Sunday June 11 2017)

Make Your Mind Up Wladimir (Saturday June 10 2017)

Bellew Set for Conte Bout Next? (Saturday June 10 2017)

Whyte Headed for the US (Saturday June 10 2017)

DeGale Disrespects Groves (Thursday June 8 2017)

Good News for AJ (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Frampton Set for July Comeback (Wednesday June 7 2017)

Tyson's Views on AJ (Tuesday June 6 2017)

Buatsi Turns Professional (Monday June 5 2017)

Crolla Talks Manchester Arena (Sunday June 4 2017)

Should Haye Call It a Day? (Sunday June 4 2017)

Haye Splits from McGuigan (Saturday June 3 2017)

Conor Benn Set for Ring Return (Saturday June 3 2017)

Eubank Jnr v Abraham Draws Nearer (Saturday June 3 2017)

Words of Wisdom from Klitschko (Saturday June 3 2017)

Eubank Jnr Set for Abraham Fight (Thursday June 1 2017)

Bramall Lane Running Order Tonight (Saturday May 27 2017)

Conlan Wins by TKO (Saturday May 27 2017)

Ingle Talks Brook (Thursday May 25 2017)

Fury Left Feeling Frustrated (Thursday May 25 2017)

Porter’s Sour Grapes (Thursday May 25 2017)

Brook Not on the Slide (Wednesday May 24 2017)

Brook Fancies Spence Job (Tuesday May 23 2017)

Whyte Pulls Out of Wach Fight (Wednesday May 17 2017)

Adams Wins in Round Two (Sunday May 14 2017)

Gavin Wins on Points (Sunday May 14 2017)

Wladimir Keeping Everyone Waiting (Saturday May 13 2017)

Tyson Fury Left in Limbo (Saturday May 13 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 130
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 19
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Should David Haye Call It a Day?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Yes! 50%
No! 50%
Not Sure! 0%