Vital Boxing | Selby Set for December Title Defence
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Selby Set for December Title Defence

Reports suggest that the Welsh fighter, Lee Selby, is set to defend his IBF featherweight title in December.

Twenty-nine-year-old Selby is set to take on the Argentine fighter Jonathan Victor Barros.

Barros has elevated himself to the mandatory challenger position after beating Satoshi Hosono of Japan, however it was by a split decision.

But if fans of Lee Selby are hoping to watch the defence in the United Kingdom they could be disappointed.

The vibes currently suggest that it will take place in the United States, something Selby has confirmed to the media when he remarked,

'Sadly I think it's going to be in America

'I'd love to fight back home in Wales in front of my home fans. Of course home advantage always helps against the mandatory challenger.'


But having signed a three-year deal to work with Al Haymon, Selby is looking to make it big in the US and raise his profile.

Selby has already fought in the US when, in the first defence of his IBF title he beat the Mexican boxer Fernando Montiel.

Talking about his US ambitions, Selby further remarked to the media,

'The British boxing fans have seen me and now I'm trying to show that worldwide.

Although Selby has acknowledged that Barros will be a tough opponent, the Welshman has his eyes on a huge fight against the Northern Irish fighter Carl Frampton, with Selby commenting,

'He's a big draw, a massive draw in the UK.

'That's the dream for all Welsh fighters - to headline a show at the Principality Stadium.'


Now that would be a showdown to look forward to.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Tuesday October 18 2016

Time: 5:24PM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Is Tyson Fury on the way back? (Tuesday April 25 2017)

Hughie Fury v Joseph Parker Off (Monday April 24 2017)

Murray v Rosado Liverpool Tonight (Saturday April 22 2017)

Joshua Ready for All-Comers (Saturday April 22 2017)

Conlan to Fight in Chicago (Thursday April 20 2017)

Fourth Time Lucky for Saint George? (Thursday April 20 2017)

Joshua and Fury in Social Network Blast (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Fury v Parker Set for UK Move? (Sunday April 16 2017)

Okolie Makes It 2 KOS out of 2 (Sunday April 16 2017)

The Views of the Boxers (Sunday April 16 2017)

Indongo Confident of Beating Burns (Friday April 14 2017)

Touting Rules the Roost (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Campbell Added to Wembley Show (Monday April 10 2017)

A Bad Week for Frampton (Sunday April 9 2017)

Selby Ordered to Fight Barros (Sunday April 9 2017)

What Next for Flanagan? (Sunday April 9 2017)

Its Huck v Breidis Tonight (Saturday April 1 2017)

Adams Set for Professional Debut (Saturday April 1 2017)

Kessler Set for Ring Return. (Saturday April 1 2017)

Saunders Gives Golovkin a Deadline (Tuesday March 28 2017)

McGoldrick Wins Professional Debut (Monday March 27 2017)

Friday Recap Taylor Stops Joubert (Monday March 27 2017)

Crolla Soundly Beaten by Linares (Monday March 27 2017)

Okolies Super-Quick Debut KO (Monday March 27 2017)

Post-Fight Views from Crollas Camp (Monday March 27 2017)

Katie Taylor Makes It 4 out of 4 (Monday March 27 2017)

Taylor v Joubert Meadowbank, Scotland (Thursday March 23 2017)

Brook v Spence Press Conference (Thursday March 23 2017)

Golovkin Wants Saunders Next (Monday March 20 2017)

Lee Wins on Ring Comeback. (Sunday March 19 2017)

Golovkin v Jacobs Weigh-In (Saturday March 18 2017)

Conlan Wins on Professional Debut (Saturday March 18 2017)

Crolla Primed for His Big Night (Friday March 17 2017)

Bellew Requires Hand Surgery (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Burns Takes the Dangerous Option (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Barnes Wins on Points (Saturday March 11 2017)

Conlan Wins by Split Decision (Saturday March 11 2017)

Cleverly v Jack in the Pipeline? (Friday March 10 2017)

A 16 Boxer Shoot-Out (Friday March 10 2017)

Haye Willing to Pay Fine (Thursday March 9 2017)

Parker v Fury Date Confirmed (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Haye Set to Fight On (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Is Bellew Set to Call it a Day? (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Taylor Back in the Ring on March 25th (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Pacquiao v Khan ISNT Happening (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Haye on Losing to Bellew (Sunday March 5 2017)

Bellew on Defeating Haye (Sunday March 5 2017)

Bellew Stops Haye in Round 11 (Sunday March 5 2017)

Selby Set to Become a Free Agent (Saturday March 4 2017)

Russian Heavyweight Povetkin Banned (Saturday March 4 2017)

O2 Arena, London Line-Up (Friday March 3 2017)

Haye v Bellew Weigh-In (Friday March 3 2017)

Messing With Our Heads (Thursday March 2 2017)

Fury Spotted (Wednesday March 1 2017)

Haye v Bellew Referee (Wednesday March 1 2017)

BBBoC - Haye Ban Threat (Wednesday March 1 2017)

Press Conference Haye Loses the Plot? (Tuesday February 28 2017)

WBC Want Wilder v Stiverne II (Monday February 27 2017)

Bellew Lets Rip at Haye (Monday February 27 2017)

McDonnell v Vargas What They Said (Sunday February 26 2017)

Pacquiao v Khan IS ON (Sunday February 26 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 642
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 123
5. Fulham Badger 103
6. Kid Glove 73
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 17
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Joshua v Klitschko - Who Wins?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Joshua! 80%
Klitschko! 20%
Too Close to Call! 0%