Vital Boxing | Haye v Bellew – First Punch Thrown
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Haye v Bellew – First Punch Thrown

Today the first of what could be many press-conferences relating to the forthcoming heavyweight non-title fight between David Haye and Tony Bellew took place.

We were expecting the verbal insults to fly but what we wasn’t expecting was for it to almost develop into a brawl.

The two fighters will never be the best of friends and David Haye probably touched a few nerve-endings when he remarked,

'I have been out of the game and these big fights.

'The last two weren't well known. This is the first big fight the fans are excited about.

'In the time I've been out I've watched social media to see what is on the scene and it all looks like the Eddie Hearn show. This is my chance to shut his big mouth.

'The only thing he put his foot down on is putting his name down first on the promotion. A promoter promotes his fighters, not himself. It is about Haye v Bellew.

'I can't wait to see the look on Eddie and all his team's face when I end Bellew. And then when I've done that I will end Anthony Joshua.

'I could go out clubbing every single night of my life and get smashed every night, I could turn up drunk out of my head and still knock him out.

'I will end the fight when I want to.'

Prompting Bellew to reply,

'While he went missing partying in clubs, I have been fighting. I stayed in the gym. I want to fight I enjoy fighting.

'He hates it, he doesn’t like it but he has to fight. He doesn’t want to be here.

'He has that many demands, rings size etc.

'The demands are unbelievable. My demand was to pick your own gloves and get in the ring.”

With the tension rising and the two boxers going eye-to-eye a shoving match broke out during which Haye appeared to throw a punch at Bellew, prompting the Everton supporting fighter to further remark,

'He can be shook and he can be hurt. He is nothing special. He got angry and shaken. I have never seen him so shaken.

'I am cool. I am from somewhere he can't imagine. I am used to drama.

'I am shocked he has thrown a punch at me. I don't want our sport to put across like this. I have pushed him to get him out of my face and he has thrown a punch.'

To which Haye responded,

'If he thinks that's a punch he has another thing coming. It is unnecessary. I never initiate things unless I feel threatened. I didn't really feel that but I was aware he might try something.

'You are on guard. Even if he had hit me with a big shot on the chin nothing would have happened. I am a superior human specimen. I was hoping for more security between us.

'He can think whatever he wants. Anyone who understands boxing knows a big man beats a little man.

'I don't know why Eddie Hearn was narrating this? Once again, he wants to make it all about Eddie.'

Things are shaping up nicely I’d suggest.

The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Wednesday November 30 2016

Time: 6:20PM


Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Flanagan Looking for New Fight Date (Tuesday March 20 2018)

Joyce KO’s Palmer in Round One (Sunday March 18 2018)

Joshua Yearns for Wilder Showdown (Wednesday March 14 2018)

Roach Tips Joshua to Beat Wilder (Tuesday March 13 2018)

Garcia Joins and Elite Group (Sunday March 11 2018)

DeGale Gets Truax Re-Match (Sunday March 11 2018)

Quigg Beaten on Points by Valdez (Sunday March 11 2018)

Tyson Fury Continues to Tease (Wednesday March 7 2018)

Brook v Khan Moves a Step Closer (Sunday March 4 2018)

Brook Stops Rabchenko in 2 Rounds (Sunday March 4 2018)

Brook v Rabchenko – Full Card (Saturday March 3 2018)

Wilder Goads Joshua and Hearn (Friday March 2 2018)

Taylor Now Faces Campos Not Soto (Friday March 2 2018)

RIP – Scott Westgarth (Monday February 26 2018)

Callum Smith Reaches WBSS Final (Monday February 26 2018)

Smith to Set Fast Pace v Braehmer (Tuesday February 20 2018)

Joshua Tells It As It Is (Monday February 19 2018)

Brook Looking Forward to Comeback Fight (Monday February 19 2018)

Groves Place in WBSS Final in Doubt (Sunday February 18 2018)

Groves On Beating Eubank Jnr (Sunday February 18 2018)

Eubank Jnr Reflects on Loss to Groves (Sunday February 18 2018)

Groves Beats Eubank Jnr On Points (Sunday February 18 2018)

Groves v Eubank Jnr – The Under-Card (Saturday February 17 2018)

Joyce Moves Closer to Chisora Fight (Saturday February 17 2018)

You Predict a Win for Eubank Jnr v Groves (Saturday February 17 2018)

Hughie Fury to Fight for British Title (Saturday February 17 2018)

An Evening with a Boxing Legend (Friday February 16 2018)

Froch Tips Eubank Jnr to Beat Groves (Wednesday February 14 2018)

Groves v Eubank Jnr Press Conference (Wednesday February 14 2018)

Burnett Added to AJ v Parker Promotion (Tuesday February 13 2018)

Does Joshua Need to Fight in the US? (Saturday February 10 2018)

Groves Responds to Eubank Snr’s Jibe (Saturday February 10 2018)

Frampton, McGuigan Split Gets Even Messier (Saturday February 10 2018)

Jones Ends Illustrious Career with a Win (Saturday February 10 2018)

Gassiev Reaches WBSS Final (Sunday February 4 2018)

Buatsi Makes it Four Wins Out of Four (Sunday February 4 2018)

Okolie Beats Chamberlain on Points (Sunday February 4 2018)

Golovkin v Alvarez Re-Match Date Set (Tuesday January 30 2018)

Usyk Beats Briedis in WBSS Semi-Final (Sunday January 28 2018)

Selby v Warrington Fight Confirmed (Wednesday January 24 2018)

Flanagan Bidding to make History (Saturday January 20 2018)

Saunders to Defend Title against Murray (Saturday January 20 2018)

Taylor Set for Soto Bout in Glasgow (Friday January 19 2018)

Price to Face Povetkin in Cardiff (Thursday January 18 2018)

Wilder v Ortiz Set for 3 March (Saturday January 13 2018)

Smith v Brahmer Set for Germany (Saturday January 13 2018)

Taylor to Defend Her Title in Dublin (Saturday January 13 2018)

Bad Boy Wilder Found Guilty (Saturday January 13 2018)

Khan Set for UK Ring Return (Saturday January 13 2018)

Quigg World Title Fight A Done Deal (Tuesday January 9 2018)

Date for Frampton v Donaire Fixed (Saturday January 6 2018)

Quigg Set for World Title Fight (Wednesday January 3 2018)

Joshua v Parker Moves a BIG Step Nearer (Friday December 29 2017)

Whyte v Browne March 24? (Friday December 22 2017)

Frampton v Donaire Confirmed (Friday December 22 2017)

Saunders Retains WBO Middleweight Title (Sunday December 17 2017)

Benn Wins on Points against Peynaud (Thursday December 14 2017)

Tyson Fury Talking about AJ Fight (Wednesday December 13 2017)

Brook Back in Action in March 2018 (Monday December 11 2017)

DeGale Loses World Title to Truax (Sunday December 10 2017)

Haye v Bellew II – 5 May 2018 Confirmed (Wednesday December 6 2017)

DeGale Tips Groves to Beat Eubank Jnr (Sunday December 3 2017)

Price Gets Back to Winning Ways (Sunday December 3 2017)

Ortiz Escapes WBC Ban (Sunday December 3 2017)

Cotto's Career End in Defeat (Sunday December 3 2017)

Hearn Rejects 65-35 Purse Split Offer (Thursday November 23 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 709
2. Al Billy 373
3. Putney 134
4. Red Boy 131
5. Fulham Badger 111
6. Kid Glove 80
7. oxfordspur 54
8. Vital Merlin 43
9. hogeyman 31
10. eliza jhon 19

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

Anthony Joshua v Joseph Parker?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Joshua to Win! 65%
Parker to Win! 28%
A Draw 7%