Vital Boxing | Ortiz Stops Allen in 7 Rounds
Vital Login
Social Login

Other Sites

Network Navigation

Vital Partners

'If It's Boxing, It's Vital'

Ortiz Stops Allen in 7 Rounds

Also featuring low down on the undercard, in Manchester, last night was the Cuban heavyweight Luis Ortiz.

Ortiz, who is rated by all the governing bodies, was having his second fight under the Matchroom banner. His first fight, in Monte Carlo, was something akin to a stinker with his opponent Malik Scott intent on nothing more than survival.

Last night Ortiz was matched against the young British heavyweight Dave Allen.

This time Ortiz was able to engage in a far more entertaining fight against an opponent who wasn’t going to be on the back-foot for the entirety of the fight.

At times Ortiz showed why so many of the leading heavyweights are intent on avoiding him. His silky skills allowed him to land several eye-catching combinations that made Allen look the inexperienced fighter he is.

But fair play to the Yorkshireman, not once did he look as if he wanted to get out of there and he continued to try and offload punches of his own.

However, as the rounds wore on Allen was tiring badly and in the seventh round Ortiz was unleashing heavy punches, almost at will. Drained of energy Allen clung to Ortiz and both fell to the canvas.

Ortiz wasn’t going to let his man off the hook though and another flurry of punishing shots saw the referee step in and stop the fight with one second of the round left.

Allen complained about the stoppage but the decision was the correct one.

After the fight Ortiz, who remains unbeaten, spoke to the media, courtesy of a translator, remarking,

'I am very grateful to be fighting in the UK.

'It's been a wonderful experience.

'Dave is a warrior, a great fighter.

'Anyone that fights him is in for a battle.'


Whilst Eddie Hearn, speaking about the game performance put up by Allen, praised the Yorkshireman, commenting,

'Massive well done to Dave.

'He always wants to fight.

'He showed a big heart tonight.'


It remains to see who Ortiz will be in the ring with next and how quickly Eddie Hearn can steer him towards a world title fight.


The Journalist

Writer: Kid Glove Mail feedback, articles or suggestions

Date:Sunday December 11 2016

Time: 9:47AM

 

Have Your Say

Log in...
with your social network     OR     with your Vital account

Recent Vital Boxing Articles

Klitschko Wants Joshua Re-Match (Sunday April 30 2017)

You Voted for a Joshua Win (Sunday April 30 2017)

Joshua Wants Fury Fight (Sunday April 30 2017)

Wembley Stadium – Running Order (Saturday April 29 2017)

Vitali’s Backing Wladimir (Thursday April 27 2017)

Wladimir the Memory Stick Man (Thursday April 27 2017)

Lewis Tips Joshua to Win (Wednesday April 26 2017)

Is Tyson Fury on the way back? (Tuesday April 25 2017)

Hughie Fury v Joseph Parker Off (Monday April 24 2017)

Murray v Rosado – Liverpool Tonight (Saturday April 22 2017)

Joshua Ready for All-Comers (Saturday April 22 2017)

Conlan to Fight in Chicago (Thursday April 20 2017)

Fourth Time Lucky for Saint George? (Thursday April 20 2017)

Joshua and Fury in Social Network Blast (Wednesday April 19 2017)

Fury v Parker – Set for UK Move? (Sunday April 16 2017)

Okolie Makes It 2 KO’S out of 2 (Sunday April 16 2017)

The Views of the Boxers (Sunday April 16 2017)

Indongo Confident of Beating Burns (Friday April 14 2017)

Touting Rules the Roost (Wednesday April 12 2017)

Campbell Added to Wembley Show (Monday April 10 2017)

A Bad Week for Frampton (Sunday April 9 2017)

Selby Ordered to Fight Barros (Sunday April 9 2017)

What Next for Flanagan? (Sunday April 9 2017)

It’s Huck v Breidis Tonight (Saturday April 1 2017)

Adams Set for Professional Debut (Saturday April 1 2017)

Kessler Set for Ring Return. (Saturday April 1 2017)

Saunders Gives Golovkin a Deadline (Tuesday March 28 2017)

McGoldrick Wins Professional Debut (Monday March 27 2017)

Crolla Soundly Beaten by Linares (Monday March 27 2017)

Okolie’s Super-Quick Debut KO (Monday March 27 2017)

Katie Taylor Makes It 4 out of 4 (Monday March 27 2017)

Brook v Spence Press Conference (Thursday March 23 2017)

Golovkin Wants Saunders Next (Monday March 20 2017)

Lee Wins on Ring Comeback. (Sunday March 19 2017)

Golovkin v Jacobs – Weigh-In (Saturday March 18 2017)

Conlan Wins on Professional Debut (Saturday March 18 2017)

Crolla Primed for His Big Night (Friday March 17 2017)

Bellew Requires Hand Surgery (Wednesday March 15 2017)

Burns Takes the Dangerous Option (Tuesday March 14 2017)

Barnes Wins on Points (Saturday March 11 2017)

Conlan Wins by Split Decision (Saturday March 11 2017)

Cleverly v Jack in the Pipeline? (Friday March 10 2017)

A 16 Boxer Shoot-Out (Friday March 10 2017)

Haye Willing to Pay Fine (Thursday March 9 2017)

Parker v Fury Date Confirmed (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Haye Set to Fight On (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Is Bellew Set to Call it a Day? (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Taylor Back in the Ring on March 25th (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Pacquiao v Khan ISN’T Happening (Wednesday March 8 2017)

Haye on Losing to Bellew (Sunday March 5 2017)

Bellew on Defeating Haye (Sunday March 5 2017)

Bellew Stops Haye in Round 11 (Sunday March 5 2017)

Selby Set to Become a Free Agent (Saturday March 4 2017)

Archived Vital Boxing Articles

List All Vital Boxing Articles
Have your say
Click here to suggest an article
Click here to suggest a poll

Vital Members League (view all)

1. merlin 664
2. Al Billy 373
3. Red Boy 131
4. Putney 123
5. Fulham Badger 103
6. Kid Glove 73
7. oxfordspur 54
8. hogeyman 31
9. eliza jhon 17
10. rorzzman 16

Current Site Poll (view all polls)

If They Were to Meet Who Would Win?
Suggested By:  Kid Glove
Anthony Joshua 100%
Tyson Fury 0%
Too close to call 0%